Acer 5715Z Laptop

Discussion in 'Computer and Gadget Help Center' started by Neoteam1, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I have this laptop with only a B/G network card. Im looking into buying a N+ card i find them but they have 3 connections to power it. This laptop only has 2 one of the cables is black and other is white. Does anyone know where i cant get a N+ with only 2 connections to it.
     
  2. Trebor

    Trebor Dolphin Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Why do you need a N+ wireless network card in the first place?
     
  3. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    For faster downloads.
     
  4. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
    With the connection speed in your sig you would be better off just connecting using a network cable. You would be extremely lucky to get anywhere near the 100mbit over Wi-Fi.
     
  5. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thats not my connection its the place i work. Iv only got 40MB where when im using a G network card its only downloading between 10-15MB
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    For the connection, are you talking about the cables that connect to the wireless card? It should work with 2 cables but the signal should be ok.
     
  7. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    So you saying i dont need all 3 connections to get it to work. Ethen tho it has 3 connectors.
     
  8. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    It should work with 2 and the signal would be slightly decreased without the 3rd connection.
    If you want another connection you can use something like this.
    Amazon.com: Tyco Wifi & Bluetooth Antenna: Everything Else
    You will probably need to dissemble the screen, and depending on how your computer is designed you may have to remove some parts.
     

Share This Page