Leaving a PC on 24/7 and power usage

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by Nimrod, Oct 21, 2009.

1. Nimrod

Nimrod Exotic Vendor

I've been doing some research recently, around the power use of computer systems. I'm very new to this, so my calculations could be totally wrong. But what I have done is looked at the watts my PC uses (using other sites with people who actually tested them, because I have no idea how) and tried to work out the rough cost of leaving it on 24/7.

My nettop (main PC) uses around 30watts idle, and around 40watts under stress, so I averaged it at 35watts. I looked up my monitor power use both idle (standby, which turns out at 0.30watts) and on with brightness at 50% (which it is). I then concluded I use it for roughly 10 hours a day on average over a week (somedays more, somedays like uni and work days less.) so I put that into calculation.

I then browsed the npower (my power provider) site and looked up the cost of electricity in my area (14p per kilowatt).

This is what I concluded would be the cost of leaving my nettop on 24/7:

[​IMG]

Now, this isnt my actual use because ive recently set up S3 sleep on my nettop, and it now sleeps after an hour of non-use or when i go to uni/work/sleep where i actually put the device to sleep. Ive worked out it uses around 2 watts on S3 sleep so I may need to calculate that in.

But it would be interesting to know what other peoples power uses is, and if they have calculated it and so fourth. Also, hopefully someone more knowledgeable in this field could say if Im doing it correctly, or if im just confused. Most computing people never really think about power usage, so its interesting to know what people think when they caculated the cost themselves.

This is the site I used for calulating my figures: Electricity Cost Calculator

So whats your power use?

2. paardje

paardje Addict

Silly question but what's a nettop?

3. InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member