New Red Alert 3 patch adds 'DRM De-Authorization'

Discussion in 'News and Article Submission' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,519
    Likes Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    [​IMG]

    I was surprised to find EA have added DRM De-authorization in the latest Red Alert 3 patch, credit where credits due this was a major concern for many gamers when deciding to buy Red Alert 3 or not. Although the game still has DRM is this now enough to make you purchase the game?​

    If you can install on play it on 5 PC’s at once without the CD or use of a crack that seems pretty nice for Lan games to me.​


    Here are the major highlights of the new patch:
    • DRM De-authorization - if you've maxed out at 5 machines, you can easily de-authorize any installation in-game with a few simple clicks
    • Balance exploit fix – Added capture delay on Engineers
    • Balancing Allies vs. Empire of the Rising Sun --- Specifically tuning Allied aircraft rush against Rising Sun
    • Added the ability to see player’s stats in the online lobby
    • Added Co-op lobbies - so you can easily find your next best-friend-co-Commander
    • Official Release of Red Alert 3 Worldbuilder - download it above!
    • A critical list of balance and technical changes - click the forum thread link to view the entire list
    Click here to download the English 1.05 Patch

    Click here to download the Worldbuilder 1.0
     
  2. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    I love the game that much that Im going to buy it today! £20 from GAME. They have it on offer untill wednesday just to let you know. One of the big reasons is for the online so I can play with some mates, not on lan. I like the new worldbuilder and Im not going to install it 5 times on the one machine I have I dont think unless I have to reformat my pc because of a virus or something 5 times.

    £20 isnt much really even if you are against DRM.

    Edit: Just had a look now and its at £15!! My mum is in town now and she whould be getting it. Hope she gets it for £15.
     
  3. Trebor

    Trebor Dolphin Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    I'll see where the game is cheap and will be buying it. Saffin if you need to reformat your PC make sure you deauthorise RA3 beforehand. That's what I'll be doing. I hope there's something that tells you how many more times you can install the game as it'd be annoying to forget to deauthorise it and find you can't reinstall the game as you've used up all of your installations (and have to give EA a call).
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,519
    Likes Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It says “de-authorize any installation in-game with a few simple clicks” so i presume it will tell you where you have it installed :)
     
  5. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    With this I don't see the point in them having it in the first place... My copy should be here tomorrow.

    It was £15 for only one day which was on moday (Saved £5 :) ) but is £20 until this wednesday.

    I can't wait to try out the worldbuilder.
     

Share This Page