Transfer Operating System to New SSD

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by Safinn, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    I have a 1TB Hard Drive installed in my computer but I am looking to buy an SSD. The one I am looking at is 64GB but I only want to use it for my operating system and installed programs. My hard drive at this moment has around 250GB on it.

    How would I go about transferring the operating system and installed programs onto the SSD without having to start over again. This would mean I would keep all my Data on the hard drive like my music, videos and other files.
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you have Windows 7 or Vista go to Control Panel\System and Security\Backup and Restore.

    Click on "Create a system image" and follow the on screen instructions.

    (Saving the image to a USB hard drive will be a lot quicker / easier than splitting it over many DVD's as you probably guessed)

    [​IMG]

    You can then connect the SSD and restore the image using a Windows 7 DVD or the system repair disc you can create.

    (Bear in mind the current contents of your hard drive must be less than 64gb to restore it to the SSD you plan to buy)
     
    Safinn likes this.
  3. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    ahh thankyou. Is it possible to only put the operating system on the backup image and the installed programs?
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Nope i don't believe so, if you use Windows to image your drive your going to have to move stuff you don't want to image else where or delete it.

    You might be able to do that with Acronis True Image however its been a long time since i used that.
     
  5. Titcher

    Titcher Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    34
    I normally do this stuff manually using DD, but you might want to try Clonezilla. Clonezilla
     

Share This Page