COD:WAW crashes

Discussion in 'Gaming Hangout' started by rambo3852, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got COD:WAW installed it fine and when i tried to play it, it takes ages to load up(from what i have read read it does for everyone), but when i go to start playing the game the screen goes blank for a few minutes and then returns me to my desktop..any ideas how to solve this??
     
  2. Nimrod

    Nimrod Exotic Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    530
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Update your graphic card drivers, check if its either ATi or Nvidia and then go to the respect sites and update, then report back:)
     
  3. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    didn't work :( stupid fecking game, WHY WONT U WORK!!!!!
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,008
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  5. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have XP, tried to get the patch from the activison website but to do that u have to register the game, which i tried and keeps coming up as invalid, can't find anywhere else to get the proper patch from
     
  6. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'd already installed the updated directX just incase but that didn't help either
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,008
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  8. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers mate i will give it a go later
     
  9. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    The Internet
    Run the game with admin rights, sometimes that can help with some games.
     
  10. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    right i installed the patches (all 6 of them) and it still doesn't work grrr, i knew a time when all u needed to do was put a game in, install and walla it worked!
     
  11. Haloman

    Haloman Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Huddersfield, UK
    wouldn't need to go through this if you played it on a console lol (runs out of the room as all the pc gamers throw thier keyboards at him)
     
  12. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    that was completely...unhelpful lol
     
  13. Nimrod

    Nimrod Exotic Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    530
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Indeed it was, more likely an attempt to start a flame war. Come on Haloman, Rambo is asking for help, not for a smart arsed comment on consoles.


    Anyways back to topic:

    Rambo, Is this still with your slightly aged Windows XP PC or have you updated it since?
     
  14. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    same one lol, i have all the specs needed to play it, made sure of that b4 i bought the sodding game
     
  15. Haloman

    Haloman Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Huddersfield, UK
    It wasn't an attempt to start a flame war, it was an attempt to lighten what is probably annoying situation with a little humor.

    I apologize for any offense. i am also sorry i cant help more as PC Gamming is not my speciality
     
  16. Nimrod

    Nimrod Exotic Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    530
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Doing further research it would appear a common problem:

    Do you have a Creative Audigy / Soundblaster sound card?

    or

    Also do you have a "dial up modem" connected, apprantly for some bizazee reason I read on the call of duty help forums that the game gets confused and tried to use that for sound, making the game crash unexpected? If thats the case, you need to disable it in Devices List within Windows.


    ~Might be useful to:
    http://www.gamingnewslink.com/2008/...rrors-crashes-freezes-and-intallation-errors/
     
  17. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    i don't have a dial up modem, just a wireless router, it wouldn't supirse me if its to do with the sound becasue when the screen goes blank u hear a few random noises and thats when it crashes...and how do u find the devices list?
     
  18. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,008
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    In Vista / Windows 7 right click the Computer link in the start menu, select properties. device manager is the first link on the left.

    XP - right click My Computer in the start menu, select properties now look for the hardware tab, select that and then select device manager.
     
  19. rambo3852

    rambo3852 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    right i disabled the system speaker and unistalled a random router i had , and still doesn't work , its weird becasue the music starts to play but gets stuck in a short loop then the game crashes, i had this problem when i installed Empire: Total War, the game itself ran fine so didthe videos just not the sound a few seconds would play then the sound would just be jarring and cut out...coincidence?
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,008
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    any idea what your system specs are? graphics card and so on?
     

Share This Page