Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Is the drive fully connected to the sata & power ports inside the xbox 360?
    What does the drive show up as in the bios?
     
    icelliotto likes this.
  2. denx

    denx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes its snapped in xbox correctly with case and also without case..

    here is the hdd info from bios

    hddss.bin.png
     
    icelliotto likes this.
  3. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    icelliotto likes this.
  4. denx

    denx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried it no errors... till not detecting on xbox .. Iam using asus x53u amd to flashing using hddhackr ... does this support or Iam doing something wrong?
     
  5. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Try using hddhackr 1.3
     
  6. denx

    denx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Rick,

    Tried hddhackr 1.3 gave me a warning regarding LBA size. and it flash successfully but the xbox is not able to detect the HDD. FYI: iam using Western digital LPVT series - 500GB to flash 320HDDSS.bin on it. is this where iam doing somthing wrong?

     
  7. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Undo the drive then look in the bios for ahci, sata options.
     
  8. denx

    denx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    hacking WD 500 GB scorpion blue LPVT series with hddss 320 gb

    Thanks Rick for the response .. as you advised i have undoed drive and changed the sata setting ... but it still not recognising in my xbox slim ... then after digging i found out the hddhackr was not able to change the serial no even though i used two different hddss.bin files in different occassion
    ... pic for reference

    comparison2.png
     
  9. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Undo the drive again so it is reverted back to a western digital.
    Then try this.
    You can have a look at Harcrofts tutorial on How to Flash Your HDDSS.bin in Windows. Read the tutorial very carefully and do so at your own risk.
     
  10. AxelTheSlayer

    AxelTheSlayer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I followed your tutorial and get to "Sectors 16-222 Rewritten successfully!" Then i get, in red, "Can't save drive firmware for later restore! DRQ Error: 0x0815"
    I have tried using hddhackr from multiple drives, none of which were write-locked
    I have used multiple versions of hddhackr (1.4 and 1.3), same issue
    i used a hex editor to make sure partitions 16-22 had wahat they needed (that other tut)
    no one ever answers when this code come up in the forum, I'd really like to know what to do
     
  11. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    What does the drive come up as in the bios?
     
  12. TalonII

    TalonII New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I hate to be 'that guy', but I am on a mission. People are selling 500gb Xbox 360 drives that work on stock Xbox 360 systems. They're all over ebay and amazon. I know, I know, HDDHackr can only use legit HDDSS.BIN files, etc...

    I've been doing research for a few days, and been trying nearly everything I could think of to somehow get this to work. The bottom line seems to be that once you flash the 320gb security sector binary file to the drive, the firmware is rewriten, and the LBA is convinced that the drive ends shorter than it does. LBA size on the 500gb drive is 976,773,168, and on the 320gb one, it is 625,142,448. I looked at the 320gb HDDSS.BIN file with a hex editor, and quickly realized that since the file is signed by Microsoft, we'll never crack the code and just manually change the code.

    So I went on to try every possible HDD manipulating tool I could find. No matter what tools I try to use, the firmware insists that the LBA is only 625,142,448, so it will refuse to see anything beyond this. HDAT2, or MHHD or anything on Hirens Boot CD runs into this limitation.

    I spoke to someone who knows how to create 500gb drives out of new WD drives, earlier today, and he explained that he felt they were perfectly safe, due to there being an allowance in the Xbox Kernel NAND for 500gb drives... (maybe Microsoft was planning them, but never got around to putting them out?) I tend to believe him, because it would really turn people away from the Xbox brand, if they bought a 500gb drive off of ebay or amazon, threw it in their system, and then it banned them. He pointed out that the only way Microsoft could really stop it, is to block it in a future system update by modifying that part of the NAND that contains code to allow it.

    I might just give in and buy a drive (these fabled 500gb drives that work on LIVE enabled systems, for less than half of the current 320gb Microsoft versions), but I just purchased a groovy 500gb WD Scorpio Black (the 16meg cash and the rpms do make a difference on a 360, although it is slight...), and I refuse to give up on this. He won't tell me how to do the hack myself, because he wants to keep selling them...

    But the secret will get out sooner or later. Does anyone have any clue how to pull this off? Do any programs out there exist that let you manually edit the LBA of a drive on the fly? I'm a certified tech, and I'm willing to professionally try it on mine, just to get a valid tutorial out there to keep those ebayers from making money off of a hack that has to be possible for us to pull off too.

    Either way, I'll keep trying everything, and post back if I pull it off. I really think we don't need that 500gb HDDSS.BIN file... we can probably just use the 320gb one, and then bump up that LBA. If I could just find a way to rewrite or overwrite the disk geography without letting the program first read what the bios states the drive has...
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  13. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I have heard of people using 500gb hdd on rgh and jtag consoles but not stock consoles.
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,312
    Likes Received:
    3,737
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You are right, that's really interesting. I can see 500gb drives for non modded consoles on sale on Amazon / Ebay, and videos of them in stock Xbox 360's connected to Xbox Live.

    Hddhackr supports 500gb drives, however we have never had the security sector to flash on to a 500gb drive, so only 320gb has ever been usable. As to how people have got a 500gb security sector i dont know.

    However in theory if you were to buy one of these drives, you can dump the security sector from it, then it can be used with hddhackr for everyone to produce 500gb hard drives, just as is possible now for 20gb, 60gb, 120gb, 250gb, and 320gb drives.
     
  15. TalonII

    TalonII New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah InsaneNutter, it's really messing with my mind that they're out there.

    Tell ya what, I'll order one, grab the HDDSS.BIN, and see if it has the higher LBA in that file. If it's in that file, I'll immediately share it. If not, I'll try to run some other tests to figure it out. =0D
     
  16. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,312
    Likes Received:
    3,737
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Do keep me posted with how you get on with that. I was tempted to order one myself as 500gb would be a nice upgrade to my full 250gb drive. However the shipping to the UK is a bit much to make it a good deal.

    The 500gb drives look to have around 460gb of usable space on the 360 when formatted.
     
  17. Skull_crusher

    Skull_crusher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, I need help ASAP.
    I have a WD3200LPVx and am using hddhackr v1.40
    My SATA mode is set to ATA and am doing all the steps to create the hdd workable.
    When in MS-DOS I execute hddhackr, it saya no ATA DRIVE PRESENT.
    I am using my dell inspiron 15 and have the hdd connected to it
    ALL HELP APPRECIATED.

    Also what would happen if i insert the drive directly into the 360 and format it.
    PLEASE HELP
     
  18. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Is it connected via sata?
    Is there any sata settings in the bios that you can change?
     
  19. Skull_crusher

    Skull_crusher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    It is connected to my laptop's only internal hard drive bay.
    I have options for ATA and AHCI
     
  20. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    The Matrix
    See if you can disable ahci then try hddhackr again. If it works then you will have to revert the setting afterwards so you can boot into windows again.
     

Share This Page