Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
  2. portiere21

    portiere21 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    now. i know why i can't format my hdd..

    there are bad sectors in it..i knew it when i check using hddtune last night..

    d0 those flashing proces can result to bad sectors?
    i have a plan to rma this, will they know that i ever flash the firmware?

    actually i never had electricity problem when i flashing it...so i still wonder why my new hdd have bad sectors.
     
  3. Matthew Zarate

    Matthew Zarate Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you think maybe it's because the hard drive was manufactured in 2011? I used a different computer today and I got farther than I did yesterday but when I get to the part to make the HD compatible with xbox360 and I type Y to create partitions....I get an error saying that it doesn't indicate the drive anymore.....any thoughts.
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    undo the drive first then send it out,it shouldnt
     
  5. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    do these steps

    1.undo the drive
    2.rename undo.bin to undo.old.bin
    3.reflash the drive,create partitions
    4.format in xbox 360
    5.run xplorer360 as admin then choose restore partition 2

    use the hddhackr v 1.25
     
  6. Matthew Zarate

    Matthew Zarate Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no UNDO.BIN file yet.....I haven't been able to flash the drive....I keep getting [check DRQ - Error]
    [Reading HDD sector 16 Failed]
     
  7. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hddhacker gives the Reading HDD sector 16 Failed error when sector 16 is blank. The hdd is fine, it just so happens that the sector is blank. If hddhacker refuses to write to or read from those sectors, you can use winhex, or hex workshop to open your drive and directly write your hddss.bin to sector 16 to 22. If you guys still need help with this method, I might be able to find some time today to take some screenshots.
     
  8. Matthew Zarate

    Matthew Zarate Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome......hopefully you have time to to put up those tutorial pics......thnks again forum :]
     
  9. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  10. kripapa

    kripapa New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  11. kripapa

    kripapa New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    kripapa that's a very small amount of information (in fact none) you gave us to help you out with. If you followed all the steps I outlined, and still don't have new data on sectors 16-22. Your hard drive is magically write protected. The more likely scenarios are; you did something wrong, or your sata chipset is incompatible. Try using a usb transfer cable.

    Tell us what sata chipset, hdd, OS, exact hdd model, whether you used everything with admin privileges, and any other possibly pertinent data you could possibly think of. Try switching to another PC, try swapping sata cables, try via USB. If all else fails and you aren't able to do it. Send it to a modder to do it for you.
     
  13. DEKUM510

    DEKUM510 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    For some odd reason when I run hddhackr at the prompt my laptop will not recognize the drive. My Bios are very limited with option selections with my laptop also. I have a desktop computer also but it doesn't have an option to boot from the USB drive. My question is can I put the files onto a bootable CD rather than a USB drive? Will that work the same way as the USB method?
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,324
    Likes Received:
    3,745
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It should work off a CD yes, however you will not be able to save your undo.bin

    That means if you ever want to return the drive to normal and use it in a PC / Laptop you will not be able to.
     
  15. portiere21

    portiere21 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    at last...i have succed to hack my 160GB...but when i try to restore partition 2 (download from hoffman's link) it's unable to complete..the progress bar always restart from the begining when it's almost complete...do restore the partition 2 take a long time?

    i wait the restore process by watch movie.but until the movie end..it was not restore.
     
  16. funkdocrockdaspot

    funkdocrockdaspot New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    first of all: thank you for the nice tutorial, it made my day :]

    second one: I followed your tutorial and after some trouble with my desktop computer I finally hacked the WD2500BEKT on my notebook.

    My issue is the following. My xbox detects the hard disk, but instead of 250GB, I only got about 103GB working. My device summary says the following:

    Whats the deal with that? I've just got about 3,5GB installed for Forza... What about the remaining space? I flashed the 250GB.BIN....

    Please help me :)
     
  17. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    funkdocrockdaspot it looks like you installed a 120gb hddss,bin as that's about the right amount of space you would get from a 120gb drive. Try redownloading a 250gb hddss.bin, reflashing it, then recreating the partitions.
     
  18. funkdocrockdaspot

    funkdocrockdaspot New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah that's exactly what I thought... Maybe I've made a mistake by downloading the wrong .bin at the first post...
    But I see now, that I got the "HDDSS_250GB.zip" from InsaneNutter's first post... So it should be the right .bin? Do somebody have another 250GB.BIN?

    Should I format the hard drive, reflash it and then copy the backup-partitions from my old 20GB harddrive? Or should I first use the UNDO.BIN?
     
  19. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you make an image of partition 3 from a smaller hdd, then re-load the image back onto the 250gb? That could be causing your issues too.

    I would recommend just grabbing the 250gb hddss.bin again and using hddhacker to install it again. No need to use your undo.bin. Make sure you create the partitions again too.
     
  20. funkdocrockdaspot

    funkdocrockdaspot New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've downloaded the 250GB.BIN again and flashed it....

    After that I created the partitions 0/2/3 with hddhackr again.... But same old shit again ;)

    At the first Hack, I used an partition 2 image from a 20GB drive, to backup the partition 3 I've drag'n'dropped some folders and "re-drag'n'dropped" it to the new 250GB...

    What to do now? Try to UNDO.BIN the drive and start over again from the beginning? ;)
    BTW: Do someone have an UNDO.BIN from a 250GB WD2500BEKT hard drive?
     

Share This Page