Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. aivars1985

    aivars1985 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lv
    undo.bin please


    Or you is undo.bin WD5000BEVT-22ZAT0 please please.....:'( skype:compysnake85
     
  2. berkert

    berkert New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ı need help
    can someone send me wd3200bjkt undo.bin
     
  3. Ha Chung

    Ha Chung New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    500 GB Western Digital Scorpio. Western Digital XL50. Would this work? I just had this lying around at work. Don't wanna dish out money :P
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    It will probably work.
     
  5. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    Would do this cause MS to ban you from XBL??

    Also would getting a 2TB drive and make say 6 partitions show up as 6 320GB harddrives on the storage tab in NXE??
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Nope.
    I think the second question is around jtags, it would work with jtag only and not a non hacked xbox 360.
     
  7. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    In keeping with a 2TB hard drive, could you partition 320GB of the 2TB for normal xbox use (LIVE) and then the rest as normal drive for tjag/RGH use for Dual NAND consoles?

    Is there any harm in using the the internal HD for jtag/RGH stuff, can MS detect anything on the internal drive that should'nt be there like you'd get with using a jtag/RGH console?

    Is it best to always use an external drive for a jtag/RGH console?
     
  8. LeeClynch3

    LeeClynch3 Resident

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    You dont have to use an external hard drive for a jtag/RGH xbox, but its recommended, ms cant detect anything on the internal hard drive just the homebrew that'd be on your profile lol
     
  9. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    Well ill be using my LIVE profile for my RGH games so i can added to my achievement score, i know about not login in with your online profile until a game has been loaded so no homebrew crap gets written to your profile.

    I guess if MS cant detect any of the homebrew programs id have on the internal HD, im might aswell get a 2TB 2.5" drive and partition 320GB for normal Xbox use and then use the rest for jtag/RGH use, will work out cheaper than getting a 2TB external drive
     
  10. LeeClynch3

    LeeClynch3 Resident

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    just dont load any homebrew crap onto your profile mate haha
     
  11. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You can't do that with a hard drive, The hdd security sector lets you use up to 320gb only for xbox 360 non hacked.Any messing around after that point won't work because the drive will show up as a 320gb and not a 2tb
    I don't think there is a 2tb 2.5 drive available, i have seen 1tb 2.5 drives.
     
  12. Aaron Brown

    Aaron Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    do I have to reformat with the 360 again if HDDhacker prepeares the partitions?

    If I get the western digtal 250 or 320GB and use HDDhackr to format and prepare the paritions, do I need to format with the 360 again? Or is it ready to go with no reformat needed on the 360 since HDDhackr took care of it? I read somewhere else that the console would requre the console serial # but I'm not sure if it ties it to the console or not. If I don't need to format with the 360 then I can move my files to my 16GB flash drive a little at a time. I can re-install games if I need to that isn't a big deal.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I like formatting on the xbox 360 after flashing the drive. Then reconnect to computer for transfer partition 2 & gamesaves or using a usb works better though.
    The serial number entry is for extra security so you don't accidentally format the drive.
     
  14. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    Is this a limitation of HDDhackr or the 360 itself? As i was under the impression when in RGH mode the xbox sees all type of 'normal' hard drives and doesnt need to be in 360 speical format, as when you plug in a USB stick the 360 asks how much of the capacity you want to use for xbox storage! So could you have a 1TB drive run HDDhackr on it for the full 1TB and tell the 360 only to use 320GB for xbox, and then format the rest to FAT32 so it can be used in RGH mode??
     
  15. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,854
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You can hack a 320gb drive that will work in both a normal 360 and a jtag / rgh hacked 360. Hddhackr can only flash security sectors of official drives that actually exist, so your limited to 320gb for use in a non hacked 360.

    If you use a larger had drive that will only work on a hacked Xbox 360, it will never work on a non hacked Xbox 360.

    I think when you actually hack a drive it thinks its only a 320gb drive (presuming you used say a 500gb drive), so you would not be able to format the remaining space to FAT32. You would need to try that and see what happens, i dont know of anyone who has done that personally.
     
  16. Hamajangs

    Hamajangs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, new here. I know this is old, but it's very informative and I didn't want to create a new thread. I have an Xbox 360 Slim 4gb model which was purchased just recently. Hardly used at all actually since I'm just getting started. Anyway, I've tried to sift through all of the posts over the last 45 pages and I'm not sure I've found the answer to my question yet. I purchased a WD Scorpio Black WD3200BEKT (the blue WD3200BEVT is rather hard to come by at a decent price) today and I'm waiting for it to arrive. In the meantime, I was curious about the steps after the drive is flashed. I want to install the Xbox 1 emulator, but I don't have a hard drive with saved data or anything like that. I downloaded Hoffman's partition 2 in preparation for this though. However, my question is when the time comes do I only restore partition 2 with Xplorer 360 Extreme, or do I also need to restore partition 3 with Xplorer 360 320gb? I'm just uncertain if the restoration of partition 3 is needed in my case or not. Thanks in advance for any advice :)
     
  17. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Just restore partition 2 and that's it. Partition 3 is only if you had a previous drive and you wanted to restore the saves/profiles/dlc.
     
  18. Hamajangs

    Hamajangs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, thanks for the quick reply!!
     
  19. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    First I'd like to thank insanenutter and all who have made this great post.

    I am a little unsure of my success. I got an error:

    Warning: LBA size seems to be an unsupported XBOX360 value.
    Please contact authors!

    My LBA size is 625442448

    I continued on and it reported success, but I can't test it until tomorrow or Sunday when I get to my nephew's.

    I have a WD Scorpio Blue 320GB WD3200BPVT dated March 18, 2012.

    Is this error going to give me trouble? or is this common for this drive?

    also, I could run hddhackr on my A75 Llano motherboard or my Z68 motherboard. Seems like it doesn't like the newer chipsets. Luckily I still have an old Dell P4 lying around and it worked from there. This board found the drive, the other two didn't find anything plugged into the sata ports. IDE was enabled on all machines.

    My nephew has an old XBOX so will I need to do anything to make this drive work with his old games. the new XBOX360 Live Kinnect I got him for Christmas says it needs a hard drive upgrade to play old games on the new machine. I was going to test on my identical Kinnect system, but I was afraid it may lock itself to my machine.

    -=Mark=-
     
  20. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Hard drives work on any console they don't lock, the hard drive should work fine. Feel free to try it on your console.
     

Share This Page