Any good 1-3 TB hard drives?

Discussion in 'Computer and Gadget Help Center' started by Rick, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I own this external hard drive, maxtor 500gb.I have been looking through reviews and people seem to have trouble with most hard drives.
    Does anyone own any external or internal 1-3 TB drives that work good?
    How many months or years has it lasted?
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,776
    Likes Received:
    3,556
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    In my home server I have 4x Seagate Barracuda Green 3.5-inch 2TB SATA 6 Gb/s Drive (64MB Buffer,5900RPM)

    I've had them since August last year and found them to be great drives, there extremely fast. I can transfer files at almost 1gbps speeds from my main PC to the home server with no problems.

    Before i built my home server i had 4x Seagate Expansions 1TB External Desktop USB 2.0 Hard Drive's, I found these to be good drives, however one of them has however started clicking when used so i expect it to fail soon. The other 3x drives have worked without any problems for years though, the oldest will be almost 3 years old now.
     
  3. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I bought this drive, wd20ears and removed the drive in my old external case.I'm using the 500gb drive in a desktop pc.
    I used the wdidle3 program on the wd drive before using it in the external enclosure, the drive also works with the maxtor backup program.
    [​IMG]
    What the wdidle3 does. It can disable the drive heads parking every 8 seconds feature.

    Using the wdidle3 application to set the idle timeout to DISABLED helps prevent the heads from parking excessively on WD drives.

    With my laptop drive its around 53,000 load cycle count.I used wdidle3 on that drive also.
    [​IMG]
     
    InsaneNutter likes this.
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Seems like putting the 2 tb drive in the maxtor enclosure is bad, it copied the files but corrupted them as well. I still have my files on the laptop. TeraCopy reported failed crc checks.
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,776
    Likes Received:
    3,556
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Try a different enclosure, it shouldn't make a difference.

    The drive could be bad too, could try it in your PC and see if the same still happens.
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I used my sata to usb cable & power adapter and it's copying fine. Just need to get a enclosure now :D
     

Share This Page