Couple gaming issues.

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by Dark Scyth, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    Problem 1

    I can't use my 360's hard drive as everytime I put it into the 360 I get an E68 error. I can still use the 360 with the 8GB flashdrive that I have so I can sign in and do everything i'd need to, I would just rather use my hard drive. I tried using it with my Xsata and it says no FATX drive found, so i'm just guessing that its the hard drive itself and not the actual 360, anyone know of a way I could fix my drive or at least retrieve my game saves.

    Problem 2

    Just recently went to put Linux on my Wii. It wouldn't log me in when I tried so I said screw it as its a horrible copy of Linux anyways. Though now my SD card say it only has 511MB of memory instead of 1.86GB (somewhere around there). Does anyone know of any ways I can format the WHOLE card instead of just this partition?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Scarface0415

    Scarface0415 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WT,NY soon to be GA
    Red=
    Put your sd card in your computer right click it and press format
    Blue=
    Connect your hdd to your pc with a transfer cable open up xport/xplorer/modio (which one u use)
    and transfer your stuff to your desktop
     
  3. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    As I've said, I already tried using Xsata to explore my hard drive using Xplorer 360 and nothing. What I meant by retrieving data, I meant is there a way to retrieve data from using my Sata port or can you only format with that, instead of exploring inside the drive.

    As for the SD card I've already said I tried to format it and it will only format the partition instead of the whole SD card.
     
  4. Scarface0415

    Scarface0415 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WT,NY soon to be GA
    well idk then
     
  5. Wandsbek

    Wandsbek Resident

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Well E68 is a HDD error, i think there something wrong with the interface.
    Clean your HDD interface and try it again !

    -Edit- Clean the interface with alcohol.

    And the SD problem, I don't know but can your Wii format SD's ? I would try it!
    Put the SD in a Cam and format it!
    Or
    Try the SD Formatter 2.0
    http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html
     
  6. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I don't think thats the problem because if that were the problem I should still be able to use Xsata to connect the drive to the PC but I guess I could give it a shot.
     
  7. Wandsbek

    Wandsbek Resident

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    The error is not new :)

     
  8. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I know exactly what the error is, I know all about it. I've had several E68 errors though they were only temporary and if I left the hard drive in about 45 seconds before turning it on then the problem would disappear. Though now it just won't quit with the error. I first got the error from making TF2 crash by spawning WAY too many NPC characters, after I turned it on again (because it froze) is when I got the first E68. TF2 has been patch for many months so you can't mod so its probably been over a year this problem has persisted. (though no where near as bad as it is now)
     
  9. Wandsbek

    Wandsbek Resident

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hmm next time when your HDD works fine copy your save game files to your USB and format your HDD after copyng your files.
     
  10. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    Honestly I don't think its going to work again, its never been this bad, not even close, every time the hard drive is in its E68 no matter what now.
    Though if for some reason it started to work again thats what I was going to do.
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    For your 360 hard drive error quite a few website recommend this:

    Switch the 360 off and remove the AV cable
    Power the 360 on, it should flash with 4 red rings.
    Leave it like that for 10-15 seconds and push the AV cable back in.
    Apparently the 360 should then boot up without the E68 so you can copy your save games to a USB drive.

    Although as you say "I left the hard drive in about 45 seconds before turning it on" I guess you have done that?

    Will it allow you to right click on the Wii partition and select extend volume?
    If so you can just assign all the Unallocated space back to the Wii partition.
     
  12. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    It won't let me at all. I can format it though I can only format the 511MB of it not the whole thing. I have nothing better to do at the moment so i'll try the AV cable.

    EDIT: I assume when you say turn it on without the AV cable plugged in you mean from the 360 itself, tried it and no red lights will pop up, it just does nothing, the console is on but no red lights appear at all, this is after about a minute, then when I plug in the AV cable the one red light shows up but nothing shows up on screen.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    My 360 refuses to have 4 red lights. I unplug it and it runs no green (the normal green lights spin when it boots up) and no red lights, it just remains with the middle light lit for about 2 minutes and then it boots itself off.
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Your right, I have just partitioned my USB memory stick and Windows will not let me resize the partition or delete it.
    Have a look at Easeus Partition Master Home Edition, its free and should let you partition a USB drive from in Windows 7 without any problems.

    As for the AV cable yup i did mean disconnect it from the 360, The only other thing I can think of is take the drive out the enclosure, connect it directly to a Sata port on a computer and see if Xplorer 360 will pick it up, then you can copy your saves off it.

    It could just be a bad connection which has gradually got worse Wandsbek suggested, if that was the problem the drive should work when connected directly to a Sata port on a pc.

    In theory you can just mess about with the enclosure or buy a cheap new one and the drive should work in the 360 again. Ofcourse the drive its self could be failing, if you do have access to a PC connecting the drive directly to the Sata port would be the most easy way to find out if the drive is dead or not.
     
  15. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I only have access to laptops and the last tiime I opened my laptop I couldn't use the touch mouse, so can't really do that one. At the moment I don't have the tools to open the drive from its enclosure so screwed there too. I'll try that program for the SD card now.
     
  16. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    SD card doesn't even show up, so I guess that won't work either. That program doesn't support external devices such as Flash Drives and SD cards, so i'll look for a similar program.

    EDIT: Finally fixed my problem using SD Formatter v2.0
     
  17. Wandsbek

    Wandsbek Resident

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Good the SD Formatter v2.0 worked :D

    and for the HDD problem try this here.:[video=youtube;h71WWNzjpmY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h71WWNzjpmY&feature=related[/video]
     
  18. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I've already tried it, didn't work.
     

Share This Page