Legal statement about sharing playable demos on the internet?

Discussion in 'Computer and Gadget Help Center' started by Rockman, Jun 27, 2012.

1. Rockman

Rockman Godlike

Can someone who knows more about legal statements tell me if there is such a thing?

It's because my MediaFire account was blocked and so I can't access anything it's in there, and yeah, I know what you guys said, it's my damn fault for trusting MediaFire but I've been with MF since 2008 so I didn't thought this would ever happen.

Thanks.

2. InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

I'm no lawyer but i cant honestly see you did anything wrong unless you had warez / cracked software / mp3's or movies else where on your account. Demos are supposed to be distributed for free, any sane developer would be happy for people to share them. Demos get the word of the game out there and allows people to experience it, then hopefully buy it which is the whole idea of a demo.

The problem you have is your using a service that must get 10,000's of copyright takedown requests a day, and you dont actually own the content so you cant contest the take down request. Your paying MediaFire nothing at the end of the day (or very little if you are) so its not worth there time to contest a takedown request say from Microsoft.

Its the same with YouTube, i had a video of how to update your Xbox 360 with a USB stick. This was filmed with my own camera, on my own TV / Xbox 360 using a system update publicly available on xbox.com. However as it contained video footage of the Xbox 360 dashboard, which Microsoft own the copyright for, that allowed them to make YouTube remove the video with no questions asked.

3. Rick

Rick Moderator

Check your email for anything regarding your mediafire account. They usually say why its been closed.

4. Nimrod

Nimrod Exotic Vendor