Maybe another way to run unsigned code on an xbox?

Discussion in 'Gaming Hangout' started by no1dead, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. no1dead

    no1dead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking the way that manufacturing mode is started up on an Xbox 360. You might be able to use that to run unsigned code.

    Cause from what it seems that it boots right before everything else, so I was thinking that we could be able to exploit it?

    I'm pretty sure what I'm thinking is probably not gonna work but, I'm thinking of something.
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,871
    Likes Received:
    3,595
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If its possible now one has discovered how / exploited it yet.

    Your best bet is the RGH hack now, it should work on the majority of consoles out at the moment.
     
  3. no1dead

    no1dead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also I was looking at a few questions that were answered by one of the Fez developers and someone replied saying that the game would sometimes crash and reboot into a dos prompt?

    Could we possibly exploit this?
     
  4. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    I know the old Peter Jacksons King Kong could be exploited from the shaders in a really old dashboard but that has since been fix. I believe the newest hack is RJtag, which I guess is a mixture of RGH and Jtag. Chances are if a method hasn't been found to run unsigned code without hardware, one won't be found.
     
  5. no1dead

    no1dead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also heard that the game Fez will sometimes reboot into a DOS command prompt and stay there, maybe if this happens someone could use there keyboard or something and see if they could exploit it. (Can't have any patches on it or updates.)
     

Share This Page