Minecraft Version Tool [Windows, Linux, Mac]

Discussion in 'Digiex Minecraft Server' started by xzKinGzxBuRnzx, Dec 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    Want to switch between multiple versions of Minecraft, such as 1.3_01 and 1.2_02? Then download the Minecraft Version Switcher. It works for Windows, Linux, and Mac! All three have a GUI as well.

    Want to try it? Download below...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Trebor and InsaneNutter like this.
  2. jessenic

    jessenic Minecraft Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    And the installer creates a desktop shortcut for future playing ;)

    If you have vista or 7 remember to run installer AND the minecraft launcher as administrator (It may or may not work without administrator privileges)
    Right click the shortcut and select Run as administrator.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
    warbot1000 and xzKinGzxBuRnzx like this.
  3. tipo114

    tipo114 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England (:
    Jesse your lenden..... WAIT FOR IT..... DERY!!!!!!
     
  4. molemole

    molemole New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant use it... i have windows 7 tell snook and if longer thn 2 weeks tell him not to ban me frum server plz
     
  5. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    Theres a Windows 7 version. If its not working try turning off UAC. (Start / Picture,Icon at top right / Change User Account Control Settings / Drag to bottom / Save / Restart

    Then re-enable later if you like UAC like commander snook does. ;)
     
  6. gtwy

    gtwy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work

    I am on a Windows 7 machine with UAC disabled. I right clicked and ran as administrator for the installation and for the switcher.

    The program launches and asks me "What do you want to do?"

    I pick option #2 (for the downgrade version of Minecraft Beta). Press OK.

    The window vanishes and then reappears. It continues to ask me which option I want every time I press OK.

    After a few tries, I decided to select option #4 (exit), but when I launched the game manually, it still says Minecraft Beta 1.2 in the top left.

    Attached: screen shots.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jessenic

    jessenic Minecraft Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Your problem is that your java is not installed correctly and doesn't show up on PATH environment variable. You need to add it manually.
    To fix that problem, follow these steps:
    Go to my computer and open C:\Program Files\
    Find the java installation, as example my java is installed in C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin
    Then you need to modify environment variables:

    For Windows XP:
    Start -> Control Panel -> System -> Advanced
    Click on Environment Variables, under System Variables, find PATH, and click on it.
    In the Edit windows, modify PATH by adding the location of the java to the value for PATH. Like "something;more;andmore;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin". If you do not have the item PATH, you may select to add a new variable and add PATH as the name and the location of the java as the value.
    Close the window.

    For Windows Vista:
    Right click “My Computer” icon
    Choose “Properties” from context menu
    Click “Advanced” tab (“Advanced system settings” link in Vista)
    In the Edit windows, modify PATH by adding the location of the java to the value for PATH. Like "something;more;andmore;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin" If you do not have the item PATH, you may select to add a new variable and add PATH as the name and the location of the java as the value.
     
  8. Agakonna

    Agakonna New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mukavaa, kun laitoit sen suomeksi! :) T:Suomalainen
     
  9. Liam Hagenson

    Liam Hagenson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, whenever i try and run it i come up with this message in Terminal
    "Last login: Sat Jan 15 10:36:54 on ttys000
    S8-LiamHargenson:~ 814liamh$ /Users/814liamh/Desktop/Launch\ Minecraft ; exit;
    Starting up
    /Users/814liamh/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/Minecraft: line 2: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
    /Users/814liamh/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/Minecraft: line 2: `<html>'
    logout

    [Process completed]"

    i am using a mac osx v 10.5.8 so, i REALLY want some help.
     
  10. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    Delete it and download again, sorry i was in the process of updating it. Therefore broke a few things. Also delete patch_install folder in you're minecraft folder

    /Library/Application Support/minecraft/

    Now has encrpytion, stats, checks that minecraft is installed.
     
  11. gtwy

    gtwy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    This fixed my problem, however, my Java is installed to C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin

    This is because I am using a 64-bit version of Java.


    EDIT - While this DID fix the problem of it not launching Minecraft, there is a new issue. Once Minecraft opens, it shows the login screen. When I attempt to click on anything, it freezes and crashes.
     
  12. jessenic

    jessenic Minecraft Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Finland
    Could you go to %appdata%\.minecraft and delete the bin-folder. Then run Minecraft once without the patch, it should update itself. Try the patch after that.


    Hyvä :) T: toinen suomalainen :P
     
  13. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    Freezing and crashing is also common on my vmware. It could be a gpu driver issue. Read the error to us please. if it says something like unable to create pixel format. Then it must be a gpu issue.
     
  14. Slam Duncan Pierce

    Slam Duncan Pierce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think i glitched it, How do i fix or am i screwed, i use Mac os X 10.5.8

    Last login: Sun Dec 31 19:00:55 on console
    You have new mail.
    /Users/duncan/Downloads/Launch\ Minecraft ; exit;
    DuncBook:~ duncan$ /Users/duncan/Downloads/Launch\ Minecraft ; exit;
    Starting up
    /Users/duncan/Downloads/Launch Minecraft: line 40: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
    /Users/duncan/Downloads/Launch Minecraft: line 42: syntax error: unexpected end of file
    logout

    [Process completed]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  15. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    Nope! I was probably in the process of updating it. Glad to see you're using it though!!!! :D Retry now, if you've got the old launcher it will throw an error and then auto download you a the new one. Run that one and it will work!

    Any time you see that I'm most likely doing something to it and when that happens you may get errors like that. If however it doesn't work, which I'm almost certain it will. Just delete the files it installed from "/Library/Application Support/minecraft/" in folder "patch_install" Then download the new launcher however like I said, it should auto do this for you. As I've tested as well as a friend. So you shouldn't have anymore problems.
     
  16. Maximum12

    Maximum12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Em,i downloded this yesterday and when i came on it today it said minecrat is not instelled when it is.it also say write a path to the minecraft.bin folder and i dont know what to do please help.Now my minecraft does not work.=[
     
  17. molemole

    molemole New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ti no workinz... what u guys been upto on snooks server? anything interesting?
     
  18. Harrison

    Harrison New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    adding mods to the game....

    hey is there a way to add mods to the game from this application, that would be really great. Otherwise great application

    thanks,
    Harrison
     
  19. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space
    If you're talking about the Mac patch, then it already has mods support.
     
  20. Harrison

    Harrison New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i have a windows machine, so i guess no, it would be great if you could add a part for modding, but no worries.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page