Pandora's Box Installation Help

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by Fennyariel, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've downloaded and burnt to disc a copy of Pandora's Box. I keep running into 14 brickwalls trying to get it to run. I've tried doing as I'v found on several websites including the so called patch but all that did was give me an error message saying it counldn't find what it needed in the kernal32.dll. Could somebody please help me get it to run right? :'(
     
  2. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess maybe I posted in the wrong place. I thought this was the place where we were supposed to help each other. Am I wrong?
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    What is Pandora’s box? App/game/something else? I remember it been some greek myth or something like that but I know you’re on about something to do with computers.

    Could you provide some more information like what it is, maybe message me a link to download it and the patch and I’ll try and have a look.

    You posted in the right place, I have the feeling no one else knows what pandora’s box is either.
     
  4. CurlySteve

    CurlySteve Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Birmingham, England, UK
    i believe Pandora's box is a splinter cell game form what i remember its fairly old now. the game would only cost about 50p nowerdays anyway so it probably would be cheaper to buy the game rather than wasting discs on trying to burn the thing.
     
  5. Trebor

    Trebor Dolphin Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    You're thinking of Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow CurlySteve.
     
  6. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm wanting to run this.
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Ok what os are you using? If you on XP apparently installing the game then the patch off the Microsoft website will fix any compatibility problems – patch - Pandora's Box | by the creator of Tetris

    I’m guessing that’s what you did? Have you tried right clicking on the games .exe file and setting the compatibility mode to Windows 98?
     
  8. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that and tried several so-called help sites that had supposedly detailed step by step directions too. I still crapped out!
     
  9. Trisha Takanawa

    Trisha Takanawa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    31
    People would be more willing to help if you actually bothered doing some of your own research and share. No one had a clue what your talking about and your "technical" bit was so blank no one had a clue where to start. If you want help, be polite and be more detailed.
     
  10. Icharus_Falling

    Icharus_Falling Resident

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tennessee (OMFG its horrible)
    need more details

    like InsaneNutter asked: What operating system are you using?

    can you describe the specific error, maybe take a screen shot of it (hit the print screen button [possibly abreviated PrTScn] then go to Paint and right click and select paste)?

    if we cant get more details, i'll have to derail the subject with rants about Prometheus and Pandora!
     
  11. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I'm running XP home and Insanenutter said he'd go get it and try installing it to help me out. He's such a sweet booby! ;)

    Now as far as screenshots go I've tried putting up pictures here before and all I got was that little bitty box with the red X in it where the picture should've been. Am I doing something wrong with that maybe? I'm sure I clicked the right button. Maybe if I mad an attachment out of it?
     
  12. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you save the screenshot as a jpeg image you can attach it to a post here.

    Use the reply button and not quick reply, scroll down and find the manage attachments button, then browse and find the files to upload on your computer. Finally press the upload button.
     
  13. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, here's the screenshot of why it won't run.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You need a crack because you don’t have an original copy of the game. The game you downloaded most likely was cracked however when you applied the patch this added the copy protection again. You can either buy the game or download a no cd crack for it, either of them should fix your problem.
     
  15. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a screenshot after I tried PANDORA1. I had already found the one just called PANDORA from another site. And it didn't work either. *sighs
     

    Attached Files:

  16. MikkelPixel

    MikkelPixel Resident

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUckland
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  18. Fennyariel

    Fennyariel Resident

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Insanenutter I've already got the latest DirectX and mikhail_tisoy, it usually helps better if you put up links that actually work. I clicked it and Google told me it's busted.


    Admin Note: User warned for this post.
     
  19. Nimrod

    Nimrod Exotic Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Couldnt you spend 2 seconds removing the additional http:// from his link? It was an honest mistake and he was trying to help you! If you keep having a go at people no ones going to bother helping you.
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    After been sent this game by Fennyariel I’ve managed to get it working.

    Install the game, now look in the folder with the install files, here there is another folder called crack.

    Inside the crack folder copy the pandora.exe to where you installed the game, overwrite the existing file when asked.

    [​IMG]

    After this install the patch from the pandora website to fix the compatibility issues with Windows XP (I have attached the patch to this post for you.)

    The game will now work fine, If it works on Vista 64bit it should work more than fine on Windows XP by doing the same, the patch is designed for XP.

    [​IMG]

    Have fun.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page