Post your Windows 8 Start Screens

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by InsaneNutter, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,854
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    As Windows 8 has officially been released, lets see what you are all doing with your start screens.

    I don't really use any metro apps to be honest, so have just pinned my most used apps, Adobe Creative Suite and Microsoft Office to it, along with a couple of games.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I have this so far, it's not permanent though.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,854
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I sort of do like the live tiles on the Metro apps, however the mash of colours together looks horrible to me. I think it would be great if you could have the freedom to change the colour of the tiles, so they all have the same background colour. Or you could change the colour by groups, e.g. grey for social, maybe a dark blue for news / media.

    As it stands a pink messaging tile, orange people tile, green stocks tile, and so on is just a mess to me. I dont know why it annoys me so much, others don't appear to mind the mash of colours!
     
  4. GILLY

    GILLY Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    US
    Only really use the Netflix app on the Modern UI at the minute, everything else is by Desktop.

    Gotten very used to having no traditional Start Menu though.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Slaz

    Slaz Roast as you make toast!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Just upgraded, so there's not a lot I did with the start screen yet. At least I can still type paths and app names which is most important to me.

    And damn you 'Persons' app, your live tile is showing the Fuhrer!! :-$
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Slaz

    Slaz Roast as you make toast!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sorry for double posting, but here's my more filled start screen. Metro isn't too bad, as I can still use Windows Key + program/path to start everything, so I don't have to clog up the start screen with desktop app shortcuts. :P

    Desktop.png
     

Share This Page