Virgin Media Increasing Broadband Speed?

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,871
    Likes Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I noticed when I was downloading today I was getting speeds around 25mbit, so I did a few speed tests, all of them reported speeds of 30mbit+

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Could they possibly be testing for a future upgrade? Anyone else on Virgin noticed a speed increase? (I’m supposed to be on 20mbit so that’s quite an increase)
     
  2. MikkelPixel

    MikkelPixel Resident

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUckland
    man i would kill to get that download speed
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,871
    Likes Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Its back to normal now, they might be planning to upgrade users in the future who knows! I remember them saying we would have 50mbit by the end of this year but all traces of that look to have vanished.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Trebor

    Trebor Dolphin Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Great to hear you're back on your proper interweb speeds InsaneNutter. I wouldn't mind a speed increase but so far 20mbit has satisfied most of my needs. If they increase the speed at no extra cost and increase the download limit (they might!) then I'm all for it.
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,871
    Likes Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I got no problems with the speed, it’s the traffic shaping and shockingly poor upload speed that annoys me.

    When traffic shaped you can upload at around 13kb, when you’re not its only 90kb.
     
  6. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Wow, I think im on 2mb. Im om skys free one. Im trying to get my mum to pay the 5ver for 8mb.

    How much do you pay for that one Insane?

    [​IMG]

    God mine is shocking. I cannot belive sometimes I am host on Xbox live matchs.
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,871
    Likes Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    We currently pay £29 a month for 20mbit.

    £5 for 8mbit is not bad if you will actually get 8mbit (Y) If we got ADSL because of the distance we live from the exchange we would never get more than 2-3mbit.
     
  8. Trebor

    Trebor Dolphin Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    If Sky didn't use ADSL I'd be all over it seeing as they specifically stated (on the Gadget Show) that they don't have any traffic shaping what so ever. If I ever moved to an area that's close to a BT exchange and Sky have similair services to what they have now I'd sign up. I think a 2mbit connection should be good for hosting matches Saffin so unless you're downloading at the same time then anyone who plays a game whilst you're host should be fine.
     
  9. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    I ust wondered Im sure most people have a batter connection than me so why do I get picked as host sometimes...

    Hopefully my mum caves..
     
  10. mattyd38

    mattyd38 Console Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Huddersfield, UK.
    im only on 2mb, the always upgade the two higher subscription levels and leave the 2mb customers alone... come on ntl give us a boost!
     
  11. mattyd38

    mattyd38 Console Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Huddersfield, UK.
    also i have o2 broadband, the router is rubbish but the service is great...

    there really cheap if your a customer already, its about £7 extra on your contract and its up to 8mb
     

Share This Page