What Does Your Home Network Look Like.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Corona, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    167
    I have a web server and a data server, 2 Dlink DES-1228p Switches, 1 Xtreme N Wireless Router (Dlink DIR-655), 1 Rangebooster N Dual Band Router (Dlink DIR-628), 1 Rangebooster G Wireless Router in Access Point Mode With a high gain 20+dbi Antenna, 1 POE Kit, 5 port Ethernet Switch, 8 Port Gigabit Switch, Linksys Gaming Bridge, 10MBPS DOWN 1MBPS Up Internet connection. Post you setup of you network here. Ill try to get pics soon;)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,309
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    We had a topic like this before, I have updated the network diagram I posted last time.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Flamzorz

    Flamzorz Addict

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Darlington,England
    Why would you need an xbox in your kitchen?
     
  4. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    459
    Because its running XBMC ;).
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,309
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Its used for streaming media to the TV in the kitchen, its never been used for games.
     
  6. Flamzorz

    Flamzorz Addict

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Darlington,England
    Oh ok.
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,309
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Were a very networked house here, it all started with a 300mhz PC and a cable modem many years ago ;)
     
  8. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    167
    Ok I just my pics in so here they are
     

    Attached Files:

  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,309
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I love how your networking equipment and Xbox 360's are all on stuff made out of Knex (Y)

    How come you have all your wireless routers / access points on top of each other? and a huge switch with nothing but the other connected to it?
     
  10. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    167
    idk just stuff i aqquired. when friends come over we play xbox and we plug them into the gigabit switches. all the routers except the white one is programed as a access point the white and tall one on top of it give wifi n 2.4 and 5ghz. i have the on top of each other cause it looks cool. ill make a video of it soon and upload it
     
  11. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    167
    i just uploaded a new one. i have a printer upstairs on a wifi bridge and one downstairs for the printers. the computer in my hfs webserver and host all the files on my data server upstairs. PS it is https and protected ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. tipo114

    tipo114 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England (:
    heres my network of switches


    {a}---{B} {c}

    A = phone wires that goes to b (wirelessrouter and sky box) which goes to c (my xbox my laptop and my ipod) IM WIRELESS, sortof :D
     
  13. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've got a nice small assortment of hardware on my Lan. First my DSL modem runs to a Linksys WRT54GS V2 (32m ram, 8mb flash) that has these devices connected to it:
    My first Xbox (crystal) running an Ndure softmod with XBMC for media streaming.
    My very customized xenon jtag 360 with 120gb hdd, no dvd drive and a giant heatsink on the GPU with a fan.
    My home server (an old P4 with a small boot drive and big storage drive) which runs my torrents, newsgroups, ftp server, webserver, smb shares for all my media and a few other things.
    and another 360, a banned xenon one I only hook up for gaming nights with friends.

    On the other side of the house I have a WRT54GS v4 (16mb ram, 4mb flash) connected to the main router via WDS for clean routing. On that router:
    An xbox with an ndure softmod I could to turn off for xbl access, this is used mostly for DLC work and collecting DLC when Xbox1 live was still up.
    A tsop flashed 360 switched for PAL xbe regions also for DLC testing.
    My main PC which is sadly just an athalon XP 2800+ with a gig of ram...it's a sad computer.
    My main jtag 360, which is a Halo 3 edition Falcon which has a 250gb hdd in the halo 3 hdd case, and some custom cooling work done.
    the PC and consoles both run on a 24" dell LCD monitor and a secondary monitor for the PC.
    Finally I have a P3 1ghz with a few hdd's, old burners, and a sata card I use for diagnosing parts, doing repairs, modding, and to display video and images for when I need to do soldering and repairs.

    My wireless devices are:
    An old Sony Clie TH55 I use mostly for an Mp3 player, camera, address book, and notepad.
    An original blue Nintendo DS with an NDSTT
    My Hp Mini 311 netbook which is a little tricked out with custom webcam, tv tuner, extra ram and some other custom tweaks.
    My wifes old Athalon XP laptop
    My wifes newer Acer Turion laptop
    Nintendo wii in the living room with a 160gb hdd connected via USB for games.

    Yeah theres enough radio waves in my apartment outside the microwave to cook a turkey:) I'm amazed InsaneNutter can even get on his wireless network with all those devices though.
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,309
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You have the same number of wireless devices as me.

    Wireless is not even enabled on my router 99% of the time, the two laptops listed as wireless just connect to the switch in what ever room there been used in.

    Both phones connect to the internet using 3g, the HTC Desire can then connect to the home network via VPN.

    Wifi is only enabled if someone wants to take the DS or PSP online, which is almost never these days.
     
  15. Ryan Stampton

    Ryan Stampton Resident

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Australia
    Mine Changes Every Week LOL Its Not Good But Im Upgrading Soon + Im Building A PC (Ill TEll ya later)

    Acer Aspire 1 Netbook
    Optus Wireless Broadband
    Vodafone Mobile Broadband
    Nokia Connected Via USB
    1TB WD HDD
    LAN (Trying To Get A Wieless Router)
     

Share This Page