Windows 8 Screenshots and Discussion

Discussion in 'Computer and Technology Discussion' started by Dark Scyth, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    Some Screenshots i've taken, i'll post more later.

    t9tqcxkbygy9tctmnbop.jpg

    15yapwjjw0lgpui19yct.jpg

    gieks674dcgqlkzcgo46.jpg

    oxp6kmfn7sxtnr9n86mf.jpg

    74la3auhtt18lwoflifa.jpg

    vfxkouhd39v1fxf1qj5f.jpg

    wq9qbfg5ubhyozrng2x8.jpg

    0ebgvw3sl085x51ka96o.jpg

    isg7f2rmybooip6g48fa.jpg

    Xbox Companion. With Xbox Companion, it's possible to boot 360 games from your PC. Not sure what else is possible as I haven't messed with it that much.

    p00uihlzpc37bndt6ihv.jpg

    hul5q1zrv27s3gumxmgf.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012
    Specter, InsaneNutter and Rick like this.
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I've been messing around with xbox companion, if you right click near the bottom there is a xbox controls option and you can control everything on the dashboard.
     
    Dark Scyth likes this.
  3. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    So that's what that's for. I seen it but the option only came up when I was starting a game with it, so I thought it might be possible ingame. I'm turning Xbox Companion off though, it's too buggy, my console has frozen 3 times because of it.
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I'm not having any problems yet. Did you install the updates from windows update?
    Edit: im having trouble launching mw3 in the disc tray using the play on xbox option.
    More images http://imgur.com/a/QMMT7#4
     
  5. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    I figured out the problem. It was being on MSN on the 360 while using Trillian (multi IM program) on the PC. Whenever the PC would turn the screen off the 360 was supposed to say "Signed into multiple locations" (it did this on Windows 7, with no problems) but now on Windows 8 whenever the PC screen shuts off from inactivity the 360 would freeze. So I just turned off messenger on the 360 and no more freezing.
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,894
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Before i say anything else i feel i should say i have liked every other version of Windows to date, even Windows ME and Vista.

    I used Windows ME for over two years, I never had anything against Vista, apart from some initial drive issues it was a solid OS and massive upgrade to XP. Windows 7 improved again massively on Vista and has been my main OS since the release candidate in early 2009.

    Now we come to the Windows 8 consumer preview. Honestly, just wow.... how badly can you take something great and ruin it? I honestly can not think of anything positive to say about it from my use of it so far. Yes it has a few nice improvements like the boot up times, ISO mounting and the ability to "reset" your pc to its factory settings. Some good stuff i admit, however not really an improvement for every day use. Windows 8 is really not an OS for desktop PC's, tablets i guess it might be ok on however Android 4 does everything a lot better on a tablet if you ask me.

    I dont see why a desktop PC's needs to use this inconvenient tablet interface as a start menu replacement? it just not piratical and doesn't work on a desktop PC. I feel like i'm been encourage not to multi task on a PC, To me anyway everything appears dumbed down so its actually made Windows more complex and impractical to use.

    I would explain myself better however its 11:30 and my alarm's set for 6:15am, so its time for some sleep.

    I would be interested to know what other people think of it so far. I do plan to give it a fair chance so who knows. As a user of Windows on a desktop PC and not a tablet i feel I get a much better user experience with Windows 7.

    Edit - Just went to put my PC to sleep and realised even that's many more mouse clicks to do.. Press the Windows key, click on my user name, get back to the welcome screen, click another menu, then click sleep. (also seen you can hover over the right of the screen and go through a few menus to make it sleep too)

    In Windows 7 i could click the start orb and click sleep... click, click done.. simple, effective, happy user.

    Few random screenies by me too.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    The Matrix
    It is somewhat confusing, windows 8 feels like it should be on a tablet and was probably built around one. I'm always using alt + f4 to exit out of apps.

    The xbox companion is an ok program,they should port it to windows 7 and vista.
     
  8. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    This really does seem like it should be more for handhelds or people who mainly use touchscreens on their PC. It's quite annoying to navigate compared to Windows 7. They need to quit being so obsessed with everything Metro, it's not nearly as great as they think it is.
     
  9. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    What country does xbox live work in? I changed my ip to an American one and I still have no luck in signing in.
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,894
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You probably need to sign in to Windows with an American Microsoft Account (Hotmail)

    If it doesn't work then it means its doing it based on your IP address so you would need a VPN to get around that.
     
  11. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ok im going to try my American account with a American ip
     
  12. Neoteam1

    Neoteam1 Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    No luck think it aint to nobody yet.
     

Share This Page