[Xbox 360] How to extract 360 demo's from an .ISO

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by xzKinGzxBuRnzx, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    Space
    So, as you may have noticed we've began using the .ISO format for all newly created Xbox 360 Demo's. This is to help those who sometimes messes up, either by placing the file itself on the root of the disc or by messing up the folder structure.

    Either way, we will be using .ISO from now on. If you don't know what .ISO is, it basically means its a image file of the original disc. However, these demo's was never on a disc, they where generated to . ISO format using the files. Mostly likely by a program called MagicISO.

    Though, I'm now going to tell you how to extract the contents of the .ISO file so it may be combined with another. This will allow you to burn more than one file at once, saving you space on those expensive disc's.

    Step 1:
    It order to extract the contents of a .ISO file, your going to need a program which can do such a thing. I suggest you use 7-zip, its free! (Download and Install Required to follow tutorial)

    Step 2:
    Your going to also need to find some demos you want first. Digiex - Feed Your Mind

    Step 3:
    Now that you've got 7-zip installed, your gonna need to open it up, do that now.
    [​IMG]

    Step 4:
    Now begins the hard part for some, your gonna need to extract the contents of the . ISO to the desktop. (This is a simple Drag and Drop process)
    [​IMG]

    Step 5:
    Repeat Step 4 for how ever many demo's you wish to place on this disc. With one exception, with each new extraction your Drag and Dropping the contents of another demo to the desktop, Windows will alert you saying this folder already exists and will ask you do you wish to merge. Hit Yes!
    [​IMG]

    Step 6:
    Almost done, If your final result looks like this...
    [​IMG]

    Step 7:
    Now that it looks similar to that except for the folder names. The only two folder names that matter are Content and 0000000000000000. Your folders must follow this rule to work, Content>0000000000000000>There should be a bunch of folders listed here for each demo you've extracted.

    Example: (Please do not use these numbers) Content>0000000000000000>5841083A>000D0000>A069D30D469FC6E8B988E44B4463EBDE083952D758

    This file, A069D30D469FC6E8B988E44B4463EBDE083952D758 inside of folder 5841083A is the demo itself!​

    Step 8:
    Great, if you've got it all exactly, your ready to proceed with burning. That will follow in this guide.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
    mahdi22, Michael_T, cnc and 5 others like this.
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Nice work King, I can confirm this works perfectly as I’ve done it in the past.
     
    cnc and Senacasagrande like this.
  3. iwellkillu

    iwellkillu Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    I tested it on a dvd And i was surprised that it worked.
    It took Me and King like 1 - 2 Hours to test
     
  4. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Very useful. I can now stop wasting DVD's and now use all the memory on them. Thanks again!
     
  5. King

    King Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should the folder (before burning) look like this?
    [​IMG]
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes, I presume there is another folder inside each of the folders listed in your screenshot.

    Example: \Content\0000000000000000\545187E3\00080000\

    Looks ok to me (Y)
     
  7. eklipse519

    eklipse519 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this work for dual layer DVDs too? I know it seems like a waste but I have alot of them and have no blank DVD's:(
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes it will work the same, you will just be able to fit more demos on a DVD DL.
     
  9. clupen

    clupen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh thanks i will try it when i find some more demos i want :P
     
  10. z3ddrocksz

    z3ddrocksz Resident

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    26
    can i burn it with windows and make it multi session
     
  11. avtcw79

    avtcw79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice post boss its ok
     
  12. paardje

    paardje Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    34
    Well, whaddaya know: IT WORKED! Thanks a million!!!!!!
     
  13. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    Space
    Of course it did! ;) What else would you expect from your favorite mexican! :D
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Ah so you finally admit your one of the mexicans that gets used as a chair on Bruno, i knew it! ;)
     
  15. maciulla1

    maciulla1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have recorded on the DVD-RW, 5 demos and it's work.
    and can I add there next without formatting my dvd ?

    sorry for my mistakes in English it is not my language :)
     
  16. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I'm not totally sure but I think you have to format it before others can be put onto the DVD-RW.
     
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you didnt finalize the cd it might work, im not sure if the 360 will read more than the first track burned to a disc. Why not try it and let us know? :)
     
  18. tbit

    tbit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    it doesnt work i did everthing right
     
  19. lk555

    lk555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    forget about making an iso.just drag the contents folder to ur blank dvd and let it copy away.i even used a dvd-rw worked perfectly.
     
  20. KillerWhiteMan

    KillerWhiteMan Burnout Racer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Salinas, California, United States
    Good thing he admitted it. We wouldn't want to have a closet mexican in our staff now would we?
     

Share This Page