[Xbox 360] How to Flash Your HDDSS.bin in Windows

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by Harcroft, May 20, 2011.

  1. Ruhswzx

    Ruhswzx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Need Help

    Hello Harcroft ,

    I got a toshiba disk (profit from a damage laptop) that is 120GB and I want to replace that disk with the one that my xbox 360 FAT got from factory a 20GB Samsung. I try hddhackr method firts and did not work and now i gonna try yours. The question is should I use the sectors 16 - 22 from my original xbox disk or should I use the Hoffman files for 120GB disk

    .

    Please help me with this.

    P.S.: I got the both disk connected to my pc by SATA cable direct to the motherboard.
     
  2. IMCcomrad

    IMCcomrad New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    you said you have done this witha segate model
    my question is do you coknow what seagate model's are mpatble with this method or where i could find find out & what .bin file should i use or will the wd bin file work
     
  3. dante96

    dante96 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, i've bought an xbox360 hard drive (not original)... this hd is a seagate ST96812AS fully working on my 360...
    now i've another ST96812AS not configured for xbox... i've tryied hex editor method + created partition, but my xbox doesn't recognise it... how can i solve it?
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    The Matrix
    This guide will work for some hard drives, but not all.
     
  5. dante96

    dante96 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes, but how is possible that the same drive won't work?
     
  6. Mark Wosten

    Mark Wosten New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    may you make video tutorial ??? please
     
  7. kalirob2k6

    kalirob2k6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hi I'm a newb at this and I hate having to ask this but I followed all the steps twice after the first didn't make the drive viewable and I still can't seem to get the Hex Workshop entry to save on my WDC WD50 00BPVX-00JC3TO. Instead, all it lists is "Invalid Partition Table.Error loading operating system.Missing operating system." where I think it's supposed to list the drive model in Hex Workshop.

    I only have 2 laptops to try this on and the first was too old and didn't seem to see the drive when hooked up to the official Microsoft HDD transfer kit in HDDHackr so I'm trying this. But it shows on my newer Asus g75vw but I can't diable the ACHI to IDE without it causing blue screens when it finally gets to Windows. But it looks like the Hackhackr USB drive works and can see the HDD. I'm guessing that the blue screen issue is normal and just ignore it till I get the drive flashed like the DOS instructions?

    I just figure I might have to go this route since the Hex Workshop trick is giving me the error. Is it safe? I'm only being paranoid because blue screens kinda freak me out lol.
     
  8. jaltamos

    jaltamos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 250gb hdd hitachi does not support hddss.bin 250gb does not work with no hddhackr another method thank you
     
  9. ac3

    ac3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone gotten this to work? I've tried a couple of different computers with different versions of windows and the data that shows up in hex workshop always looks the same as in the image below. This isn't the same as the undo file and doesn't contain any of the serial / model numbers etc. Surely opening the drive in a hex editor is only going to show the data area and not the data on the chip containing the firmware? unless I am missing something.

    Forgot to mention I am using a WD 80GB WD800BEVS-22RST0

    hex.jpg
     
  10. xtrong

    xtrong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works with hd seagate 120gb?
     
  11. Blake Zachary Tait

    Blake Zachary Tait New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    this actually took me quite a few minutes. i am flashing a 4TB hard drive over to my computer. these steps actually worked the same exact way. and yashas, to restore these actions, you might be able to just plug your HDD into your pc and format it to FAT, FAT32 OR NTFS.
     
  12. Juan Carlos Dvorak

    Juan Carlos Dvorak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI, I have a 120gb Fujitsu originally from an xbox that a friend use it on a pc an d now i cant get it to work, I follow your tutorial nicely but i dont know how to make the partitions since its not a wd
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Likes Received:
    2,842
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If the drive is actually going to work in an Xbox the console will create them when it formats the drive, however i dont think you will have any luck doing this. Generally once an original Xbox hard drive has been formatted on a PC no one has been able to get it working on the Xbox again.
     
  14. kris_hm

    kris_hm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this thread is old but it is by far the longest with most success it seems. If anyone responds to assist me id really appreciate it.
    I have a WD 500GB BEVT drive ive been working on all day to try and make it work with my xbox 360. But i cant get HDDHackr to load at all. Ive used 4 different laptops and 2 desktops and it just hangs when i press enter at the dos command line with a blinking cursor like its doing something but it never goes past that screen.
    Now one i stumbled upon this thread ive since completed the replacement of the 16-22 sectors on the drive via hex workshop but it appears i still need HDDHackr inorder to create the partitions. Is this correct?
    For some reason I cannot get it to load at all. All my computers are AMD though, this may be the reason.
    The only intel chipset i have is a macbook which obviously wont run DOS, right?
    But i did have an idea, can i use VMware workstation as a substitute on either my AMD laptop or my macbook and run DOS that way? I know if my chipset is the issue on my AMD computers then WMware will not make a difference, as i am about to find out. But will VMware allow me to run DOS on my macbook?
    As im typing this i am preparing to test this but im sure i wont get everything done tonight.And if i do im sure it wont end the way i want it to. Ive hit roadblock after roadblock with this all day trying different versions of HDDHackr and ms-DOS and freeDOS but im not making the slightest amount of progress as far as getting this executable to run. So as of now i have the security sector set up properly or atleast i think i do. I read through this thread over and over but i am still stuck with HDDHackr. I did read something though that makes me feel that since i have the security sector in place my xbox may create the partitions for me. I will find out shortly whether this works for me or not.
    Any assistance with this would be greatly appreciated though. Its not so much as i really need a bigger hard drive, but it would be nice to and i would like to know how to do this.
     
  15. Lucas Dantas

    Lucas Dantas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. guilubra

    guilubra New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, i will try with my HDD HITACHI, tomorrow i will show the results
     
  17. VivianIzoku

    VivianIzoku New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Since this is sector 16-22 on the Hard Drive itself and not in the Firmware you should be able to use a utility like bootnuke to write zeros to the entire disk. At that point you would return the basic format of the drive to the factory original state which would correct the bricking issues for use in a PC. That process may also restore functionality to an xbox360 original HD if MS setup the 360 to read the firmware information off the harddrive with or without the presence of a security sector. If the xbox360 original HD is not usable in the 360 now it would not hurt to zero it and see if the 360 will offer to format it.

    I am currently working on getting my xbox360 slim to use a Sandisk 120GB SSD I picked up on sale. Will let everyone know what I figure out if I get it working.
     
  18. charlie_orozco

    charlie_orozco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Vivianizoku. Could you please tell me whether that bootnuke process worked and how to repeat it? Even though I followed the steps of the tutorial, the Xbox 360 didn't recognize the drive, and I saved sectors again as a text to compare it with the Xbox .BIN file (I'm using a "HDSS500.bin" file, I have a 500gb drive) and it looked identical to the "undo.bin", so it seemed the hex editor never properly updated the sectors. The thing is while comparing and trying again I might not have set the sector restoration at 16 or something else happened, but now I get an error when trying to restore the "HDSS500.bin" file, the program tells me "Unabel to write sector 16. The drive may not be ready, locked, contain bad sectors, or require wrte permissions". and what I see after opening the drive is as follows:

    ERROR.jpg

    I thought maybe resetting all the sectors to zero might work. Maybe Harcroft can chime in too?

    Anyways, thanks for any help you can give me!
     
  19. Bazatree

    Bazatree New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    After so many years I decided to restore my hacked WD HDD to be used on a PC.
    The problem is, my new motherboard doesn't have IDE mode so I can't use HDDhackr and decided to use this tutorial to restore my HDD.

    The problem is, when I click "restore sectors by using "undo.bin" from HDDhackr from good old days, it shows me 5 sectors instead of 7 and the size is 2 KB and not 3.
    [​IMG]

    How can I restore my HDD using my "UNDO.bin"?
     

Share This Page