1. Welcome to the Digiex Download Center, you are welcome to download anything you like here, no registration is required! We offer direct download links with no captchas or wait times.
    We do our best to ensure no content infringes copyrights, and provide a DMCA Takedown Request Form to request the removal of content from Digiex

Xbox 360 Kinect Dashboard Update 2.0.12606.0

Discussion in 'Dashboard / System Updates' started by zefie, Oct 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sdeens

    sdeens New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    RROD after Kinect dash installed

    Yes Tom me too RROD after the new dash installed,

    one of my Falcons went IMMEDIATELY "hard bricked" 3 light RROD upon electrical restart after I supposedly installed the 12611 kernel while it had a cheap 3rd party Kingston USB (fat32) thumbstick in the front slot; and it has not recovered.

    I unwisely took this massive 100mb--12611 udpate via XBOX live stream and it seemed very slow or sluggish in its download attempt and this hard bricked or RROD this Falcon console when the nand was probably not properly reflashed upon restart.

    I bet that USB stick was the suspension trigger bug overeheated the ram chips and corrupted the nand/BGA

    I observed 0110/e20 ram overheating error codes upon the first restart when it went RROD

    This is somewhat rare for Falcons and this unit was a former RROD X-clamp console running perfectly for the last 12 months with extra cooling fans and NO microfreezing of games. As you know, ram overheating usually is often preceded by cronic microfreezing while the game is playing, which I didnt observer in this case.

    My guess is that this USB--E71 bug also suspended the 12611 download in midstream

    My other 4 consoles:

    FALCON (former RROD)/ZEPHYR/XENON (former RROD)/JASPER consoles all took the 12611 literally twice as fast).

    In turn this may have overeheated the ram or at the very least "corrupted" the non volitle ram so that when the Falcon restarted the new 12611 kernel was not fully installed and this 3-RROD lights reamains.

    This kernel is buggy, so probbaly its best to install it via a burned CD rom instead of XBOX live or a USB thumb stick.

    I bet that is why your console TOM went RROD, but was able to self recover becasue its newer..mine is an older January 2008 Faclon and yours is probably a newer Opus/Jasper etc..
     
  2. JafriZin

    JafriZin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh my god, are you kidding me?! It means it will be a RROD on my Jasper-made 360 as well?! I mean I've just finished updating my dashboard but after I've heard this news......

    Somebody tell me what is this all about.
     
  3. sdeens

    sdeens New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would just reflow the ram chips with hot air at 350 celcius for 60 seconds each if you get RROD during the 12611 dash update..

    this has been know to happen in the past when the console is running hot and the kernel update is too masive in size to be safely streamed via XBOX LIve in the proper time fram.

    sometimes if the nands gets realy corrupted the Hynix TSOP will need external reprogramming, but that is rare.

    you should let these older consoles cool down before taking any massive firmware udpates like this one (100mb). This was no ordinary update but a complete makeover.

    This evening I left the old X-clamp alone and just hot aired the four ram chips (both sides) and it cleared up the corruption. No need to replace the X-clamp or tighten any screws or even overheat the system.

    This console was just merley locked up until the ram is reseated and it runs now good as ever. no more RROD and I tested it for 5 hours.

    this is the third time it has happend to me in the last 5 years, so when you see error code 0110/E20 you know what the cause probably is. (RAM)

    In the past we could let it cool down and hit the sync button to purge the non volitile memory a few times and that would clear it up, but this time the chips needed some hot air to probably kill a cold solder point and then it booted up normally.

    this is a big dash update that is time sensitive, so you should install it via a burned CD rom when the unit is running cold.

    And avoid USB sticks...too many E71s being reported with lost data on them.

    this is the simple first cure method it will work as long as the Hynix TSOP isn't corrupted.
     
  4. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    The Internet
    I got the E71 after updating my Xenon, however I just switched it off, then back on right away and it worked perfectly fine.

    I dont think its anything to do with the USB drive you use, I believe the actual system update is saved to the ram first then flashed to the Xbox 360, the system updates are small, 16mb or less. Its the avatars which are large which are simply extracted to the hard drive after the system update.
     
  5. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    168
    e71 can sometimes be caused by default.xex in the root of a usb drive
     
  6. embiz

    embiz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sighh... I had the default.xex on the root of my usb drive when updating my xbox to the final release of the kinect update. It gave me an E71 error. Everything still works and the dashboard appears updated, but when a kinect is hooked up, I am told i need to update. Do you happen to know of a way to force the xbox to try updating again, or something like that?
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,891
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  8. embiz

    embiz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, yes. Thank you Mr. InsaneNutter, but that is the one I installed. After that, i downloaded the official one from Microsoft found here but alas, nothing happens when I attempt to update the xbox with that as the system believes it is up to date.
     
  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,891
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Thats because it is up to date, the one you downloaded from the thread I linked to is the final version of the dash, compare it to what you downloaded from Microsoft, its identical.

    As to why you have to update i'm not sure, is this to play a game or something?
     
  10. embiz

    embiz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. It tells me that I need to update whenever I hook the Kinect up to the Xbox. I think I just have to hope a slightly newer dash update will come out so my xbox sees it as something it wants to install.
    Thanks again for your help. Much appreciated.
     
  11. WarGod

    WarGod New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to update my xbox with kinect update (got it from microsoft) copied everything to usb , it asked me wether to update or not i choosed yes later it restarted.
    After restarting it gave plz reinsert the storage device cannot read the update(i tried reinserting but no luck).I had no option but to turn it off. It started very well but when i try to reinstall the update it give 71 error with 1 rrod.
    Also my xbox won't read some games disc.Also i tried to update with cd but it says up to date.Some games worked absolutley fine before.(MW2,Halo reach wont work)
    Plz help and thank you.

    Usb-transcend 4gb fat32.
     
  12. thekorngear

    thekorngear Resident

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    9
    They added AP25 for those above mentioned (Halo, MW 2, BO) games. Unfortunately you gotta patch the game ISO and reburn 'em to DVDs.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page