320gb hdd help

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by AvAsac, Aug 29, 2013.

  1. AvAsac

    AvAsac New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was after some help providing I haven't completely screwed up. Please forgive me for this lengthy post but I'm trying make sure to include all steps.


    I bought a 320gb hdd (in its casing) from eBay to replace my 60gb hdd on my 360 (phat). I also purchased a USB transfer cable to transfer all accounts and dlc over rather than using a thumb drive for accounts and saves and re-downloding dlc. Well the cable didn't work as I was expecting i.e. install new hdd to console and attach old hdd to transfer cable and transfer over all contents of old hdd to new. After some searching around, I then used xport to transfer the "Contents" folder from partion 3 to my pc. Once completed, I plugged up my new hdd to the transfer cable and began transferring the "Contents" folder from my pc over to the 320gb. 10 hours after beginning this journey, my new hdd was installed to the Xbox and nothing. No profiles, saves, dlc. Blank. Yet the size of the hdd was now close to 100gb less.


    I reformatted the drive on the Xbox and did some reading around and came across InsaneNutter's tutorial on hacking 250gb and 320gb hdd. This was going to be a challenge as my pc is archaic and doesn't use sata. My only option was to pull out the hdd from my laptop and install the 320gb hdd to the laptop. I began following the steps and saw that the new hdd I had was a Samsung. I continued with the tutorial and formatted a thumb drive to use as the boot up (I had to format it as fat32 instead of just fat as it was a 4gb thumb drive). Although my xbox hdd is a Samsung and the tutorial is for a WD, I continued anyway. As expected, hddss.bin couldn't be written as the hdd wasn't a WD. So I moved onto Harcroft's method to writing hddss.bin with a hex editor and then continued with InsaneNutter's tutorial to create the partitions to the drive. I booted up my laptop and when given the opportunity I ran hddhackr and selected the C option to create the partitions. The process said it had completed so I switched off the laptop and disconnected the hdd. I went back to my pc and plugged up the hdd via the USB transfer cable to use xplorer for 320gb. I ended up getting an error saying "failed To Read Cluster Chain Map".


    I went back to my laptop to connect the hdd and attempt to create the partitions again. This time, after the partitioning had completed, I switched off the laptop and then switched it on again as the tutorial said to restart the computer after about 10 seconds which completes the partition process (I failed to do this the first time). After switching the laptop on again, the screen stayed on a black screen with a blinking cursor and after about a minute, I thought that it may have been completed and normal for the screen to stay black with a blinking cursor so and switched off the laptop.


    I went back to my pc to use Xplorer and it still gave me the same error so I decided to connect the hdd to the Xbox. The Xbox could not recognise the drive at all even when I went to the menu to format the drive. Any attempt to format it will only make it 32gb as if a thumb drive is being used instead.


    I can still use xport however partition 1 & 2 are empty and it says that there is no free space available on these two partitions. Xplorer still comes up with the error and doesn't display partition 3 at all. I have also noticed that when I connect the drive to windows, it sees it as an external drive visible on windows explorer and has a fat32 format. Also, my thumb drive no longer seems to boot the laptop and it just stays on the black screen with blinking cursor when thumb drive is plugged in and Xbox hdd installed.


    I'm not sure if any of this is salvageable but any help would be appreciated. Once again, sorry for the long winded post but I wanted to make sure that I explained what steps I took in case they're relevant.


    My pc uses winxp 32bit and my Xbox is not modded/chipped or anything at all.
     
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Was the 320gb drive working in the console when you bought it?
    It may have been a folder issue but it seems like you may have messed up the drive by following the tutorial if the drive already works on the console.
     
  3. AvAsac

    AvAsac New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it was working and recognised in the console. The only thing that didn't work was when I had transferred all the profiles/saves/dlc. It didn't seemed to have worked thus the reason for me following the tutorial.

    So is it messed up as in not salvageable or messed up from what it was and can be fixed??
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Most of the time it can't be fixed. That tutorial is for converting a western digital drive so it will be usable on a xbox 360 console.
     
  5. AvAsac

    AvAsac New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I just got my hdd back to how it was. I used FATXplorer to format the partitions and my drive was then able to be read by my console. I have now reformatted my 320gb hdd via the xbox but I'm still getting the same error with xplorer "failed To Read Cluster Chain Map" and seeing only partition 0 and 2, which is no different to what I was getting before I attempted to "hack" my hdd. If I use xplorer 250gb, all 3 partitions are seen though. Xport still sees all 3 partitions but continues to say that partition 1 and 2 has "0 bytes free of 0 bytes on this partition" (no change from pre hack attempt).

    The main thing I want to do is copy everything from my 60gb hdd over to the 320gb hdd. How can I do this?? Also, I know that a 320gb is not actually going to show up as 320gb but it's showing up as 298gb. Is this correct??

    Sorry if some of this doesn't make sense. I've come off a night shift 5 hours ago and haven't slept yet.
     

Share This Page