Freestyle 3 launch problem

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by DRAGG, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings,

    I have an xbox 360 slim, RGH modded, bought about a year ago.
    Not so long ago I acquired Fable anniversary, but since back at the time it was freezy and laggy I put it off, but didn't delete, since I liked the old one on the pc.
    The problem is that I'm "sharing" the console with my bro, and he happened to like the game but there was a problem or something so he googled it.

    From his words, he found the updates as well as manual somewhere in youtube, and succeeded in installing them (obviously), alas I'm now here.
    To bring things up to speed, now whenever I start my console a window pops up about game error saying that the game couldn't start and I should try downloading the game again, and then it sends me off to default microsoft's dashboard without starting freestyle 3.

    As far as I could get my bro, he used the thing called XeXMenu 1.1 in the games tab, and somehow copied the updates to content and patched them or something, but that thing has only 2 options, either the installer which also has this game error I spoke about earlier or the I Am Alive, aka the game from somewhere I do not even know, and I'm at loss since he knows about the thing more than I do because he plays it more often but because I barked at him for being an irresponsible freebie, he won't say a word about it anymore.
    I'm stuck with GTA 5, some sort of hexagon game, a fallout 3 that won't start because of the expansion pack that cannot be loaded, and so much irony that I'm going to start "producing" steel bars because the anger heats it up.

    Is it possible to revert the update? If yes, then how? If no, then is it possible to re-install the freestyle? And how do i do that? Will it wipe my saves and achievements? Since I still have them, while not in freestyle.
    And what is the best scenario I could make in such situation?
     
  2. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: figured out how to navigate in the xex menu, also while exploring found the updates in the cache, deleted them but no result, I guess it has something to do with the file that's left there.
    and I have a little bit of idea what to do now....
     
  3. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: so as far as I got from the install manual, to launch FSD I must be launching the default.xex, but I guess is that what it does when it launches the console so the faulty file is somewhere in the freestyle folder, not in the cache, or maybe they are both faulty, in any case the question would be weather I replace the whole FSD, or just the default.xex and what to do with the file in cache, since I don't really know if it will cause problems further.
    What's in the cache anyways? Also will the FSD lose in functionality?
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,467
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    DRAGG likes this.
  5. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on 2.0.16202.0 dashboard, proceeding with the update
     
  6. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, when trying to dump my NAND I get this error saying that there is either no NAND or the NAND type is unsupported.
    it doesn't say whether it's jasper or any other type
    CB: 0
    NAND: 1879374
    SB Revision 10
    bad blocks -2
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,467
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Power the console on with the eject button, Xell should load. Ensure the network cable it connected, then you should see an ip address in the network config:

    [​IMG]

    Using your web browser on your PC go to http://192.168.1.99 or what ever your consoles ip address is, you should be able to download your "raw flash" from the console.

    Use this as the source to build a new updated nand.
     
    DRAGG likes this.
  8. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I guess I should consider on putting locks on doors in my house.

    Anyway, I came from work not so long ago and saw my bro playing fable, after a little bit of intense talk he explained me that he re-installed the Freestyle I had with Freestyle 3.0.775 as well as installed dash launcher.
    The thing works now, it lacks something the old one had, and I can't pin what yet, and the forza horizon now has an additional entry in games, but it works...

    Now about the update: starting the console via opening tray isn't helping since the black screen is all I see (even with VGA cable) but I entered the console by looking the http in the router itself, they CPU and DVD keys are also there, it also says that it's "Based on XeLL-2Stages - Xenon Linux Loader".

    Proceeding with the update.
     
  9. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: couldn't write NAND because of the same reason as before.no NAND found or unsupported NAND type.
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,467
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you put the update on a USB memory stick formatted as FAT32 and power the console on with the eject button, Xell should see the update and flash it to your console.

    However as you cant see anything on screen like that i could be a bit risky. Trying the component / composite cables and see if you can see Xell then.

    Remember if you mess this update up you will need to take the console to who ever modified it to get the console fixed, so might be worth leaving it for now if all your games work.
     
    DRAGG likes this.
  11. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then I guess I should put it on hold until I reaaaly need to update then, I donno though, I heard that games like GTA 5 and fable anniversary "need" the 537 update, but it's still runs fine with the 202 I have. Oh well, the less I know the better I sleep....
    By the way, my bro happened to download the dash launcher from this exact forum, so double thanks for the help, and double that for purring up with me :)
     
  12. 24K

    24K Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Gutter
    The reason you cant see xell is because you have a corona (slim),when you update the NXE or microsoft dash to 16537 through a nand builder it will also update xell to v933 (which will support video corona compatible xell).So now to update your dash,you need to get simple 360 nand flasher v1.2 & dump nand with that via xex menu or FSD file manager.You can boot to xell through a network like insane nutter said.
     
    DRAGG likes this.
  13. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's where the problem is with the nand dumping and writing, it says that there is either no NAND or the NAND type is incompatible.
     
  14. 24K

    24K Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Gutter
    You would not be able to use the xbox without the nand,thats for sure.The reason the nand type is incompatible is because youre using Nand Flasher 360.Use simple 360 nand flasher v1.2,dump nand with that, the file you will have will be called "dmpflash.bin",then run that through xebuild,then it should already have your cpu key or if it does not,go to dashlaunch in system info and write it down,update the nand to at least 16537,if everything is successful you will be left with a file called "updflash.bin", flash that with simple 360 nand flasher v1.2,the programme will give you instructions that its shutting down the xbox (when finished flashing),once it has unplug the power for a couple of mins,then boot.You should also have video xell.Never use nand flasher 360 on a corona,especially on a 4GB one..Try it & let me know.
     
    DRAGG likes this.
  15. 24K

    24K Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Gutter
    Coronas on 16203 dash and earlier are not compatible with xell via HDMI or AV,16357 has xell v993 built into it (which xell can be seen though HDMI or AV on coronas),but still shouldnt be used for flashing the nand (coronas only) because its still not stable enough yet.
     
    DRAGG likes this.
  16. DRAGG

    DRAGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The simple NAND flasher in fact did dump the NAND, sorry for the late reply, was away, could't reply earlier.
    Going to update and write the NAND after some sleep, thanks with the flasher, and for the help.
    Also, what do you mean by 4 GB corona? I mean I do know that my motherboard is Corona but what's with the 4 GB?
     
  17. 24K

    24K Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Gutter
    Some consoles have whats known as "big block nands (jaspers) & MMC nands (coronas & trinitys)" which are internal memory,if your corona is a 4GB one there are special requirements when updating it.You can tell by going to F3 & pressing Ls i think (to show cpu,gpu temps,IP address) at the top right there will be your hard drive and if you have a 4GB nand it will show next to your hard drive.Remember to read the readme.txt file first to make sure you understand the way that simple 360 nand flasher v1.2 works,because if you do something wrong YOU CANT REFLASH THROUGH XELL ON CORONAS.If it is simple 360 nand flasher v1.2 it will be ok.Once you update to at least 16357,you will have video xell & all games will work (no game uses 16457 yet).

    "You can tell by going to F3 & pressing Ls i think"...Its Rs push right stick in,Ls takes a screen shot.
     

Share This Page