Hitachi 60GB HDDSS.BIN needed‏

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by danz207, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. danz207

    danz207 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,


    I recently removed an Hitachi 60GB hard drive from a genuine Xbox 360 caddy and reformatted it on windows and now I need to use it back on the xbox.


    I had no idea that reformatting it would delete the HDDSS.BIN file (I had incorrectly assumed that this was firmware and therefore unable to be altered or deleted in windows).


    The weird thing is that after a while I plugged it in and it recognised it again and I could format it on the Xbox, but then I did something in windows and it's disappeared again.


    If anyone could point me to a compatible HDDSS file for my Hitachi (HTS542560K9SA00) that I could flash with 'hddhackr' than I'd be very grateful. Please only helpful replies, no "You're stuffed" because believe me, I know...


    Thank you,


    Danz207
     
  2. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
    Hddhackr only works with western digital drives so your already asking a question you know no one can answer.

    The most helpful answer you will get is to buy a western digital, hack it and enjoy having loads more space on your Xbox 360.
     
  3. danz207

    danz207 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried using a HexEditor to do it manually and it worked, but the Xbox wouldn't recognise it even when I created the partitions and used various programs designed for Xbox storage.
    I ended up caving and buying a Western Digital 160GB hard drive, guess I'll flash the 250GB HDDSS to it?
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You need the flash the 120gb one, the extra 40gb will simply be ignored.
     
  5. danz207

    danz207 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh ok, thanks for the heads up, wont use anywhere near 120/160GB anyway.
    Out of curiosity, what would of happened if I had of flashed the 250GB file?
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You could receive an error around 140gb used.
     

Share This Page