my slim 4gb freezing before dashboard

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by mosheva, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!
    My slim keep on freezing before dashboard shows
    What should I do...?
     
  2. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    hi i think you had same problem as what i had can you tell me

    does it make like a tik tik sound like its attempting to read something then when you press eject its fine


    if it is go to your memory device screen where it list hard drive internal ect

    and press LB RB X LB RB X on each of the devices highlighted then redownload the update


    this error is because something went wrong in the update proccess after that it should be fine
     
  3. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    ps reply and tell me if it worked


    also m$ when i rang them they insisted i send it for repair but this secret code that a friend of myn told me worked wonders
     
  4. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hii
    When should I press the code?
    if I press the xbox ring in the controller after 2 second its stock again...
    plz guide my throw....
     
  5. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    Hold the Sync button on the 360 before you turn it on, then press the power button while still holding the sync button and keep holding it until the dashboard fully boots up.
     
  6. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I try that also no good still freeze before dashbod how long should I push the sync key before I now it's useless ...?
     
  7. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    Well, if it froze before it got to the dashboard, then that probably won't work. Have you tried to take out the hard drive to see if it boots normally then?
     
  8. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hii
    I don't have hard drive its the 4 gb one...
    I did have an external USB drive which hold my profile I did plug it out and try no good.
    should I leave it on the frozen screen maybe something will happen...? What alse do you suggest because return it to M$ is not an option...
     
  9. BigRod989

    BigRod989 Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon, United States
    I know its said to hold the Sync button tell the dashboard boots but I had a 360 here that wouldnt clear failed updates that way, the way i had to do it was press the power button then right after (and like hit the power then the sync a sec later) press and hold the sync button and its should give you a green light and for me it cleared the failed update i had. I dont know why the console didnt work from the Microsoft directions
     
  10. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!
    I mange to load the dashboard but I cannot see my 4GB drive...
    And I get this status code: 8b050008-2a163c39-88e4fcf1
    when I try to go live...
    What should i do...?
     
  11. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    if u cant see ur 4gb theres a prob with the mobo since its onboard send it in to microsoft
     
  12. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...
    I don't have the option to send it to m$ since my country isn't under m$ official support ...
    Can I downgrade my dashboard and then update?
    Maybe it will help...?
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,740
    Likes Received:
    3,513
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    So your 4gb internal memory does not even show as unformatted under memory management (in system settings)

    Nope you can not downgrade, you can not sign in to live as i presume you have no storage device for it to store the avatar data which you must have.

    As you can boot to the dashboard you could try formatting a USB memory stick to work in the 360 and store the avatar data, that should let you get on live.
     
  14. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    I think his problem is that they can't even completely boot the dashboard without it freezing. Only time i've had that problem is with a hard drive but obviously if it's a 4GB there isn't really a hard drive.
     
  15. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    only real fix would be to take it back to retailer since you normally get 1 year warrenty thats if you didnt get it 2nd hand
     
  16. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...
    I can't send it back to M$ my country is not listed...
    I mange to get to the dashboard but then I can't see my internal 4GB flash...
    When my X-box triying to load my profile (if the 4GB is trying to boot) its get stock...
     
  17. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello again!
    I know this post is a bit old but I have some update...
    I bought a 250 GB hard drive and it fix the problem sort off...
    I see my 4 GB hard drive but every time I try to delete items it is take forever and when I restart my console they pop up again...
    all off my games that have stored information on my 4 GB drive won't load...

    any ideas?
     
  18. mosheva

    mosheva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello again!
    I know this post is a bit old but I have some update...

    I saw that on the 4gb slim M$ is adding a 4gb PCB chip while in the 250 version they don't... I opened my slim detached the 4gb PCB and now it's all good!

    Just wanna let you know and for someone I guess one in a million that had this problem...

    here is the motherboard with the 4 gb PCB
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Corona

    Corona Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    167
    put it back in and format the device that should work or the card may be bad. if you need a new one i have one for 20 bucks so pm if ya want
     
  20. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    I had this problem with a 20GB hard drive that came with my 360. It slowed the console down and made it take several minutes to boot the dashboard. When it finally did boot it showed how much free space was left but when I checked it, it showed no games what so ever. What I had to do to fix my hard drive is hook it up to a laptop, format it. Tried it afterwards and the hard drive still acted the same, it acted like it was never formatted from it's original format. So I had to put it back in the laptop, format again, then I filled the hard drive with random files until the hard drive couldn't hold any more memory. Afterwards, I again formatted the drive and put it in the 360. The 360 said "Unformatted Drive" so I formatted it on my 360 and then it worked perfectly fine.
     

Share This Page