Original Xbox. Softmod Installer Deluxe v5.11 Final Enabling 720p??

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by BlockABoots, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    I have just soft modded my xbox with the SID v5.11 installer and having issues enabling 720p. I have loaded the Enigmah video select and change my xbox from PAL to NTSC and rebooted when i got into settings in the unleashx dash and select display settings i tick the box for 480p and 720p and then save and reset the xbox, but upon restarting the xbox is still in 480p mode and none of the settings i have changed in the display settings have stuck and are back to default, any ideas what the issue is.

    Also i have bought a component cable form eBay but when i hook this up to my TV i get audio but no video should the component cable work out of the box?
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes the component cable should work out the box going from my own experiences, so it could be a faulty component cable.

    With my PAL Xbox when i boot it with the modchip off it will output 480i over the component cable from the MS dash. (Pal Xbox's never official supported 480p / 720p or 1080i as you know). However when i boot with the modchip on directly in to XBMC it will switch to 720p as XBMC loads.

    I have also softmodded some Xbox's and set them to boot directly in to XBMC. These had no problem outputting 720p as soon as XBMC booted once i had switched the region from PAL to NTSC with Enigmah video select.

    What id suggest is try loading up XBMC and enabling 720p output in that, then see if that works when XBMC is loaded as an app.
    If it doesn't work set XBMC as the default dash and the console should switch to 720p as XBMC boots.

    From what you have said though I do think its likely the cable is at fault, however it wouldn't hurt to try some of my suggestions above.
     
  3. Faze Caillou

    Faze Caillou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dude, I soft modded my Original Xbox so long ago. Very interesting to hear that there wasn't any "Official Support" of 720p and 1080i on the PAL Xbox's.(I own a NTSC Xbox) I swear there was a setting on the Unleashed X Dash that allowed you to change it from PAL to NTSC. So you could go back to the normal dash and have the setting to change resolution.
     
  4. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    Ok, i have another xbox here (3 infact) and i tried the component cable on one of the other xbox's and it worked fine, so it must be the xbox. I did actual 'hot swap' the scart and component cable on the xbox when it was turned on....i would have thought this wouldnt have damaged the xbox but have just plugged the scart cable back in and i get a picture but it now has a purple hue to the whole of the display. Could me swapping cables while the xbox was still on actually have damaged the xbox?
     
  5. Faze Caillou

    Faze Caillou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm... I'm no expert at scart cables. If you want to use the component cable. I can help with that though. Try going back to the normal MS Dashboard and going in the settings from there. I sort of agree with InsaneNutter. (Love the name) If none of this works, it could just be a bad cable.
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I don't think swapping the cables when the console is on would have damaged it, but I couldn't be sure. The Xbox could well just be slowly failing.

    So with 480i do you get the purple hue? or is this happening now regardless?
     
  7. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire. England
    Well i removed the softmod to see if that was causing the issue, but i still get a purple hue when on the original xbox dash with the scart cable now (no softmod installed), so im guessing thats a 408i signal its getting??, and still get no display (just audio) with the component cable on this xbox, as said i have tried the component cable on another xbox and it works 100% fine.

    So im not sure whats happened to this xbox to now get a purple hue on the screen, i have tried wiggling the scart cable about in the socket at either end and the picture doesn't change so its not a poor connect?
     
  8. Faze Caillou

    Faze Caillou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's odd. Never had that happen to me. The only thing I can think of is poor connection or a faulty cable.
     

Share This Page