Pokemon GameBoy / Rom Save Transfer To 3DS [Red, Blue, Yellow & Green]

Discussion in 'Nintendo 3DS Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. Zerbe92

    Zerbe92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    I know that transporter only does box 1, but it's not to do with that. when I load pokemon red save on to my 3ds it only shows one pc box with pokemon and the rest empty.
     
  2. UnknownRespected

    UnknownRespected Resident

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hmm you could try moving the pokemon from box 1 to other boxes, on your cart, and move box 2 to box 1, etc

    Backup save file every time, if box 1 consistently gets backed up but not the others you can do a bunch of save file backups moving boxes to Box 1 one by one, then once you have them all, open two instances of pkhex, load the first save file that has box 1 in box 1, load the others one by one in the second window and drag the pokémon over to first save file to fill up the boxes again.

    Should hopefully end up with a save where you have all the Pokémon in their right places like on your cartridge save, and if you stop using your cart in favor of emu/VC you won't need to worry too much about it anymore (unless you had other games you needed to backup in which case similar problems could occur.)

    Box data is at the end of the save file, so it's possible that for some odd reason the dumper only partially dumps the first half of the file and leaves the rest as blank.
     
  3. BobTheJoeBob

    BobTheJoeBob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a long shot since this thread is fairly old, but I've been trying to transfer my save file to Crystal on the virtual console on my 3DS, but whenever I export my save file using VBA-M, the .sav file is always larger than 32KB.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    This guide was made before the Gen 2 game we're released, however the process is very similar.

    The GEN 2 games have RTC (Real Time Clock) data so you need to save the game as normal in VBA, then open the save in a hex editor such as HxD.

    When you have done this delete the last two lines, as so:

    pokemon-crystal-vc-save.jpg

    After that you should be able to import the save ok.
     
    BobTheJoeBob likes this.
  5. BobTheJoeBob

    BobTheJoeBob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey thanks so much for the help!

    So after opening the save file in the hex editor, my save file seems to have two extra lines compared to the screenshot you uploaded:

    upload_2018-6-6_18-18-57.png


    So I wasn't sure whether to delete the last two lines, or the last 4 lines. I backed up my save file and tried both, but neither seemed to have worked. Any suggestions?
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You need to delete the 00008010 and 00008020 lines:

    pokemon-crystal-vc-save.jpg

    Ignore the previous screenshot, I had shown an already modified save by mistake. I've replaced that one now.

    When restoring the save on the 3DS you need to delete the secure value after (R + X on Crystal's title id with SaveDataFiler)

    01726 = Pokemon Gold
    01727 = Pokemon Silver
    01728 = Pokemon Crystal
     
    BobTheJoeBob likes this.
  7. BobTheJoeBob

    BobTheJoeBob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This fixed it. Thanks so much!
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Enjoy having your Pokemon on the 3DS! Mine have since gone though Poke Transporter and are with all my past Pokemon on my Gen 7 games.
     
    BobTheJoeBob likes this.
  9. AntiHeroGarou

    AntiHeroGarou New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, sorry to necromance this thread more than one year later, but this was the only place that i found on this specific issue, so if anyone could help, i'd be grateful. I,m trying to inject the save data for Pokemon Crystal on my 3ds, i downloaded the save InsaneNutter has left available at this link https://digiex.net/threads/pokemon-...t-pokemon-gold-silver-crystal-download.14671/, started a game on the 3ds and saved, then i exported the save in SaveDataFiler, and checked the lines mentioned to be erased as the screenshots above, in the downloaded save the lines are already erased, so i just let it that way, and placed it in the respective folder on the SD and renamed the file. Then i got back to the SDF and injected the save back, deleting the secure value afterwards, as recommended. Well, i still got the corrupted save error when i open the game, and despite trying to erase the folders and files, and starting the process again, i still can't get it to work, and keep receiving the error message.
    Where exactly could i be getting this wrong?
    Thx in advance for any response that can help me to understand what is going on. ;)
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The save I shared had been saved in an older emulator (TGB dual) which doesn't support the RTC. If you first load that save in VBA-M and simply save from the in game menu again, you should be able to follow the instructions above, deleting the 00008010 and 00008020 lines:

    [​IMG]

    It should then work on the 3DS correctly if you import the save and delete the secure value.

    I believe the problem in this instance is the save had been saved on an older emulator first. I have had this issue myself in the past.
     

Share This Page