PSP 6.61 Custom Firmware Install on any PSP - PSP, PSP Slim, PSP 3000, PSP Go & E1000

Discussion in 'Console Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Aug 27, 2013.

  1. Charlieboii

    Charlieboii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait can i do it permanently?? because im v3 but no 88?? sorry xD i dont have much knowledge of this... View attachment pspident_000.bmp
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you can flash it permanently :)
     
  3. popeye

    popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Just finished permanently flashing my PSP Slim 2000 with the following version of motherboard. Time to start playing on this little guy again. :)

    pspident_000.jpg

    I can't get ISO game to be recognized and played no matter what. Have tried putting ISO folder everywhere, no go. :(
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    ISO's go on the Memory Stick in a folder called "ISO", you should then be able to load them from the Games / Memory Stick section.

    You can only put ISO or CSO (Compressed ISO's) in this folder, nothing else.
     
  5. popeye

    popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done that. Still not recognized. Best I got was putting the ISO folder in the GAME folder, then it saw it but said corrupt. If I put ISO folder in root, then doesn't even see it. Tried messing with VSH settings. Still no go.

    Why does ISO Video Mount say None no matter what? Can't change.

    What should UMD ISO Mode be set to?
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I will have a look at my PSP when i'm home, its been a long while since i used it.

    Are you sure the ISO you have is not corrupt? Have a read of this and try rip your game again: How to rip and compress your PSP UMD games
     
  7. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    UMD ISO Mode should be set to Inferno or M33.etc whatever firmware you're on. ISO/CSOs belong in the Game/ISO folder. The other ISO folder is for PSP movie/videos that belong on UMDs. Your Video ISO Mount always says none probably because you have no UMD Video ISOs. If your UMD ISO Mode is on the standard one or the one it starts out with, just go to it and press right once, that should make it go to the mode that you'll always want it on.
     
  8. popeye

    popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help guys. I tried everything and ripped using UMDGen. I can't get either game or video ISO/CSO to be recognized using the memory stick. I have Silent Hill game and Hell Boy video to test. Redid everything form the beginning several times, still no go. Search on the net yields all kinds of different places to put the ISO folder. I've tried everyplace.

    I do notice when I format the memory no ISO folders are automatically created. Is this a problem?

    OK, got the game to work finally. A folder structure thing. Had to create ISO folder in root and place game there. Still trying to figure out how to get a UMD Video to work off of memory stick. Copied the ISO off UMD then placed it in the video folder of memory stick and a no go. Will get it eventually.

    UPDATE: Starting to look like the only reliable way would be to convert the UMD Video to mp4. No way to just copy it someplace and make it work. :(

    Sorry for the multiple posts but the system won't let me update.

    I got it working!

    1. Create a VIDEO folder in the same ISO folder as the games are working in. Place the video ISO in the created folder.
    2. Bring up the VSH menu and move down to ISO VIDEO MOUNT and right arrow, the video name should appear.
    3. Now hit the 'X' button and the PSP will restart. You are now in the mode where the VIDEO folder is seen as the UMD drive in XBM,
    4. To get back to normal UMD drive mode just select None in the ISO VIDEO Mount and hit the 'X' button. The PSP will restart and be back in normal UMD drive mode.

    I haven't checked yet to see if multiple videos can be placed in the folder and be recognized by toggling through with the right arrow in step 2.

    UPDATE: It works. Load as many videos as your memory stick will hold. The scroll through with the right arrow and choose the one you want to mount. Sure is a UMD drive saver and no more carrying the discs around.
     
  9. SCD

    SCD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there! thanks for making such a clear and easy-to use guide :) I do, however, have some problems.

    View attachment pspident_000.bmp

    From what I've been able to gather from what has been said before, I should have no problems running the CIPL flasher. Whenever I do though, I get the message "this installer does not support this model" and I'm bumped back to the PSP menu. Is this solvable or do I just have to go with fast recovery?
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You have a E1000 model, so unfortunately you cannot permanently flash custom firmware. That is only possible on some really old PSP models. You will have to run the fast recovery when you fully power the PSP off.
     
  11. SCD

    SCD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I thought as much. Thanks for the quick reply!

    EDIT: I've hit another hurdle! I've been trying to enable a cheat engine, and the instructions I've been following call for me to turn off the console and hold R to enter recovery mode, in order to enable the plugins. This guide recommends 4.01 M33-2 for the firmware, so I've wondering if 6.60 PRO-C2 has a different method of enabling recovery mode? Or am I unable to enter recovery mode at all, due to being unable to permanently install the firmware?

    EDIT 2: never fear, got it to work. Turns out I could get to recovery mode by holding select on the main menu. Now I just have to work out how to get the cheats themselves working.
     
  12. 400nob

    400nob Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    @InsaneNutter
    The download link needs updating with the latest Pro C2.

    I used this tutorial yesterday to update my PSP 1000. I downloaded a PSX game from PSN and it would not load, giving error code (FFFFFFFF). This is a bug in the firmware you have listed.
    Pro C2 Fix-3 is the latest version which fixes the bug with PSX games from PSN or anywhere else.

    The tutorial stays the same as the process is no different.
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    All done, thanks.
     
  14. Latyana

    Latyana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i aint sure of how to get the iso's. i know telling sites and such is illegal so i wont go there. i just need a know of what to look for. cuz everytime i get the iso onto the psp to play it, it says data corrupted. i put the iso in the game folder like i am told. been following everything to a T. but still says corrupted data. what am i doing wrong??:'(

    i believe i can play games using this. duh. lol. but which ones can i i play and how. i hadnt seen the idea. i was wanting to play ps one games on my psp. is that possible with this?? :O:O
     
  15. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    Yes. you can use PSX2PSP if you have any PS1 ISOs.
     
  16. Latyana

    Latyana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    :S so is that psp thing u mentioned for this custom firmware?? i been looking for plugins and trying to understand y my isos aint working on it?? would it be better to convert em into a .cso?? i want to make this custom firmware understandable. i guess ill never get it.:'((6)

    oh do u know where i can find emulators that work on this custom firmware?? sorry to bother.
     
  17. 400nob

    400nob Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can use Picodrive(genesis/megadrive) emulator and Snes9xTYLmecm (snes).
    I use both of those and they work great. Snes isn't full screen but that maybe just my settings.

    As for your posts about PSP games. If you have a PSX Iso you need to convert it to an eboot image and place that in the game folder.
    As for standard PSP games im sure they just need to be an ISO and they need to be in the ISO folder not the game folder.
     
  18. Latyana

    Latyana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i have my psx iso converted. but the problem im having is that the iso is still saying corrupted data. ive tried about everything i can think of. btb out of curiosity, when i convert the isos cuz this game is a 4 disc game can i use the same image icon to id all discs?? or do i need separate images on all??

    damn i give up. no matter what i do the game files keep showing up as corrupted. i put it the iso folder in the game folder of the psp. and it still shows corrupted. ive done it inside the sp and outside. no matter i seem to do the files read corrupted. ugh.

    ive done the ISO folder in the psp/game folder. in the psp itself even in the root. and it still says corrupted data when i go into the psp to check it. thats what i meant. another thing i feel might be helpful is if i knew where the seplugins folder goes. i put it outside the psp area. cuz i didnt know where to put it. the video i found the guy didnt exactly say. i need major help. think it would help if i reformat my card?? i seen that on another site. idk what to do. im confused. this is harder to do than the ds2 kernal thing. omg. lol. that took bout a week. this is taking longer.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2014
  19. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    What firmware are you on and what PSP model do you have?
     
  20. Latyana

    Latyana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got psp 3000 brite. im running the cfw 6.60 custom firmware b10. i am figuring out the VSH menu. i still dont know how to get into the other settings for the game tho. idk what plgins i need either.i still cant get it to show the game. i saw on another site i need to get into *Go back to Main Menu then Advance > Advance Configuration.Enable Plain modules in UMD/ISODisable “Execute BOOT.BIN in UMD/ISO”*this stuff is what i mean. i feel its got something to do with y my game aint working. i c m33, sony and inferno thru the vsh menu. and ty for any help. everyone. i been going nuts.

    i couldnt get the one listed here to do anything and i can the 10. but i cant get the isos to work. even as a eboot.

    ok additional info from my screenshot. says motherboard is TA-090 v2
    its a bright 3001 (03g)
    psp version is bright v1.0
    read only on what i think means battery
    possible cfw 5.03 HEN and up
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2014

Share This Page