Red Alert 3 is now out: To buy or not to buy with DRM?

Discussion in 'Gaming Hangout' started by Nimrod, Oct 29, 2008.

?

Will you buy RA3 and support DRM?

  1. Yes, I love the game too much to care about DRM

    1 vote(s)
    7.1%
  2. No, I intend to pirate it

    12 vote(s)
    85.7%
  3. No, but I also intend not to pirate it either, just boycott it altogether

    1 vote(s)
    7.1%
  1. Assassin

    Assassin Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Tsk, have to pull my network plug to play the game. It keeps going online looking for updates when it starts.
     
  2. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Yea, it says on pirate bay where you download it that you must do something with the firewall so it does not go online looking for updates but it's much easier to turn the internet off.

    Is it not possbile to update it and play online?
     
  3. Nimrod

    Nimrod Exotic Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    530
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Update your Windows hosts file and add the line:

    127.0.0.1 servserv.generals.ea.com

    That will block the update check :)
     
  4. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Can you give me a step by step guide on doing this?

    My game is on 18% =(
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,853
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Go to: C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc and open the hosts file with notepad, then just add 127.0.0.1 servserv.generals.ea.com and save it
     
  6. liftsifter

    liftsifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about us that WANT to play online? did you just think to consider, you can't play online if you crack the game? that's the only downside of cracking games. Either buy it, or lose online features...

    due to DRM I DID buy the game, but cracked it, I already installed it on 2 computers, but, I'm still waiting for my multi player.
     
  7. liftsifter

    liftsifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried this, wouldn't let me save it, I made it read and write, but It still won't save.

    ;) Sorry for the double post!
     
  8. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
  9. liftsifter

    liftsifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know guys...
    has Razor come out with anything yet?
     
  10. Icharus_Falling

    Icharus_Falling Resident

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tennessee (OMFG its horrible)
    download the fix.

    it contains a file that wasnt included in the initial packaging. without the fix, in campaign mode, youll crash to desktop after the 3rd allied mission and the 6th soviet mission. the fix works, as ive completed the allied campaign. =D
     
  11. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Ok, I have the fix but still not the game. It's on like 39% and going at an average of 25 KB/s !!!
     
  12. liftsifter

    liftsifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try Newsgroups, their 3x faster than torrents.
    I'm still waiting for a crack for Multi player goodness...
     
  13. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    You have to pay for that right? Well im on 62% now i'll just wait. It should be done tomorrow :)
     
  14. 05hepburn

    05hepburn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would gladly pirate i bought the first decade only to find vista hates RED alert 2 and then i bought both CNC3 and kanes wrath and they were good i then got the beta but now i was really put off by the whole limited number of installs so i would download it if my ISP wasnt goin to completely kick my ass if i got caught as i want to continue using my internet
     
  15. Icharus_Falling

    Icharus_Falling Resident

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tennessee (OMFG its horrible)
    how could your ISP catch you? they cant spy on your content, worst they could do is block common torrent ports, which you can change in your client. do you live in the U.S.? if you do, you could retire off of that lawsuit, if in fact your ISP is monitoring your internet usage. =D


    EDIT: ignore that if you use some public organizations ISP, like if you live in a college dorm, they do sneaky shit, like content monitoring and are powerful enough to get away with it. if you use a private connection that you pay for though, monitoring would be completely illegal.
     
  16. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Location:
    Space
    My ISP caught me before. Lol. They only give me 3 chances then I must find a new ISP. They just turned it off for like half a day. They called and told me I pirated Assassins Creed. Though They asked me to remove it and the program I used to download it with. I didn't, lol, They have no way of finding out! If I get caught again, they said I would half to take my PC to a computer professional and have them remove it. Then if I did once more I longer had services with them. To me this sounds like a total invasion of privacy.
     
  17. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    So do you still pirate today?
     
  18. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,853
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It would be easy to monitor who’s downloading what, all you need is one computer the RIAA, your ISP or whoever has access to in the torrent swarm and they have your IP address and everyone else who is downloading that torrent.

    Of course it might not be you downloading it, but someone on your internet connection most likely is.
     
  19. liftsifter

    liftsifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Topic

    Any sort of P2P is LEGAL, unless the file being transfered is copyrighted.

    Back to RA3

    I'm surprised Razor1991 still hasn't made a fix for 1.0.2! He had one out for RA2 by now... hmmmm..
    Hiatus?
     
  20. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Location:
    Space
    umm...yup, Though if theres something like gears 2. I always still buy the game, just to support the game. As far as apps, the only one I've ever purchased is Windowblinds. Movies and music, lol. Nothing I can say there. I pirate them way too much. My ISP didn't say anything about them though, only assassin's creed. Very surprising.

    Most things I see these days are by RELOADED. Razor I see very little of.
     

Share This Page