Setting Up Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'Windows Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Remote Desktop

    Remote Desktop comes with Windows XP Pro, Windows Media Center Edition 2005, Windows Vista Business, Enterprise and Ultimate Editions, it will allow you to log on to your computer from anywhere in the world and use your computer like you were sat in front of it, All you need is an internet connection.

    Note: XP Home has the Remote Desktop Client which allows you to connect to a remote computer using Windows XP Pro, Media Center 2005 or Windows Vista but you will not be able to connect to a computer running XP Home.

    1] To enable remote desktop right click on the my computer iconon your desktop or in the start menu and click on propoties.

    [​IMG]

    2] In the system propoties box that appears click the Remote tab at the top and make surethe box is ticked that says "Allow users to connect remotly to this computer" then click ok.​

    [​IMG]

    Depending on how your internet is setup your redy to use remote desktop, you might need to allow it in your firewall or foward the port if you are using a router so you can connect from a remote compter.​

    If you dont change the port as i will show you below the standard one is 3389 which will need to be open in your firewall or router. If you are unsure how to do this please look in the manual for your router or firewall.​

    3] Changing the port number.

    If you only have one computer on your home network you want to connect to you can skip down 5] Connecting to your computer.
    If you have more than one computer on your network you want to access remotly from the internet you will need to change the port number remote desktop listens on.

    To do this Click Start > Run and type in the run box "regedit" withhout the quotes.

    [​IMG]

    4] Now by double clicking on the yellow folders go to:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\TerminalServer\WinStations\RDP-Tcp\PortNumber​

    Right click on the "PortNumber" key and click modify then click on decimal and enter the pornt number you want to use e.g. 2006
    Now restart your computer for the changes to take effect.​

    [​IMG]

    5] Connecting to your computer

    To connect to your computer you first need to know its IP Address, This is your computers unique address on the internet, think of it like its your computers phone number.
    If you dont know your computers ip address i have posted a tutorial here on Digiex that will show you how to find out.
    Please make a note of your IP Address as you will need it to connect to your computer.

    Now your redy to connect to your computer, go to another computer running Windows XP and click:

    Start > All Programs > Accessories > Communications > Remote Desktop Connection

    Where it says Computer enter your ip address which you made a note of earlyer, if you changed the port put a colon after you ip address and enter the port you chose.
    For example you would enter 192.168.1.2 if you did not change the port but if you changed it to 2006 you would enter 192.168.1.2:2006

    User name: This is the name of the user you would like to log on to the computer as.
    Password: This is the password for your user account
    Doman: You can leave this blank​

    Note: You can only long on to a user account which has a password.

    [​IMG]

    Now click connect and you will be able to log on to your computer.
    After you have finished working with your computer if you want to remain logged on just closethe window or if you want to log off click start and log off like you usally would.

    [​IMG]

    I think that covers everything, if you still have any questions feel free to ask!​
     
  2. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Ahh, You could use this at school to get onto your home which then means you can access anything on the internet. Is that correct?
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes that’s correct as long as the Remote Desktop port is not blocked at your School, if it is blocked there are ways around that but see if it works first.
     
  4. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Would an XP computer connect to a Vista computer?
     
  5. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Space

    Yes you can. Just the vista pc needs to be running vista business or ultimate as there the only 2 versions that allow you to connect via remote desktop.
     
  6. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Ok, thanks. I might try this tomorrow at school. I have ultimate.
     
  7. Chubato

    Chubato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The IP Guide thread w/e doesnt open
    edit: found the thread
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Thanks for letting me know, link updated.
    This guide was made a long time ago :)
     
  9. Daniel

    Daniel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would this allow me to do periodic maintenance on my sister's computers? She is in Hilton Head, SC and I'm in Wash DC.
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you can work on the computer just like you were sat in front of it, sound from her pc will even play on your pc if she has a fast enough internet connection.
     
  11. Chrille

    Chrille Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sweden
    Cool!

    Newer knew how this worked until now.:) Thanks for a great guide.(Y)
     

Share This Page