Take Back Your Bandwidth

Discussion in 'Networking Guides' started by LiquidBlack, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. LiquidBlack

    LiquidBlack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Alright. By default, Windows has a little reserve of 20% of your bandwidth for it's own little tasks that it sets out to use for QoS needs (quality of service)

    This is BAD because it reduces the maximum download speeds and such of your internet connection...so, in order to fix this we must do a little tweak.

    Step 1: Opening the Group Policy Editor

    Go to Start>Run> and type "gpedit.msc" (without the quotes)

    Step 2: Navigating the Group Policy Editor

    Go to Local Computer Policy>Computer Configuration>Administrative Templates>Network>QoS Packet Scheduler
    Now, double click on Limit Reservable Bandwidth, and it should say "It is not configured" although, what this really means is that it is set to the default of alloting itself 20% of the bandwidth.

    Step 3: Fixing It!

    Enable Reservable Bandwidth, then set it to 0.


    Congratulations, you now have all of your bandwidth (or you should)

    Notes:
    If you do not find "Limit Reservable Bandwidth" it's most likely not even there, and therfore not taking up your bandwidth!

    This should NOT interfer with windows in any way, it will be fine as long as you don't use 100% of your bandwidth when your system is attempting to use the QoS (in which case it just won't do what it is trying to do till it is able to get some bandwidth)



    Also, pictures to come soon
     
    stucky and nreyfig1962 like this.
  2. Safinn

    Safinn Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    United Kngdom
    Nice guide. Never knew about that. I will change it when downloading and stuff but then I'll put it back as normal after.
     
  3. Icharus_Falling

    Icharus_Falling Resident

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tennessee (OMFG its horrible)
    (pardon my ignorance) lets say you connect through a local server which has the source connection to spread amongst the workstations on your network. does this mean that you lose 20% at the server, and another 20% at the workstation, effectively making you lose 36% of your bandwidth? and what exactly is the windows quality of service bandwidth, is that just for windows updates or error reports?
     
  4. LiquidBlack

    LiquidBlack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, it's usually reserved for windows updates or error reports.

    As for if it stacks, that's actually a very good question. I'm not quite sure on that one... I'll have to look into it later.
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,196
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Good guide, it will be even nicer once you get the images up.

    As far as your internet connection goes I wouldn’t imagine it will make much difference unless you have a 80+ mbit internet connection. It will help a lot with copying files to other pc’s on your lan though (Y)
     
  6. Guranga

    Guranga Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midlands
    Did it, found no noticeable difference. possibly it only throttles if the reserve bandwidth is needed to be used? thanks anyway
     
  7. Icharus_Falling

    Icharus_Falling Resident

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tennessee (OMFG its horrible)
    i did this, and noticed no difference either. at work, we have about 15 workstations connected to 2 servers, and i had hoped it would speed up file transfers between my workstation and the server, but i havent seen any noticeable difference.

    one of the projects i work on involves QA/QC of high resolution aerial imagery, usually entailing transferring 30-200 gigs worth of files around between workstations and local servers, and i used this to guage any kind of speed difference, but unfortunealty didnt see any.

    =/
     
  8. xzKinGzxBuRnzx

    xzKinGzxBuRnzx The Feature Man

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,239
    Location:
    Space
    This is a good guide. Though Tuneup 2009 can do this much easier and simpler. I've always knew about the QoS thing, As I've had tuneup on my pc since XP.
     
  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,196
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    For all the people who didn’t notice any difference are you using Vista or Is your network connection 1gbit?

    When I had XP i noticed that FTP’ing recorded TV to my Xbox on the home network would only use about 75-80% of the bandwidth available without this hack, with the hack I could use 100%.

    On Vista I can FTP to it at 100mbit without doing this, however the network connection on this motherboard is 1gbit and is connected at 1gbit. If your connected at 1gbit to your local lan its the hard drives that are going to slow things down as they wouldn’t be able to write the data fast enough to keep up with the speed of the network connection.

    Even if 20% of a 1gbit connection was reserved the connection is still way faster than your hard drives can write the data at, that might be why you can’t notice much difference at all.
     
  10. Chubato

    Chubato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it!
    Didnt really see a diffrence to be honest
    Using XP btw
     
  11. Grytolle

    Grytolle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't even have that settings program. Any other way to do it?
     
  12. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,196
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  13. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I have Vista, would that work the same as doing it for XP?
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,196
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I think it’s the same for Vista, not 100% though.
     
  15. iwellkillu

    iwellkillu Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    thanks for the info..!
     
  16. stucky

    stucky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ireland
    saweet man thank you(H)..Stupid windows stealing my bandwith :(
     
  17. seanpr92

    seanpr92 Godlike

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    works on win 8 also
     

Share This Page