Xbox 360 static from Ethernet help

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by Your Mazter Is Here, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. Your Mazter Is Here

    Your Mazter Is Here New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I have a Xbox 360 S console, and for whatever reason when I plug my modem in by the Ethernet cord, I get static on my screen. It is barley visible, but it is a new console and I'm just wondering if this is common. I've plugged it into both my router, and my modem, but I get these small static lines that move up the screen vertically. However, it does not do this when I'm connected to the internet via WiFi. Any help on how to get rid of these would be very much appreciated so I don't have to see that static anymore aka snow or little white dots.
     
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Can you try a different ethernet cable?
    How is the xbox connected to the tv?
     
  3. Your Mazter Is Here

    Your Mazter Is Here New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I have tried a different Ethernet cable, and unfortunately I got the same result. When I seem to disconnect the cable cord from the modem, the modem still sends negative feedback to the Xbox 360 with the display. It does not do this on other devices though. Also, I connect my Xbox 360 to the TV through the S video slot in the back of the TV.
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,247
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Your S video cable could have poor shielding or be defective. Try ensuring the Ethernet cable / S video cable are not touching each other.
     
  5. Your Mazter Is Here

    Your Mazter Is Here New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, you are probably right. I assure you they aren't touching, but I did find out that it doesn't give static whenever I plug a regular AV cable in. It is probably defective, and made in China. I'm glad I can be relived that it's not my new Xbox console.
     

Share This Page