XBox360 Slim Hard Drive Questions

Discussion in 'Console Help Center' started by cassinni, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. cassinni

    cassinni Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    i have several hard drive related questions.

    1. How do I take out the original slim 250 gb hard drive out of its original (never opened) enclosure without breaking it so i can reuse it?
    2. If I put a Western Digital into my Slim, does that put me in danger of a XboxLive ban?
    3. If i move the old 250 slim hard drive that i want to take out of its shell to a phat console, do I need to reinstall dashboard on the phat or on the slim?
    4. Can I put the Slim 250 Gb hard drive into the phat console without using any software to edit the hard drive? (like dump the key of the hdd or put the key of the phat hdd into the slim hdd)

    THanks a lot
     
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    1.when i received my slim hard drive enclosure,i used a flathead screwdriver and the top popped off (im not sure if this is the right way)
    2.no one has been banned by doing this,but it needs to be hacked by hddhackr for it to work in your console(use this guide)
    3.you dont need to reinstall anything
    4.with hard drives,there are no keys
     
    cassinni likes this.
  3. cassinni

    cassinni Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks!!
    Was it an original microsoft enclosure? Could you reuse it afterwords?

    One thing i forgot to ask is, i bought a 500GB WD disk, now i know there are no bins for that size so far but most likely soon (COD Limited Ed) will be..now how do
    i deal with it later, reflashing the new 500GB bin on the hdd and before backing up my files with the usb stick like in the guide?
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    it was a 3rd party enclosure.yes

    with the 500gb you can flash it to 320gb and you will only be able to use 320gb
    keep your undo file so you can get the full 500gb whenever microsoft decides to release a drive that big or if you want to use the 500gb as storage
     
    cassinni likes this.
  5. philmcc

    philmcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i boot to my usb to use hddhacker it can't see my hard drive. I have a WD Scorpio blue drive. I'am I missing something?
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix

Share This Page