Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Oxyhydrate

    Oxyhydrate New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xbox doesnt see my hdd. ))Tomorow I will try again.
     
  2. jazzyj

    jazzyj New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    I've just noticed that the Firmware Revision is not getting set during the flash. If I run HddHackr a second time I can see the Manufacturer and Serial Number have changed, but the Firmware Revision does not change. Dumping the flashed 16-22 sectors out and viewing it through a hex editor shows the correct (changed) firmware version. It seems like the drive is passing it back from somewhere else. The UNDO.BIN file looks to have 00.00000 as the firmware version (and this is also shown as the version when replacing the original firmware back).

    I'm presuming this is the cause of not being able to see the drive in the XBOX? Is there anything that can be done to resolve this?

    This is a new drive - it has a manufacture date of January 2015.
     
  3. Oxyhydrate

    Oxyhydrate New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES!!! )) I've made it! )) I ve just flushed 08v0tt5 500gb date 04 dec 2014 and my XBOX 360 can see my HDD!!! )) Ive changed serial number of my hdd with WD Marvel Repair Tool v. 2.3 after flushing with HDDHACKR. I will explain later if somebody will ask. ))
     
  4. Henser

    Henser New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 160 hard drive, managed to use the firmware of 120, so i want to know if i can use the 250 firmware to at least get full 160 GB ?
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Nope you cant do that, you can only use the 120gb security sector.
     
  6. Bo Yang

    Bo Yang New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Oxyhydrate, I think I run into the same situation as you did. my drive is WD5000LPVX-08V0T, and xbox 360 can not recognize it after I strictly followed the tutorial. Would you please let me how you resolve it? thanks!
     
  7. krystoffer17

    krystoffer17 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Can you elaborate further on how you did it? what serial number did you put?
     
  8. Henco

    Henco New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi im struggling with the hack , I have a WD5000LPVX hard drive that I wnt to hack. When I've typed in hddhackr (first step when starting up your computer) it ceeps loading forever
    Pls help:(
     
  9. JimRiggins

    JimRiggins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll also ask for your help here. It looks like a lot of people are experiencing the same problem with this model HDD. Your fix would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. Henco

    Henco New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've changed the USB from MSDOS to FREEDOS and that also didn't work on my laptop, I've also changed the SATA to ACHI and that also didn't work , it still ceeps loading after entering hddhackr, should I switch from a laptop to a computer? ??
    Pls help
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You need to disable AHCI not enable it, from the posts you have made it sounds like your laptops chipset is simply not compatible. I'd try and old desktop PC if you have one around.
     
  12. Henco

    Henco New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi on my laptop I've tried switching off the ACHI to compatible and tried again and again the hack didn't work but do you think the hack can work on a Windows 7 PC
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It might do, hddhackr can be really fussy with the hardware it supports. The best thing to do is try a different computer.
     
  14. firstblunt

    firstblunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use hddhackr on a 320gb Scorpio blue and it saying LBA size seems 2 be an unsupported xbox360 value.
    the New LBA size says 625142448 any ideas?
     
  15. Spock

    Spock New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is xbox one a different system or can we look forward to terrabyte bin files at some stage?
     
  16. Crik

    Crik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep
    Thanks for this good tutorial !!
    someone can specify me what fit hard drive (7mm or 9.5mm) to choose ? (for Fat systeme xbox360)

    I hesitate between 2 models : WD 5000 BPVT (9.5 mm) or LPVT 500 is 7 mm ... :-/

    In my bios, i have tow choice for the sata configuration : ATA or AHCI (my laptok computer DELL XPS 1530 M)

    Do you think I can use this computer ?

    (Sorry for my bad language, i'am not english :D)

    EDIT : Is it necessary to format the Hard Drive WD since Flash it ? (with WD Data Lifeguard - option Write Zeroes) ... I saw that in a vidéo on youtube; Thanks !
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The 7mm drive would be better, both should work however.

    As for the SATA config ATA is what you want.
     
  18. Crik

    Crik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dear InsaneNutter !!

    Is it necessary to format the Hard Drive WD since Flash it ? (Write 0 soft WD)

    I saw a WD5000BPKT (7200 tr/mn) not very expensive. Do you think Hddhackr and this model are compatible ?? I read in this thread, some people have diffulty (xbox360 dont recognize the HDD after flashing ...)
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    No you don't need to format the drive on a PC if that's what your asking.

    Hddhackr 1.40 will work with the following Western Digital drive series: BEAS/BEVS/BEVT/BPVT/LPVT/BEKT/BJKT/BPKT/BUDT/HLFS/BLFS so a WD5000BPKT should be fine. Obviously I can't make any promises, problems are usually down to the SATA chipset in the PC used to hack the drive.
     
  20. Faze Caillou

    Faze Caillou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was about to say. Really isn't necessary to format it.
     

Share This Page