Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. MorosePapaya

    MorosePapaya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently purchased a generic xbox 360 hard drive, which turned out to be a 320gb WD3200BPKT. However, I accidentally formatted the hard drive to use the exFAT file system. HDDHACKR could not find the drive when hooked up to my desktop, and the Diagnostic Tool can't find it either. The Xbox 360 also cannot find it. I tried reformatting the drive to windows NTSF file system, and Windows can detect a hdd with 298gb available, but neither programs nor the 360 detect it. Is there anything I can do?
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you look in your computers BIOS setting what brand / model does it recognise the hard drive as?
     
  3. Crik

    Crik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks !!

    The WD5000BPKT work in 7200RPM and WD5000BPVT work in 5400 RPM. Please, wich is better for the xbox360 (Elite premium) ? Could there be too much heat with a 7200 tr/mn model ? what you advise me to choise/buy ? (I hesitate, the BPKT is more faster)

    ++
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You will notice no difference in the 360, the 5400rpm drive might run slightly cooler.
     
  5. Crik

    Crik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    With a 7200 rpm, the xbox don't start more faster ? The interface is so slow actually (hard drive origin) Have you already tested this ? ;D
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The slow interface is caused by all the apps and cached content on the hard drive, with the new hard drive the dashboard is quite fast, however once you have a few 100gb's worth of content on there watch it slow right down again.
     
  7. Crik

    Crik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, ok :D

    I tried to flash my old hard drive (WD3200BJKT) with HDDhackr 1.4 and my Laptop. (ATA mode in bios)

    My xbox 360 recognizes the hard drive and accept to format it.

    1- So I can hope that if it works once , it will work on a different model from the list?

    2- Can you reassure me that there is no risk of banishment ? (We all use the same bin file to flash ... the same seiral number for the hard drive (?????)

    Thanks InsaneNutter :D
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I created this guide back in 2009, its now 2015 and i'm not banned, people have been doing this a lot longer too so I think its safe to safe to say your not getting banned. Why would you? if anything it allows you to purchase more content from the Xbox Marketplace.

    It should work fine with a different model on the list.
     
  9. carpe_k9

    carpe_k9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I registered to thank you for this guide. I managed to find a compatible 320gb drive and everything seemed to work without any problems. I was able to back up the data from the previously installed 120gb drive to my computer and restore it to the new drive once it was properly formatted by my xbox. I tested out a XBL game I purchased a while go and everything seemed to work perfectly. I have yet to try any DLC such as Rock Band tracks to make sure there aren't any problems, but I don't see why there'd be any issue.

    I have a spare 120gb Fujitsu laptop drive now from opening my xbox and.... is there anything I can do with it? I'm guessing that since I had to flash the firmware on the larger drive, windows won't see the 120gb at all. Or am I wrong?
     
  10. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You could format the 120gb but it wont work on the 360 as internal storage. Using it as an external usb drive will work on 360 and pc.
     
  11. carpe_k9

    carpe_k9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm.

    Okay, thanks. Been wanting to have a spare usb drive for my girlfriend's laptop, anyway. Guess this saves me the hassle.
     
  12. cybermat

    cybermat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, i bought a 500Gb and i ran HDDHACKR 1.40. I tried on different computers and finally i got it!

    360 console recognizes it with migration link cable and i've been able to migrate from the old one to the new one. Xplorer 360 sees the 3 partitions (i've been able to copy launch.ini for RGH console and other stuff), Xtaf GUI the same.. Party Buffalo seems to have problem with it, i cannot restore the old 120 GB.bin backup but it doesn't matter because i alredy migrated the data.
    Just to be detailed...i tried to restore backup before.. after have failed i migrated with the console using the case of my friend :D

    I read in this long thread to format in NTFS the hard disk before trying to "hack" it. Is it normal that after have hacked it, if i plug the WD on my PC i still see the whole NTFS partiton with letter assigned ? If i plug the "original" i can see the disk just under disk management.

    thanks!
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If the hard drive is hacked it shouldn't have any NTFS partition on it, the 360 uses FATX for its file system.
     
  14. cybermat

    cybermat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok after have plugged and replugged the Microsoft migration cable, finally i got my "not seen" disk. It's very strange to have seen NTFS partition even if i had been able to migrate the old 120Gb hard disk...

    Thanks
     
  15. jxlee0215

    jxlee0215 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did an upgrade from a 20gb to WD 120gb. I thought i saved my undo.bin for the 120gb, but it wasn't the correct file i saved (saved something 177mb). Is there any way to get the 120gb formatted back so it can work on the PC.
     
  16. Hisham Elbadry

    Hisham Elbadry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I follow your step and its work but the issue my xbox red hdd 320 gb as 31 gb only i do all type of format , hope u can help me
     
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    IT appears you have configured the hard drive for use like a usb drive on the Xbox 360 if its only showing 31gb of space.
     
  18. Osório Dornelles Moreira

    Osório Dornelles Moreira New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tks!!! Is very cool.:D
     
  19. basitabbasi

    basitabbasi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great tutorial, just hacked my spare 80 GB WD. Everything gone well except I used 120 GB Hddss because there is no official 80 GB sector for xbox. I read that someone used 60 GB sector in 80 GB and it worked except it assigned 60 GB to the HDD. I assumed that if Hard Disk space is assigned according to sector file then why not use 120 GB to save the wasted 20 GB and it'll automatically assign the complete space to my 80 GB HDD.
    So moving forward with my assumption I flashed my HDD with 120 GB sector successfully and placed in my Xbox 360 Slim. The device appeared but without any size yet. I formatted the drive with my Xbox serial no and BINGO !. I got the size but not 80 GB... it was 107 GB :D
    I copied and installed some games it works fine just one time my Arkham Origins displayed Downloadable Content Error in middle of game and restarted although I never downloaded anything. Anyway no big deal as far as my spare 80 GB HDD is converted into 107 GB Xbox HDD. Just curious about why it assigned 107 GB when the actual space of the drive was 80? Is there any negative affect for long term use?
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,158
    Likes Received:
    3,317
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Your going to have the same problem as these fake memory cards you can buy online, eventually the Xbox will try to write data to hard drive space that doesn't really exist, whichcould corrupt everything you have on the hard drive.

    You should flash the 60gb security sector, otherwise you will be annoyed in the future when you potentially loose everything saved on the hard drive.
     

Share This Page