Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Lucas Dantas

    Lucas Dantas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    WD5000LPCX will work? Thanks
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    No one has confirmed either way with that drive, so it would be a case of try and see. The WD5000LPVX is a good bet at the moment, multiple people have confirmed it works fine.
     
  3. danman71

    danman71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently upgraded my XBOX 360 hard drive to a 500GB. Everything was fine until I tried to play some original XBOX games. I believe the disc needs partition 2 fixed. I saw this thread and tried to download xplorer360 extreme 2 and get a malware warning that it contains Artemis!852C26D99343
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The program is fine, although you can use it on an old PC if you don't trust it. It's because of the way it mounts / reads / writes data to hard drives. Some antivirus programs think it's suspicious.
     
  5. Xbox360Gamer

    Xbox360Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys , I wonder if using this procedure would be possible to use an HD 500GB Hitachi in my Xbox 360 Slim .

    HD Description:
    HDD: Z5K500-500
    HTS545050A7E380
    Type : TT5SAE500
    I tried to write 500GB HDDSS.BIN but can not complete the process , when it would be carried up the previous firmware for undo.bin file comes the following error message tried to write 500GB HDDSS.BIN but can not complete the process , an error message appears :

    Reading HDD sector 16 failed!
    DRQ Error: 0x0802


    I believe it would be possible using some other HDDSS.BIN file because both are the same brand, and storage capacity.

    I will be grateful if anyone knows help. FVPT8ro.jpg
     
  6. kornhulio

    kornhulio New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Good day. Is it possible to use WD Scorpio Blue 1TB then just flash it using the 500GB Bin file? I don't care if I lose the 400GB++ on the process.

    Looking forward for a positive reply. Thanks!
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You can't use that 500gb Hitachi, however if your happy to loose 500gb on the 1TB drive that should work.
     
  8. DualDT210

    DualDT210 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I hope you can help me with one little problem.
    I used HDDHACKR.exe to flash the firmware of an Western Digital WD7500BPVT Blue 750GB HDD with the security sector 500 GB.
    No I wanted to bring back the hole 750 GB of space, but I haven't saved the old firmware of the HDD.
    Does anyone have the firmware of my HDD?

    Hope you know what I mean.
    Greetings from Germany :)
     
  9. spunk

    spunk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for this guide (and forum) OP - I used it to convert a WD HDD for my second Xbox 360. The HDD I used was a brand new 500GB WD5000LPCX, so you can add that model to the list of hackable WD HDDs :D

    WD5000LPCX & WD5000LPVX seem to be easily available at the moment, so no need to hunt down the older models. I got the "CX" due to the larger cache & to try since no one anywhere seems to mention the CX drive also being hackable.

    Thanks again!
     
    InsaneNutter likes this.
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Thanks for reporting back on your success, i've added the WD5000LPCX to the compatibility list. It's great people have a choice of easily obtainable drives again.
     
  11. taktin

    taktin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    someone can confirm about the lpcx series
    please
    I cant find any other clue about that
    thanks
     
  12. chrispovoas

    chrispovoas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi InsaneNutter... Thanks for the great detailed guide!

    However i have an issue thats driving me insane! Im trying to fix a friends sons xbox..

    Ive doubled checked ive done everything correctly, but what you have on one of your screen grabs differs from what I see. Where you say "You will then be asked if you also want to create partition 0/2/3 (HddHackr_v1.30 will not display any message about partitioning, this is normal)",i dont get this at all.. it just skips it and goes to "you drive should now be hacked, congratulations!" But the drive doesnt show up on the xbox.

    ive tried doing the partition before the flash, after the flash, nor doing it at all.. using Data Lifeguard (no issues, its a brand new drive from your list) to test and wipe the drive and start again.

    The only thing that i can see that differs, is i dont have the options you mention for my BIOS "ensure the SATA operation mode is set to ATA or disable AHCIdepending on the options you have. On some motherboards this can also be called legacy or enhanced," theres nothing like that in there.. its just a regular tower pc from 2009.

    Any help is MUCH appreciated...

    Thanks for your help

    chris
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You can try running hddhackr again and see if it will create the partitions.

    If not try typing in command prompt when Hddhackr is not running: hddhackr C 09E0 A0

    Replace 09E0 with the port hddhackr says your drive is connected to.
     
  14. chrispovoas

    chrispovoas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0



    I can create the partition separately, i.e. flash the drive, then run HDDHACKR again and do the partition which works, but no luck showing up in the Xbox.

    Cant seem to run that command... you say replace 09E0 with the port my drive is connected, but HDDHACKR only says 0xD080. ive tried all combinations of 0xD080 but it wont run. Ive tried looking at the drives location under the HDD properties but it all says 0.0.0.0..

    Sorry not sure exactly what im looking for here!

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  15. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I would try flashing the drive on a different computer if possible, it's likely to do with you not been able to change the SATA operation mode in the bios settings. I flashed my 500gb drive the other year and had so much trouble with the newer computers in our house, eventually i got an old netbook out from 2008, disabled AHCI and flashed the drive perfectly first time. It really is down to the SATA chipset on the motherboard, it does cause the vast majority of problems.
     
    chrispovoas likes this.
  16. chrispovoas

    chrispovoas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks dude, ill hunt one down and give it a go.....
     
  17. sciaio

    sciaio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi InsaneNutter!
    Thank you for the detailed guide, I purchased a new WD5000LPCX and I followed the guide but, when I insert the WD HDD into the computer, the xplorer 360 (for the 500gb hard drive) did not recognise the new Hdd and it says "Could not find a FATX drive to open!". I'm on W10 64bit and I've already tried to run it in compatibility/administrator and changing the UAC but I've no succes. Please help me because I can't restore the partition 2

    Thank you so much
     
  18. sciaio

    sciaio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I don't know how, but I partially solved the problem: now xplorer 360 does not give errors but it shows up only partition 2 and 3. I restored the partition 2 but when I try to put the old data of partition 3 of the original hdd it's veeery slow and seems it does not anything, I think that it uploads no data. (the xbox recognize the hdd with no problem, it's been formatted from the consolle)

    Party Buffalo gives me error while trying to open the hard drive: something like "an unhandled exception..."

    Thank you very much for help
     
  19. chrispovoas

    chrispovoas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well, tried it on a mates PC and i CAN alter the BIOS, but the damn PC keeps saying "No ATA drives detected".... sems like 2 steps forward 4 steps back!
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Xplorer 360 doesn't work with partition 3, trying to do anything with that will just corrupt the data. I'd format the drive in the Xbox 360 then copy something on to it, like a demo. If you still have no luck with Party Buffalo try USB Xtaf to inject files again.
     

Share This Page