Upgrade a Jtagged Xbox 360's hard drive, restore the avatars and Xbox 1 emulator

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Bigdogontop

    Bigdogontop Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it matter if its a SATA, SATA 2, or SATA 3? I'm thinking about putting a clear HDD case with a bigger HD on my Jtag.
     
  2. Bigdogontop

    Bigdogontop Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read the entire forum and got my answer on the SATA2. I would be curious if anyone knows anything new on the SATA3?
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It should work, however i have not used a SATA 3 drive so could not say for sure.
     
  4. pixelblue230

    pixelblue230 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great TUT :) Just what i needed :D
     
  5. ZimHB123

    ZimHB123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Milky Way
    Hey insane nutter can I upgrade to a 3.5 inch 2TB because my older brother knows welding and soldering ,so he can increase the encloser's size . Will it format on 14699 Jtag Jasper 256mb
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You will need an external power source for a 3.5" drive in the Xbox 360, the 360 will not supply it with enough power.

    The only way around that would be to do a mod to draw the power from somewhere else on the 360's motherboard

    See: HDD « DARKFiB3R and HDD 2 « DARKFiB3R

    But yes if you can get the drive powered it will work inside an Xbox 360.
     
  7. n.evil

    n.evil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Format problem

    Hi,I'm fairly new to the scene. I've had an RGH'd falcon for a few months now and have filled the internal hard drive. I read the guide and bought myself a 500Gb laptop drive to replace the old internal drive.

    My problem is when I press A to format the drive in NXE, my console doesn't do anything. It stays on the same screen and doesn't ask for my serial number.

    Can anyone offer any advice?

    Thanks
    Si
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012
  8. stucky

    stucky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ireland
    im about to do the backwards compat part on my 360 so i can play an def jam fight for ny on my rgh..my question is after i do this an it erases an replaces my compat folders...all my 360 games on my hdd will still work also yeah?? sorry if its stupid q but i have to ask:)
     
  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you dont have the correct partitions setup i believe that will erase all the data on your drive.

    If you have done the partitions and just want to restore the Xbox 1 emulator then you can do that fine.
     
  10. stucky

    stucky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ireland
    ok the baackwards compat didnt work for me neway ive tried 2games n both wont start:/
    so my next question is about changing the hard-drive to a 1tb after its installed and formatted..what then?? do i have to re-create all the folders that were on my oringinal hdd an also wont i have to reinstall xex-menu again aswell or will the 360 automaticlly do all this????????
     
  11. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
    You will have to re install everything again, if you read the tutorial it explains how to copy files on to the hard drive by running XEX Menu from a CD.

    You can also copy XEX Menu to the Content\0000000000000000 folder from the CD and it will then run from the hard drive.
     
  12. stucky

    stucky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ireland
    well i have read the tutorial several times...there must be sumthing wrong wit my screen bcos the first mention of xex menu on the tutorial im reading is for backwards compat hack and even then it says "you should see xex menu" and nothin about running it from a cd.............

    dont get me wrong i tink this tut is great an im glad insane nutter toke the time to explain it in full and step by step:) i was confused as to how i was gonna install xex menu onto a blank hard drive but now i see your saying i can run it from a cd.... will it then let me start creating folders? and also is there anything important that i cant forget to put back on the hdd or isit just my games,DLC and xbla
     
  13. stucky

    stucky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ireland
    also jus to be sure...i dont actually run the 13599 update do i?.. i jus power down again straight away an when i boot up again my avatars wil be restored??
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The tutorial talks about running it from a CD here:

    When XEX Menu is running from a CD you can browse the contents of the CD and copy XEX Menu from the CD to the hard drive, this will allow it to be loaded even when the CD is not in your console.

    As for the avatars put which ever dash the console is on the usb stick, power the console on and the avatars should restore.
     
  15. rotchild

    rotchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I plugged a Seagate 1TB Hard Drive, and it formatted with the console itself, nice. 926 GB free.

    Can I skip the part with the partition stuff? I mean, is it only for people who want to add a partition for an old xbox 1 emulator, or is it mandatory?

    Because when I insert the usb stick with the dash update (latest = 14719, which is the same dash version that is on my console... and oh, I'm using a RGH hacked M$ dash, by the way) for restoring the avatars, nothing happens. I mean, if I go to "storage" the console sees that the USB stick is inserted, but it's like a regular usb stick with some space occupied by the systrem update. And it's normal, right? I mean, why would the console use the USB stick to make an update to a dash that's already in the console? Sorry, but it doesn't make any sense. How will this restore the avatars that are (probably) present on the old Hard Drive, under "system items" ("marketplace system data", "rights database" and "video bookmark data"), my case, for example...

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  16. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The USB drive with the update on has to be FAT32 formatted, check that.

    Also why not do a proper job? it will take you 5 minutes and your done.

    I think the avatar data is stored on the partition with the Xbox 1 emulator, although off the top of my head i cant be 100% on this.
     
  17. rotchild

    rotchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's fine now... I missed renaming the folder to "$$ystemupdate" :P Sorry about that. The default .rar comes labled "$systemupdate", which won't work on RGH consoles.

    By proper job you mean "installing" the partition for xbox emulator? Well, I probably won't play those games anyway, so why bother?

    No, avatar data is not stored where you mentioned. Here's what I got from a friend in another forum:

     
  18. supermustafa1234

    supermustafa1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an xbox 360 s with 4 gb flash memory that has been RGH'd so instead of putting it in a enclosure, I can just put the hard drive in my 360, right?
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you can, it will be a bit tricky, however it is perfectly possible just to slot the drive in.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. supermustafa1234

    supermustafa1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the update part, When I boot up my 360 with the fat 32usb plugged in and when I get prompted to update, do i press update(will I even get prompted to get updated, because I havent tried yet)
     

Share This Page