Easily update your Jtagged Xbox 360 to Kernel / Dashboard 12611 with FbBuild 0.11

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. Ronny

    Ronny New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks for clearing that up:) Will try out the guide later tonight.
     
  2. mad3d

    mad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didnt knew it was that easy, thanks!
     
  3. fusi0n

    fusi0n New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    offtopic: @topicstarter which theme are you using mate?
     
  4. aabbcc888

    aabbcc888 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I followed your very simple guide and was able to upgrade to 12611 with no issues. However, now my xbox360 cannot detect my external drive (160gb). It is a jtag and everything was working before the upgrade. Please help. I would like to get my xbox to recognize my external hdd again. Thanks.
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Its a custom theme I created, you can download it here: Digiex Theme By InsaneNutter



    So its not detected at all on the dashboard under memory management? (dont configure it for use with the 360 if it is)
     
  6. Snake Eyes

    Snake Eyes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I buyed an xbox 360 slim 4gb with kinect a few days ago... and i saw in internet several feedbacks from people saying that they could play backuped games on their xbox's... can i hack the xbox's without disassembly it or i must disassembly the xbox to hack it... can someone help me ??
     
  7. BigRod989

    BigRod989 Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon, United States
    As far as I know the 360 Slim's can't be flashed as of yet to play burned games and with any 360 you HAVE to disassemble the console to flash the drive.
    There has been a flash made for the slim but it has not been released yet as they said there is still alot of work to do
     
  8. miz012

    miz012 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have problem with SMC with using original nand

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    fbBuild v0.11
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    ******* ERROR: you are using an unhacked smc.bin!
    ******* : you require a JTAG hack SMC to run the exploit!

    Please help
     
  9. Ryann

    Ryann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I am currently trying to update my falcon and I'm experiencing the same problem as this person. Is this because of the way the Jtag was wired? Aud-clamp?

    Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks

     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Are you both using a decrypted SMC.bin?
     
    lahonda_99 likes this.
  11. Ryann

    Ryann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I'm quite a noob when it comes to this sort of thing.

    So far I have backed up my Jtagged nand image with Flash360 as I don't have my original and have used 360 Flash Dump Tool to obtain smc_config.bin, KV.bin and smc.bin

    Hope my info helps
     
  12. garryb

    garryb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    please some one help i flashed my 360 followed the tutorial and now im agetting error e79 please help me i even backed up my old anad while it told me to flash.
     
  13. BigRod989

    BigRod989 Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon, United States
    E79: Dashboard Error - Couldn't start xam.xex: probably a file system corruption, it could also be a problem with the Hard Drive itself or a problem with the internal connection to the hard drive, Try removing the hard drive and playing without it.
    Info from FAQ: Xbox 360 Error Codes Explained - Scenyx Entertainment Community
    could have a newer update on the HDD that's casueing the problem or maybe need to clear the cache of the drive
    Clear Any Failed system updates that cause the console to error.

    1. With the console off, press and hold the sync up button (the small white one)
    2. While holding the sync button press the power button to turn on the console
    3. Continue to hold the sync button until the Console has booted up completely.
    4. During the boot process the console should clear any failed updates, allowing you to use it normally.
     
  14. lahonda_99

    lahonda_99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    InsaneNutter, your tutorial was easy to follow and thorough! Thank you for taking hours to type this up and edit the pictures.
     
  15. apextreme

    apextreme New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    thanks for the tutorial, but i had an insane problem.

    i followed everything just how the tutorial explained.
    I was on xbr 8955 and wanted to update to freeboot so i did this and now my xbox only boots to xellous.

    please help
     
  16. kaiden

    kaiden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the well written and easy to follow guide. it didnt work with my original nand so had to use the 9199 one.
     
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    This happens when you have no DVD drive connected i believe.
     
  18. apextreme

    apextreme New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    indeed, so how can i do it so it starts without the dvd drive. the one i have isnt mine, so when i give it back i wont be able to boot.
    i succefully dumped the nand and used bestpigs toolbox but the program gave me an error when reading the nand.

    please a solution

    P.D: i heard i can sorta put a jumper in the sata port so it disables the dvd drive. is it possible?
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Apparently if you jump pins 6 and 4 on the drives power connector that will work, never done it so I can not say.

    It appears you can also use Jtag Tool to say if the console has a DVD drive or not, maybe try and build your FreeBoot image with that and see if it works?
     
  20. Harcroft

    Harcroft Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I can confirm shorting pin 4 to 6 works fine. Thats how my xenon jtag works. The console works fine with and without the "no dvd drive" switch for freeboot.
     

Share This Page