Upgrade a Jtagged Xbox 360's hard drive, restore the avatars and Xbox 1 emulator

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Cshoe

    Cshoe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not seeing the drive in freestyle or xexmenu

    I'm upgrading to a Seagate 250gig drive in my jtag. I followed the directions and can see the drive in NXE 13599 but it doesn't show up in either freestyle explorer or xexmenu. Any idea why?
     
  2. digiabc

    digiabc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    External Hard Drive

    Hi, great guide.

    I just wanted to know if I can use an external hard drive, I mean without taking it apart, connecting through usb.

    Also, off-topic, I see a lot of people with JTAG xbox 360 with very recent dashboards, is not the JTAG impossible to do if you have a dashboard newer than 2.0.7371.0?
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you can connect an external hard drive via usb, however you will have to use either FreeStyle Dashboard or XEX Menu to load content from it.

    The external drive will not be able to be used for saves, DLC or arcade games though.

    You can hack consoles with recent dashboards using the RGH hack (Reset Glitch Hack).
     
    MMuslim and digiabc like this.
  4. digiabc

    digiabc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Thank you for your quick response.

    I recently found out about RGH and I've been reading a lot. I was just curious, because I have an old Xenon Xbox 360, but I don't know on which dashboard it is on (it has RROD), and was wondering if the JTAG could be done on relatively recent dashboards. Like this user:


     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Xenon Xbox 360's can not be RGH hacked sadly, your only option for Xenon's is the Jtag hack which requires dash 7371 or lower.
     
  6. Intenzitey

    Intenzitey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    howd you get a blue ray disc to work in your 360?
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You can't.

    Even if you hooked a Blu-ray drive up to the 360 it has no software to play Blu-rays and likely even recognise the drive.
     
  8. gizmodo

    gizmodo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new hard drive I would like to install. I used the Xbox a lot a few years ago and just recently did the jtag hack. I would like to backup all my current stuff so I can put it on the new drive. What would the easiest way to do this be? Are there only certain folders/files I need to concern myself with?

    BTW - Thanks to InsaneNutter for all your awesome tutorials. Following those helped me get my 360 jtagged as well as updated to the newest dash. I really appreciate the time you took to write all that info out.
     
  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Basically everything in Content\0000000000000000 is content you have downloaded from live, or games you have installed.

    Anything else in the Content\ folder belongs to each profile you have on your console, or that has been used on your console in the past.

    The most easy thing to do would be just to FTP the entire Content folder to your computer, set the new hard drive up, then FTP everything back to your console.

    Do you know how to FTP files to and from your console?
     
  10. gizmodo

    gizmodo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That seems simple enough. I am assuming FSD has an FTP server built in. I'll give that a shot, thanks. I'll probably just copy everything and call it day.
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yup it should auto start when FSD is loaded, username and pass are "xbox" and it runs on port 21.

    The latest version of FSD also has a samba server so you should be able to browse your jtag from network places in windows if you enable it.
     
  12. idrees786

    idrees786 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi hope everyone had a good xmas just wanted to ask i have a 360 with 60GB internal HDD and wanted to upgrade to 500GB. i've made a dump of my original 60GB HDD and wondering if its safe to restore the original dump onto the new HDD. thanx
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Just extract the content out of the 60gb drive (dont make a .bin dump of it) then you can inject them back in to the new hard drive.
     
  14. idrees786

    idrees786 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi InsaneNutter done the HDD upgrade and injected everything from the old drive to the new drive, but the avatars are not showing up. i've tried to do the correct update via USB, but when i boot the console with the USB (with $$ystemupdate)it boots straight into FSD without asking me to update first. pls help i'm on 13599 and on FSD 2.2 625 dashlaunch 2.27 thanx idrees
     
  15. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The update should be in a folder called $ystemupdate not $$ystemupdate so that could be your problem.

    Also edit your Dashlaunch's launch.ini and add this: noupdater = false

    This will allow you to run system updates, however only run the update for the dashboard you are on, not a newer one.

    Once you have your avatars working it would be a good idea to set noupdater = true again, this will stop you installing system updates by accident.
     
  16. idrees786

    idrees786 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought that u had to change the s in $systemupdate to $$ inorder for FSD to allow u to boot the update.will try noupdater = false. thanx
     
  17. wergild

    wergild New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    non jtagged xbox

    hi i have a regular xbox s 250 gb hard drive and i want to install the backwards comptibility so i can run the orignal xbox games but i dont wanna jtag my xbox is there any way to do that? thankyou
     
  18. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
  19. kaher

    kaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am new to all of this and just my rgh jtagged
    Xbox yesterday .
    Just wonder if it is possible to just move all the
    needed data( avatars , saves, kinect support)
    from the intern hdd to the intern memory card.
    and skip the dash update install?
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You can move your saves in the memory manage, although i would personally not use the internal memory for saves. If anything goes wrong with your hacked console you might loose them.

    As for the avatar data only way to get that on there is to run the official MS system update for the dash you are on with no other storage device connected.
     

Share This Page