Stream Xbox 360 games over a network (SMB) to an Jtag / RGH360 running Freestyle Dash

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Download the version of FSD i linked to in the tutorial above, i was happily streaming at 60mbps with that.
     
  2. nafeasonto

    nafeasonto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    According to the DEV's it will *probably* not be improved basically making the plugin useless:

    h--p://pastebin.com/HtLiyXib

    This makes me extremely disappointed, but it was cool while it lasted.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  3. nafeasonto

    nafeasonto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    That version has a crash bug, and needs to be updated through there site or the auto-updater.
     
  4. whitelancerLW

    whitelancerLW New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a jtag with the latest FSD, but must i have a jtag RGH360 in order to stream games? lastly, can you show me a display of how you have your launch.ini. configured? i am asking becuase don't you have to set the destination of where the two plugins when configuring the launch.ini?
     
  5. xvassor

    xvassor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I can't believe you can use the connectX plugin at 60mbps, you are very lucky guy !


    I did some test yesterday on Windows seven with a 1Gbits Ethernet card & 1Gbits switch
    (same result with a 100mbits switch) with FSD2.2 last version on Forza 2 (this game don’t working on ConX:)

    On the windows task manager I can see an average speed at 10% of the maxi bandwidth.

    The xbox 360 have a 100Mbits Ethernet card but this plugins is not powerful, it’s running around 10mbits => less 2MB/s !!!
    So many games cannot be run correctly with this limitation.

    We need a new one !

    Another Issue, many people cannot use it with some NAS server (perhaps all ?). I am using the Iomega ix2-200 NAS, it’s working well with smb: but not with conX:
    I can see my share folder but all his contain is empty.
    I think It’s not a permission right access Issue but something is not managed correctly with the file attribute something like that.
    it’s why connectX can see the files. (no Issue with Windows seven or XP)

    If somebody success with an IOMEGA NAS server, I will like to know how is possible !

    Thank for your help,
    Regards
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I got 60mbps on an older version of FSD, if you read the above posts its apparently now limited to a much slower speed in the last FSD versions.

    Could try the old version of FSD i used which is linked to in the first post.
     
  7. xvassor

    xvassor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I didn't understand the connectX plugin was working better with the old FSD version.
    I will try with the version you linked to in the tutorial above.

    Just a question did you success to run Forza 2 perfectly with your config ?

    and is it possible to use a NAS with it ? I don't understand why it's working with the Windows filesystem
    and is failling with my IOMEGA NAS.

    Thank for your answer.

    BR
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Can you setup shares with usernames / passwords on your NAS? if so do that and try it.

    As for Forza 2 i couldn't say, i have only tested the two games in the video above.
     
  9. xvassor

    xvassor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    On IOMEGA NAS you need to enable the security first (creat Admin account) for sharing something.
    Creat a share folder and give RO or R/W access to some users or groups.
    With smb: it's working fine, FSD ask me to type login and password on first access but with ConX: only the root share folder is visible, nothing inside :'(

    I tried with the old version like you FSD v2.2 release 625 (for your information there are 3 different release with the same version 625)
    but always same bad result, Forza 2 crash all the time.

    On your snapshot I can see a 1gigabit connection on the task manager, but I think it's not 100% correct.

    You have 1gigabit from your pc to the switch but after the switch you have only 100 mbits, it mean you have 100mbits all the time.
    I did another test, I tried to copy some files with supercopier2 over samba (PC to XBOX Hdd1), the speed rate never exceed 10mbits on the task manager
    with my 100mbit switch.

    It's a pity ! there is really a limitation speed at 2mo/s
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Thats true as the 360 only has a 100mbps connection i can only transfer at a maximum of 100mbps to the 360, however i still have a 1gbps connection to other PC's on my network.

    So if i can use 6% of a 1gbps connection streaming 360 games that would be 60mbps.

    That was my experience streaming to the 360 anyway, i had nothing else using the network on the PC so as far as i know my results are correct.
     
  11. xvassor

    xvassor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did some test on the latest version and with the old version release 695
    but for me I saw no amelioration.
    For Forza 2, the game crash on the video presentation just before to press the start button
    and the old version crash before the video presentation.
    On the task manager the speed transfer seem to be same (the two graphic are identical)
    I hope they will deliver a new hot fix not so late !
     
  12. zzz000mmm

    zzz000mmm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have JTAG Zephyr on 13599
    it keeps saying "ConnectX Plugin Not Loaded."
    is there some news about it?
    thx %)
     
  13. zzz000mmm

    zzz000mmm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ups... dash version is 13146
     
  14. Fiorellino

    Fiorellino New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys! i have this pproblem, when i try to patch connectx! Connectx_patch.xexp is not correct file for connectx.xex
    any idea please?
     
  15. mikelmanson

    mikelmanson New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm having difficulties trying to make my xbox access my shared folder. I can access my folders in other computers and I can even access my xbox from my computer, but i can't make ConX appear.

    I'm using FSD 3.0 Rev735 that already bring ConnectX plugin installed.
    In Settings there is an options called "Plugin Settings", and in there, are 3 options: "Status"; "F3Plugin" and "Connectx". In the Status options I could see the status of FSD Plugin and ConnectX. ConnectX wasn't loaded, so I add to my launch.ini file the line Hdd1:\connectx.xex (don't know why, but my hdd is hdd1), and also add the file for the Connect X Plugin in the root of my hdd. Anyway now the Connext apears as loaded in the status, (and my xbox takes a lot more time to start and load FSD). But still I don't have the folder ConX.

    Another thing is that in my shared folder options, it appears two people: 'Administrators', that have permission level "owner" and my user name that has permission level as "read/write". I have tried both with my user name and Administrators and I can't access m computer shared folder :S.
     
  16. muppet

    muppet Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone please help me out? (sorry for my english i am dutch)

    i try to play xbox games from my NAS
    but it still doesnt work
    my xbox sees the NAS but when ik go in file manager and click on a game to start it FSD crashes and returns me to original dash
    and when i try to add a game path in content settings it simply doesnt allow me to save the folder..

    can someone help me ou here?
     
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Try from a Windows 7 PC to rule out any incompatibilities with your Nas. I did this with what is now a really old version of Freestyle dash, so i couldn't honestly say if it still works in newer versions as its not something i use. It sounds like it could be a FreeStyle bug if it still crashes streaming from a Windows PC, if so i would report it to the FSD team, as you have done the hardest bit getting FSD to connect to a network share.
     
  18. muppet

    muppet Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    first of all big thanx for your reply...

    i can see all the files in my NAS when i am browsing in th XBOX but when i select a game to play it crashes so i think i did it the right way...

    but i realy don't know how to contact the FSD team with my problem.. can you help me out?

    (sory for my bad english i am dutch)
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,519
    Likes Received:
    3,444
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I'm at work, however the FSD website appears to be no more.

    All i can suggest is try the older version of FSD i have posted in this post or try streaming from Windows 7 like i did to try narrow the issue down. It could also just be an issue with the game you are streaming, have you tried Halo Reach as that worked fine for me, just loaded slow.

    Other than that i dont know what to suggest, i created the guide two years ago and its not something i have used since unfortunately.
     
  20. muppet

    muppet Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i use the old fsd i can't play online ;)
     

Share This Page