Easy Nintendo Wii U Homebrew Channel Hack Guide [5.3.2, 5.4, 5.5.1, 5.5.2, 5.5.3, 5.5.4]

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii U Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. justasiam

    justasiam New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, after reading every post in this thread, I can try to fill my cache and just keep trying.

    How do I know that my Wii U even sees my SD card?
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If its FAT32 formatted the Wii U will read it. You'd get an error if the exploit launches but cant read the SD card i believe anyway.
     
  3. SixthGenie

    SixthGenie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, discovered this to see if it was possible to create my own software and was thrilled to see it is possible. But when I visit wiiu.insanenutter.com I'm presented with what looks like a video loading screen, then get error 112-2600. The exploit surely does not lauch. My system is 5.5.1E. Do this mean it is not possible after all ? Is the exploit patched already by Nintendo ?
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It's possible and the exploit is not patched, it's just unreliable.

    Try filling your web browsers cache up a little by browsing some sites, quitting it, loading system settings (this closes the browser correctly and saves the cache) then loading the browser again and trying the exploit.

    If you read through this thread you will see it's not always easy to launch, however i do manage to first or second time since getting it to launch originally.
     
  5. SixthGenie

    SixthGenie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still only get the cancel/reload of the video page. No crashes though. Must have tried several hundred times, including trying to fill the browser cache, restarting console etc.
    Well well, must be really unlucky then. I'll give it a try again later on, thanks for taking time to answer. Cheers.
     
  6. SixthGenie

    SixthGenie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, finally I got it working. Turns out that my Asus router's Vulnerability Protection kicks in if it is active. I'll look through the web to see if there is a way I can host this locally on a computer in the local network.
     
  7. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    That's pretty good your router can detect webkit exploits, unless you can turn it off for a certain device on your network the best way would be to host locally.

    XAMPP is a good easy way to get a server up locally with PHP

    You can get the files used on my mirror via GITHUB, you will need to disable Windows Defender, Unzip them somewhere then add that folder as an exception if hosting locally, otherwise Windows Defender will keep deleting the exploit files. (Presuming you use Windows).

    I'm glad you it all working anyway!
     
  8. shrotty

    shrotty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a bunch, InsaneNutter, on 5.5.1E I could launch Homebrew on take 1, very cool!

    One glitch though, maybe someone has seen this before: I have a european Wii U and try to start Mario Kart (the version for the previous Wii, not Mario Kart 8 for the Wii U) with "Our Loader". The Mario Kart disc is original, but I bought it in the US as I did my old Wii. "Our Loader" starts and presents the text menu "A to launch from disk" etc. When hitting A, however, the Mii Editor is launched. Too bad, I'd have loved to give the ole races a spin :-)
     
  9. TakashiCanidae

    TakashiCanidae New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! Thanks so much for posting this tutorial. I found it helpful, but I've run into an issue. I followed your steps to a T, and after launching wiiu.insanenutter.com/, I'm greeted with an error code of 112-1006. I'm not sure what's happened, if anything at all. I checked my DNS address on my connection, and its Primary is "107.221.140.065", whereas the Secondary is "000.000.000.000". My SD Card is formatted with FAT32 and has the starter pack you provided as well. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Our Loader is only for Wii U games, for region free Wii gaming you need to hack the Wii U's Virtual Wii.

    If you used TubeHax to block updates - Block Nintendo Wii U Updates Easily With Alternate DNS Server [TubeHax DNS] the DNS server is currently down, which is the issue, your Wii U does not know the IP address of wiiu.insanenutter.com so cant load the page.

    If at all possible block the following host names on your home router:

    nus.cdn.c.shop.nintendowifi.net
    nus.cdn.shop.wii.com
    nus.cdn.wup.shop.nintendo.net
    nus.wup.shop.nintendo.net
    nus.c.shop.nintendowifi.net
    c.shop.nintendowifi.net
    cbvc.nintendo.net
    cbvc.cdn.nintendo.net

    Then you can use your normal ISP's DNS server which will allow the web browser to work fine, however block updates from Nintendo's server.

    I'd imagine the Tubehax DNS server will soon be back up however.
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The TubeHax DNS server (107.211.140.065) is no longer working, however the Chncdcksn Hax dns server: 104.236.072.203 is. So change your primary DNS server to 104.236.072.203 if you have previously followed my tutorial to block updates and can now no longer access the internet.
     
  12. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It's now possible to permanently install the Homebrew Launcher to the Wii U's Home Screen, now you have a working Homebrew entry point you can now follow this tutorial Wii U Permanent Homebrew Channel / Launcher Install - the end result been you no longer have to launch Homebrew from the Wii U's web browser. The added benefit is the boot rate is 100% successful every time.
     
  13. killerfurzeYT

    killerfurzeYT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try and go to the website it just says
    Error Code: 112-1006 Could not display page.
    It's been doing this for a good 3 hours now. is there any thing I could do to try and fix this
     
  14. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If your blocking updates using a DNS server, what DNS server are you using?
     
  15. greedyfish

    greedyfish New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,
    All worked great, however downloaded snes9x and there is no sound on Wii U or TV - sound is present for all other apps and Wii U. Any ideas?! Thanks, everything else perfect :-)
     
  16. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I think the snes9x port is still in the early stages of been developed, it was only released a few days ago. I'd imagine it will be improved very soon.
     
  17. dpintats

    dpintats New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. Kakeen

    Kakeen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings insanenutter, great tutorial you have here, when it comes to this kind of stuff I'm pretty good at following directions, I know you mentioned to keep trying if the wii u freezes but my question was when it freezes on the black screen if says "SDMount Failed" does that mean the SD isn't being recognized or should I keep trying?

    I already formatted the SD card numerous times using various programs including your method of using fat32format but I keep getting this message. I even tried using a different SD card using the same process but this time it gave me the "FSOpen File failed". It seems to me that message is getting me closer but I'm not sure.

    The 1st card I was using was a SanDisk Ultra 80 MB/s SD HC 32 gig. This is the one that keeps giving me the "SDMount Failed" message.
    The 2nd card was a Sony micro SD adapter with a Sony 32 gig micro sd hc card. 40MB/s. This one gave me the :FSOpenFile Failed" message.

    I've even made sure to check that all the files are in the right spot and they are. Also both cards I've formatted using your method.

    So what are your thoughts? Thanks for your time.
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I've only ever personally seen the SDMount Failed error when i forgot to put the SD Card back in the Wii U, I presume the SD Card works? maybe try cleaning the contacts on it.

    FSOpenFile Failed would suggest it's reading the SD card, but not the file system on it. You dont have any other partitions on the SD card do you?
     
  20. Kakeen

    Kakeen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it works, one change I made was changing it from logical to primary and I didn't get the sdmount failed message anymore, now I'm getting the latter which is fsopenfile failed.

    I do not. There's only one partition.

    I got 128 gig card now so hopefully I have better luck.

    Just to be sure here's what's inside the card. Untitled.jpg

    Ok I got it to work, my mistake was I had to make a "wiiu" folder in the root and place all the files in that.
     

Share This Page