1. Welcome to the Digiex Download Center, you are welcome to download anything you like here, no registration is required! We offer direct download links with no captchas or wait times.
    We do our best to ensure no content infringes copyrights, and provide a DMCA Takedown Request Form to request the removal of content from Digiex

Digiex Exclusive: Premade Windows 98 Virtual Machine for use with older games

Discussion in 'Applications' started by Assassin, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Virtual PC is actually pretty old and has not been updated for 6-7 years, it was never that good when it came to graphics unfortunately.

    VmWare Player (Free) is actually pretty good when it comes to graphics in Virtual PC's: Virtual Machines & Multiple Operating Systems: VMware Player Pro | VMware United Kingdom however i think support for Windows 98 has been dropped in newer versions. It is pretty capable of playing most Direct X9 and earlier games pretty well (Providing your PC has a good processor) so that might be something to have a look in to.
     
    NovaScotiaHFX likes this.
  2. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Hello InsaneNutter,

    Thanks for the tip! I'm downloading VMWare Player right now, then I'll try to install the W98 virtual OS on that.

    I'm downloading an older version, because you said the newer ones don't have W98 support.

    - NovaScotiaHFX
     
  3. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Hello InsaneNutter,

    VMWare Player doesn't seem to work on my 55 GB W7 computer (it was originally a Windows XP computer before upgrading to W7).

    Could my computer's CPU have something to do with this?

    I have another W7 computer that has 230 GB hard drive space and a faster CPU, so maybe it'll load on that?

    - NovaScotiaHFX
     
  4. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Creatures 2 on Windows 7 at last!

    Hello,

    Just got Creatures 2 on Windows 7!

    It took a LOT of trial and error, but now it's finally running!

    I'll keep your virtual Windows 98, because there's another game I want to get that'll only run on that OS.

    Thanks for giving me nostalgia from my early computing days!

    - NovaScotiaHFX
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Glad you managed to get it working, sometimes the older games are the most fun! I find myself randomly playing Theme Park and Theme Hospital, still loads of fun all these years later.
     
    NovaScotiaHFX likes this.
  6. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Thanks!

    I was so excited to play Creatures 2 again after many years of it sleeping in my PC game collection.

    The only problem is the hand (the pointer in the game) flickers as I move it around the world, which can make clicking on things a bit hard, and opening certain applets crashes the game.

    But other than that, it's all working fine :)
     
  7. Supertech13

    Supertech13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    For Windows 98 virtual pc

    I get a message saying "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device".
    What do I do?
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Have you mounted the Virtual Hard drive in your Virtual PC's settings? It sounds like you either have a blank hard drive or do not have one attached to the Virtual PC.
     
  9. RansynBloodway

    RansynBloodway New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Game Playing in 16 Colors Instead of 256

    Hey guys,

    Installed this today and works like a dream. The only issue I have is when I'm trying to play Warhammer - Shadow of the Horned Rat, I've set the display properties to 256 colours which is required by the game. The game does load up fine, however it is playing in 16 colours. Any ideas on why this could be?
     
  10. guysisdisavirus

    guysisdisavirus New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this thing real? I need to knooooow
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes, virtual machines are not some mystical thing ;) This website for example is hosted in a virtual machine!
     
  12. stevethetechgeek

    stevethetechgeek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help!!!!

    i keep getting pci standard pci to pci bridge
    on the add new hardware wizard
    Untitled.png
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    This VM was for Microsoft's Virtual PC 2007, from the screenshot I see your using it on VmWare. You would need to install the guest additions for Windows 98, the problem you have is modern versions of VmWare do not support Windows 98.
     
  14. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Hi everyone! I've been using my Windows 98 virtual machine for the past few months, and I have to say I'm really getting nostalgia from being able to play all my old PC games again after so many years. I have hosted it on my Windows XP desktop computer, so if I want to play a game which won't work under XP, I just boot up 98 and load the game I want. I also managed to get hold of an ISO of Microsoft Office 97 (as I think that's the version of Office that 98 came with) so I could create Word documents and PowerPoint presentations on 98. I sort of use it as a backup machine on my XP desktop, as I can move and copy files between the two OSs.

    - NovaScotiaHFX
     
    InsaneNutter likes this.
  15. Szilveszter21

    Szilveszter21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    well I am glad and just grabbed this stuff, however see a lot of comments people are not really familiar with virtualization, indeed to have a prebuilt stuff is great, but would not contain the integration into your system, this is something that you need to solve it, adding a loop device, or create shared memory/disk passthough USB etc. The prebuilt image will ensure that the configuration of devices and windows installation are done and okay, this is mainly where you would get struggled, as Win95 and 98 has drivers for everything and I remember how many hours I spent even i had all the CDs in place to install everything again and again. Came here to play some games not via dosbox (main reason surface and some games which would run in win95/98 in 640x480 resolution , however msdos mode is just 320x240 :) what I was experiencing is master of orion 2, even made a lot of changes and orion95 was working, the screen frozen, did not update literally you had to click blindly, so there is no better alternative, especially on a 64bit system way one dosbox.... which only for msdos (eg master of magic,doom,warcraft,dune), but for the midle time between msdos and winxp a couple years spent, and there is not other solution just virtualization, so if it works well for me.
     
    Gunz4Hire likes this.

Share This Page