1. Welcome to the Digiex Download Center, you are welcome to download anything you like here, no registration is required! We offer direct download links with no captchas or wait times.
    We do our best to ensure no content infringes copyrights, and provide a DMCA Takedown Request Form to request the removal of content from Digiex

Digiex Exclusive: Premade Windows 98 Virtual Machine for use with older games

Discussion in 'Applications' started by Assassin, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    share.png

    You need to enable file sharing, that should auto share C:\Users\Public which the Virtual Machine should be able to access.
     
  2. dcdrac

    dcdrac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, got all that on no change.
     
  3. dcdrac

    dcdrac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    same for win 95 god that was weird seeing that again, cant find any Win 3X images yet
     
  4. RUNDLC

    RUNDLC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Newbie here!! Dear InsaneNutter, please forgive my ignorance in advance! I found this by chance and my knees are weak beacuse I need something like this in a desperate way! My issues, I need to run windows 98 in order to use some cad software that I just can't seem to let go of, I like being in the stone age from the point of it works for me and I really don't see a need to change just yet.

    I have a dell latitude laptop that we just loaded windows 98 onto, but I can't get anything to work (drivers for dell) So my cad screen is well crappy because I can't adjust it.

    I don't do games at all so I really just need to make sure I can, delete windows 98 install XP and then do install of VM98, I want to then be able to run my cad program through VM98 but be able to either save drawings to VM files, or copy to a memory stick. In your professional opinion am I going to be able to do this?

    ANY input is appreciated. I really need to find a way to make this happen, my livelihood depends on it right now.

    TIA
     
  5. Dinis Magalhães Oliveira

    Dinis Magalhães Oliveira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use this image to play Scattergories but sometimes the sound doesn't work.
     
  6. Dinis Magalhães Oliveira

    Dinis Magalhães Oliveira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you post premade Windows 98 for other virtualization programs or emulators?
     
  7. street9009

    street9009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to get an old Carmen Sandiego game to play and I'm getting an gfxInit error 10802. The version of DirectX and QT from the CD are both installed.
     
  8. wcdeich4

    wcdeich4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure!!! The more options people have the better!!!!
     
  9. wcdeich4

    wcdeich4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the Virtual PC, but when I tried to run Windows 98.vmc, I got the error, "The virtual machine "Windows 98" can't be started because it is being used by another program, or marked as read-only." -- although I used Unlocker to release any lock & it is not marked as read-only --- but I still got the same error again.
     
  10. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Re start your PC and you should be good to go
     
  11. street9009

    street9009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  12. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I dont think Virtual PC emulates a good enough graphics card to play the game. You could try using Vmware Player, however i dont think if that will be any different.
     
  13. sgarza_012085

    sgarza_012085 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there InsaneNutter. I just downloaded the Windows 98 Virtual Machine you provided and it works like a dream. I do have one question for you concerning the sound on it. I'm trying to play a game that sounded awesome when I played it back on my Windows 98 pc and I was wondering how I could restore the sound to the way it was back then if possible. The sound comes out a bit muffled like and would like to get this fixed.

    Thanks for your support.
     
    NovaScotiaHFX likes this.
  14. paddingtonbear

    paddingtonbear New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    46d6898319519b937a40d91a30838c77.jpg I need help why does this happen. I remember i played this game back in 2007 or something with W Mellenium Pro edition and 512mb ram and nvidia 6600. But the game refusing to work i have 2 different packs of this game because i first thought the CD was broke but then i bought another copy from a friend who didnt use his more than once. Still the same thing

    Any solutions or help?
     
  15. paddingtonbear

    paddingtonbear New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Maybe make an ISO of the game and mount that in the virtual machines cd rom drive (presuming you haven't already)
     
  17. berry

    berry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the image. I've been using it in Win7 for a few years now, but am running into an issue with Win8.1 (non-pro).
    Since VPC2007 doesn't work on 8 (thanks MS ..) I installed Virtualbox. It recognizes the image, but gives all kind of driver errors when starting up.
    Most annoying is the standard VGA driver (limited to 640x480 16bit) while the VPC on Win7 has the VM additions S3 as default.

    Hardware: Pentium 3550M, 4GB RAM
    Can anyone help me out in getting the image to play nice with Virtualbox?
     
  18. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you install the Virtual Box additions it should hopefully pick the new hardware up. Usually swapping hard drives to different PC's, or in this case Virtual Machines doesn't have good results however.
     
  19. berry

    berry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I figured. For now I've got another image working in Virtualbox but it's graphics visualization is not as good as in VPC. Seems to be a known Virtualbox issue with Win98 unfortunately. Let's hope someone finds a way to run VPC in Win8.....
     
  20. NovaScotiaHFX

    NovaScotiaHFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Hello InsaneNutter,

    I discovered your W98 virtual OS when I was searching around the Net for how to run Creatures 2 on Windows 7.

    I've now got it all up and running, and installed the program via the virtual machine,

    However, I've run into a problem.

    When I try to launch Creatures 2, the virtual OS freezes up. I've reset it like 10 times, but it does this every time.

    I tried allocating more RAM to the virtual OS because I thought it was something to do with this, but it still freezes when I try to start it up.

    What could be wrong with my virtual OS? Is it the RAM, like I suspected, or is it just too graphically advanced for W98?

    Thanks for any help in advance, and thanks for also giving me a piece of my computing past back!

    - NovaScotiaHFX
     

Share This Page