1. Welcome to the Digiex Download Center, you are welcome to download anything you like here, no registration is required! We offer direct download links with no captchas or wait times.
    We do our best to ensure no content infringes copyrights, and provide a DMCA Takedown Request Form to request the removal of content from Digiex

Digiex Exclusive: Premade Windows 98 Virtual Machine for use with older games

Discussion in 'Applications' started by Assassin, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Likes Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  2. emeraldfox

    emeraldfox New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I've been looking all over for one of these, thanks for posting it!

    I have an issue though. I got this to play an old game I have on CD. It mounted fine, and when I went to double click the Setup.exe, it gave me an error: "Setup.exe is not a valid Win32 application".

    I have Vista 64bit, and I had tried installing the game on there first, but it didn't like any of the compatibility modes. =(

    This game used to work perfectly for me on Windows 2000 and ME, despite being from 1995, so I have no idea what's up. Any advice?
     
  3. TrevorP

    TrevorP New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the upload i am using Vmware!

    Witch Display driver did you use in your VM i have only been able to get 2-3mb of vram i want atleast 4 mb
     
  4. andrul

    andrul New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate this but the 64 bit version isn't unpacking. I get the following error:
    Extracting Windows 98.vmc OK
    Extracting Windows 98 Hard Disk.vhd Error: CRC mismatch in file "Windows 98 Hard Disk.vhd" in the archive "C:\Downloads\VM\win98.rar"

    When unpacking setup64.rar I get the message:
    Extracting setup64.exe Error: CRC mismatch in file "setup64.exe" in the archive "C:\Downloads\VM\setup64.rar"
    But it appears to have unpacked successfully, however when I try to run the executable I get an error message that it's a 16-bit program which is incompatible with the 64-bit OS.

    I'm running Windows 7 Home 64 bit and extracting using Winzip 14.0 Pro.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated as my only alternative is to try to find a functional disk with Win98 and trying to revive my old pentium pro.
     
  5. lolitsflip

    lolitsflip New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I got this VHD to work on Virtual PC, but with a small problem. Whenever I try to type a certain few keys, they come up as other random numbers and such. Those keys being "i, j, k, l, m, o, p, and u". Any way to fix this?
     
  6. Jonathan

    Jonathan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with the CD-ROM...

    @lolitsflip: That just sounds like you have your Num Lock on...are you using a laptop where all those keys have backup number functions when Num Lock is activated?

    I am having a problem getting my physical CD drive to mesh with the virtual one. I installed Lego Creator just fine by "Use Physical Drive E:" but now when I try to run the program (with the disc in the drive, detected as Creator (D:) in the virtual My Computer) it says that the disc is not in the drive. Any thoughts on silly things I am overlooking?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Camille Linot

    Camille Linot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you an answer to your problem? I have the same problem
     
  8. JohnnyNight

    JohnnyNight New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    First time here

    Was wondering if by installing Windows 98 Virtual, there is any way to get a screen resolution of 640 x 480 if your computer doesn't go that low.

    Trying to get a full screen on an older game that needs 640 x 480.

    I guess I'm kind of doubting it, but wondered if there is any way to get an older game to go full screen if it needs 640 x 480.

    Thanks
     
  9. ranma8

    ranma8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks for making this! However, I have a problem with it. When installing the Virtual PC, a message comes up saying that it's not compatible with my PC and to check the help section. Regardless, I tried installing everything and it works. Everything works fine, except that the games I boot now have really fuzzy sound. It sounds like half the music file is missing when I play games on the virtual windows 98... I checked the help file, but saw nothing. I am running Windows XP. Can you help?
     
  10. Jareth43

    Jareth43 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Thanks for the set up intsructions.

    My issue is that when i press start a pop up window appears saying that the virtual disk could no be located and that i need to specify a new virtual hard disk.


    I followed all of your instruction up to this point and everthing seems to have worked okay.

    Can you help?
     
  11. Darknightkc

    Darknightkc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem as Jareth43. Won't start Windows 98 Virtual PC. When I installed I was installing Virtual PC 2007 a pop-up window came up saying that my OS was not compatible, but everything seemed to install fine. I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium
     
  12. Denizen

    Denizen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey I saw in an early post you showing how to change the ram allocation for the VM on windows 98, although for me the bar is greyed out as well as the field imput. I'm running it as an administrator (i think) so I don't know why I cannot change this. I definitely need to increase it though, as it keeps crashing when I open up any major applications. Any advise would be appreciated...
     
  13. Denizen

    Denizen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Btw, I should probably say thanks for the great download worked easy peasy mac 'n cheesy, and has saved me a lot of time getting it all organized myself, not to mention saved me the trouble of finding a bazillion patches, and updates nonsuch for old games in the longrun of not having a VM (and eliminated my need for dosbox almost entirely) Thanks again ^_^
     
  14. DreC32

    DreC32 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Error with the Win98.rar

    When I try to extract the file I get a error that says:

    CRC failed in Windows 98 Hard disk.vhd the file is corrupt

    Anyone else run into this issue or know how to fix it?
     
  15. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Likes Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Re download the file, it likely did not finish downloading 100% or got corrupted doing so.
     
  16. LordDaMan

    LordDaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    31
    Some old games used a 16bit installer that will simply not work under 64 bit version of windows
     
  17. DreC32

    DreC32 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Master Of Orion

    I got the VM up and running and the reason for doing this was to play Master of Orion. However after put the files for the game in the proper directory which should replace the install step I believe . . . when I try to run the game it just freezes up the VM and I have to reset it. I got it working last night but now no dice. I tired to bring it up in dosbox but now bringing up dosbox seems to crash the vm. I tired clicking on the exe file from in windows and tried to key it in from dos and I get the same result. When I try to f8 the start up and go straight to a command prompt and start it from there I get an error saying you need 1024k of expanded memory. I tired to adjust the memory of the vm as shown above but I don't have enough ram available for the vm.

    Any helpful thoughts and solutions would be much appreciated.
     
  18. sph95

    sph95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    helppp!!!
    i've just installed this brilliant creation after trying to play silver on my xp for days, downloading all sorts of stuff, and the game runs fine in the virtual pc but the mouse calibration's completely off so you can't click on anything! I think it might be to do with live resolution switching being disabled, is there a workaround for this? I can't find anything anywhere.
    Thank you so much
     
  19. asro

    asro New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, i just made an account for this, all because i need to get d3d working on win98SE for your virtual machine, i can get it to work thus far, however, i cant click on options(have to do some click-enter combo...bit wierd) and when i start an actual mission and its on the loading screen, it says "cannot load d3d" or something...sorry if im not specific, oh i almost forgot, i am currently running this on windows XP proffessional, however, states it is not compatible with my system, and is only compatible with 2000 and XP pro(makes no sense, right?)
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2011
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Likes Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Virtual PC does not really emulate a very powerful graphics card, thats likely why it doesn't work.

    VM Ware apparently has much better 3d acceleration performance, that might be something to try: 3D acceleration in virtual machines - Part 1: VMware & DirectX - Tutorial
     
    NovaScotiaHFX likes this.

Share This Page