Easily update your Jtagged or RGH Xbox 360 to Kernel / Dashboard 14699 with XeBuild

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. acad222

    acad222 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    if the jtag console not have xell or xellous in its nand can use this
    tut. to update it or i must update it with lpt only
    can i add xell to its nand
    please help me i very confused with this thing
     
  2. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,468
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Are you trying to recover from a bad update? what can you actually do with your console at the moment?

    If you can still boot in to an older dashboard just use Nandflasher 360 as instructed in the tutorial, and you should be able to update perfectly fine.

    However if you can not boot xell or an older version of freeboot then you must flash with LTP or a USB nand flasher.
     
  3. acad222

    acad222 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    i now in 12611 dash and i can boot from it nice
    but my jtag not boot the xell(don have xell on nand) i ask
    if that influence if i update it
    i obtained my cpu key by another way
    in other hand the xell used for geting cpu key or used also in updating jtag
    thank thank for replay
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,468
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You probably do have Xell, it will not work if the 360 is connected to the TV with a HDMI cable, you need to use the VGA or component cable.

    If you have the CPU key just follow this tutorial.
     
  5. acad222

    acad222 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for reply
    i do not use HDMI cable i use component cable but no xell appear in the boot
    that not important but i the it can i update if my current freeboot do not contain xell
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,468
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    You boot Xell by powering the 360 on with the eject button just so you know.
     
  7. acad222

    acad222 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use the eject button to powering my console and using component cable but no xell appear in booting
    now can update if my nand not contain xell
    thank you
     
  8. robsonz

    robsonz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personal beauty need help, I'm trying to update my dash and the new hack tb.
    I had my Nand nor Cpukey to and I could get the key booting Xell pressing the eject button and pick up the nand NAND Flasher 360, only when the NAND extract the name of my xbox appeared Unknown and had two bad blocks.
    What should I do qdo the model does not appear on my xbox, which in this case is slim.
    nand flasher.jpg
     
  9. darklord1488

    darklord1488 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    xbox deleted my update?

    hey guys, ive got a rather strange issue here on my hands:

    ive updated to 14699 a week or two ago, everything worked perfect etc.

    today i signed on, no avatars, backgrounds, nothing?

    kinect is no longer working and i'm very confused, its like something has deleted the update (i dont mess with system files, let alone delete anything, so not too sure here...)

    i DID add a theme for freestyle dash, but i highly doubt that was the culprit.

    even when i loaded freestyle dash, all my settings were changed back to the default theme

    also i put the 14699 update folder back on my usb drive, and its not loading or telling me to upgrade?

    anyone else seen this? please help thanks
     
  10. Johnathan Pierce

    Johnathan Pierce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing happened to me. I have no idea what to do now. It wont show up for an update for me. I didn't install anything.

    My HDD is FAT and I do have a JTAG
     
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,468
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you have Dashlaunch installed add noupdater = false to your launch.ini file and it will allow system updates to run, that's likely the problem.
     
  12. Octavian Mihailescu

    Octavian Mihailescu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BucureÅŸti, Romania
    Hi, I have attempted to update my console using this tut, everything seemed fine (followed all the steps and operations were successful), but now when I power up the console i wont boot in neither dash nor Xell (the green turns on but it wont go any further). My console is a phat elite with falcon processor modded with RGH.

    Any help would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  13. n3mur1t0r

    n3mur1t0r New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything is alright, NAND Flasher 360 doesn't know about slims yet, however it works just fine with them. As for the bad blocks, they get remapped when you dump the nand, so you shouldn't worry. Just follow the tutuorial and you'll be ok.

    EDIT: also, even you have a nand dump with bad blocks, xeBuild remaps them also, so there is really nothing to worry about.
     
  14. 1manshow

    1manshow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. Successfully upgraded my RGH Jtag Trinity (Slim) to latest dash 14699 today!
     
  15. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avatars and iXtreme LT

    First off, excellent article. I was on 8955 before and needed to update. I thought it'd be painful but honestly, it went real smooth. I do have a question though. It was mentioned in the article that in order to get the avatars, one should first update to the new nand by following the directions and after doing so, download and run the official update so it will add the avatars. My question is once we finish updating the new NAND and are ready to run the official update, will the official update cause any issues with iXtreme LT+? For instance, will the 360 try to contact Microsoft to get my console banned or will it replace the iXtreme firmware? Thanks and again, excellent tutorial!

    EDIT:
    Well, I decided to try it and our discs still play so it doesn't do anything with the iXtreme firmware however, I cannot say whether or not it tries to contact Microsoft. I don't have it hooked up to the internet. If I were to guess, I'd say you'd be safe. That's just a guess though. {:-)
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  16. Ranto1

    Ranto1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue! I followed every step and all operations were successful and verified ok but after i plugged it back in it will not boot in any dashboard. Xell still works using the eject button, but that's about it. Please help me, how do i fix this? I have a Falcon v3 with RGH.

    EDIT: I have restored the Nand i extracted to do the update through Xell but the console still will not boot to any dashboard, not even the xbox icon is showing up when i turn it on. Can anyone help?
     
  17. reinko24

    reinko24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is an issue for the RGH consoles...And that is a wrong of the quide we never NEVER take a nand image with nandflasher360 because we need the original dump nand from the first time we put the freeboot
    in other way the console will not open or get E71
    The only way to recover is to put again a new Dash-freeboot...Don't worry the console it will recover but it need reprogramming
     
  18. phenomenal1uk

    phenomenal1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, I followed your tut on how to update to 14699 and was successful. Thanks But when i installed dashlaunch it did not work i used my old ini, then i created a new one and also tried the sample but dashlaunch does not work. How do I fix it? I have also tried the xe build folder given in the dashlaunch download. All directories on the ini is also correct. please reply soon.
     
  19. ear77

    ear77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some help first off I'm new to this so please bear with me. ok here whats going on I'm have a hard time getting the Nand to dump on to the USB stick on about step 3. from the pictures shown when i push Dump Nand / Flash it should automatically down load the original Nand to the USB but it dose not do this. it takes me to the menu that says Hdd1, USB0, ect.. Im not sure what to do with this any help would be very much appreciated.
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,468
    Likes Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Just select USB0 and you can save the nand to the USB memory stick.
     

Share This Page