Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. danny25

    danny25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flashed my hard dirve WD Scorpio Black 250 BEKT it said firmware flashed successfully but my xbox 360 don't recognize it when i try to format it . Why ? Can someone help me with this .
    Thank you.
     
  2. Bibble

    Bibble New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly, thank you for the tutorial. After many problems and about 7 hours of frustration I finally got my WD Scorpio Black BEKT working.

    For anyone who got the "HDDSS.BIN is not present" message when trying to flash the hard drive, make sure your HDDSS.BIN file is named correctly on your flash drive. In windows explorer go to Tools > Folder Options > View and uncheck Hide extensions for known file types. If you see the file named as HDDSS.BIN.bin then you can see the problem. Right click on the file and go to Properties and name the file HDDSS.BIN and after that it should work. To double check you've done this right you can go back to folder options and check off Hide extensions again and then the file should appear as just HDDSS.

    Anyway, that's what worked for me in Windows XP. If you are getting stuck at this step it's worth a try.

    Other issues I experienced included 1) not having an extra SATA cable 2) not knowing the administrator password on the computer I was using 3) something else I forget haha. Anyway it's all sorted out now so cheers.
     
  3. jotaoliveira

    jotaoliveira New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody.
    I'm new here, from Brazil.
    I own a x360 with 20gb original.

    I want to change for a 250gb, and i saw many people talking abou the wd2500bevt.

    I already know that it works ok for the 250gb. What i want to know is:

    Anybody already make it with a wd2500bevs model (note the S at the end).
    My friend has one and i want to know if works, cause if I will buy it from him.

    thkz for the answers.
     
  4. danny25

    danny25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem fix if you flash the hard drive and the xbox don't recognize it you should change the port i try 4 or 5 until i got one that works or you could try to flash it on another PC.
    Hope that this will help the people with the same problem .
    Thank you very much for this tutorial.
     
  5. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    3,335
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Not done one myself, however as a friend owns the drive can you not just try it then buy it off him if it works? if it doesn't work the drive will still function as normal. It should be fine though as the drive is on the compatible list.
     
  6. eXcali

    eXcali New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it possible to reapply previous patches to your system? I'm still having issues with "disc unreadable" while the hdd is connected.
     
  7. confusedpc

    confusedpc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    250 gig hd that is made in 2010

    ok got this to format the drive but xbox360 didn't not recognize it

    so i have 2 questions,
    1) i heard that bin file for the 250 is based on 2009 hd
    is this true, if true is the a place to down load 2010 bin

    2) i do not have a hard drive on the unit is there a way to
    create the partitions 0,2 etc. also 1 draw back i don't run windows
    just ubuntu on all machines. i can format the drives that is no problem
    can i use gpartd to create the partitions

    thanks for your time and patience
    ^o)
     
  8. iqbalbcs

    iqbalbcs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    1st of all thanks alot man for sharing all this stuff.

    2ndly i need a little help in flashing HDD 250GB of WD2500BEVT. When i run the HDDHACKR.EXE the below info comes on screen (1.jpg) and after giving HDDSS.BIN and Undo.BIN files it prompt for flashing and create partitions (see 2.jpg).

    Please help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      91.1 KB
      Views:
      2,089
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      90.9 KB
      Views:
      1,915
  9. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    3,335
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The bin file works on drives manufactured in 2009 and 2010, hddhackr will also create / format the partitions. Do not use gpartd on it.

    If you have messed about with the drive in Linux you could have done something the Xbox 360 didn't like, hack the drive again and ensure any settings such as AHCI are switched off in your Bios.

    I have limited Linux knowledge so can not really help you with any Linux related issues.

    Is AHCI disabled? On some motherboards this can also be called legacy or enhanced, if you are presented with this you want to set it to legacy.

    If you have done that some people have had success with using a different sata port.
     
  10. Fuzzygod

    Fuzzygod New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi can i Use a WD 250 Gig Blue scorpio WD2500BPVT on my Xbox 360?
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  11. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    3,335
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    That model number for the drive doesn't exist, typed it wrong? if you mean the BEVT model then yes.
     
  12. Fuzzygod

    Fuzzygod New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    no its BPVT
    here is more info
    MDL : WD2500BPVT- 00ZESTO
    DATE 03 JUN 2010 LBA 488397168
    DCM HEBVJHBB DCX AZ01E5TS7 R/N 771672
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    3,335
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Ah you had a 0 missing from the model number, thats probably why I couldn't find it.

    Honestly don't know about that, its not on the hddhackr comparability list. I guess some one will have to try it and see.

    I would try and get a BEVS or BEVT drive if possible to ensure the drive is compatible.
     
  14. Fuzzygod

    Fuzzygod New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok then so i bought a hard drive for my laptop now insted of the xbox lol either way im good thanks
     
  15. mcwarner

    mcwarner New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    pls pls pls help me, i have been tearing my hair out and stressing about this all week now. I have followed the guide to the letter as well as other guides on the net, can boot from usb stick, when i type in hddhackr i get the "no ata device" message coming up, i have read that maybe the hddhackr isnt looking at the right port, but not being overly dos literate im stuggeling with the manual flashing of my hdd, its a wd blue scorpio drive which i have read on here is fine, i have looked at my bios settings and there is nowhere there with the legacy / enhanced mode ect

    Im desperate to get past this FIRST stage of hacking the hdd so any help with be so appreciated you wont understand hahaha
     
  16. eXcali

    eXcali New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    mcwarner: If your board doesn't have legacy support you will need to use a different computer.
     
    mcwarner likes this.
  17. mcwarner

    mcwarner New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thankyou for reply, i feared this would be the case :(
     
  18. mcwarner

    mcwarner New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    quick update, used different pc and all has worked well, when i placed new hacked hdd into xbox it didnt ask me to format it and was recognised as a normal xbox hdd, do i still need to format anyway or is it fine?
     
  19. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    I would advise formatting it on the 360, just to be sure its a nice clean format.
     
  20. AcexDestroyer

    AcexDestroyer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problems with Updates and not loading certain items.

    I followed this exactly as stated in the first post and everything worked fine the first time I tried it. This is model number WD2500BEVT. I figured I'd be safest using the exact one used in the tutorial. Anyway, Recently I've been having problems with updating games with this HDD in my Xbox 360 (No problems what so ever on my old legit 20gb HDD from Microsoft doing updates or anything else for that matter) Some times it wouldn't load content, or wont display my friends list right on Xbox Live, players content wouldn't load up (Gamer pic, motto, bio, current game being played) I linked that to wireless interference but ever since I decided to put my 250gb HDD back in, it did it again, only once so far. Updates just hang, either right at the beginning or somewhere in between, mostly at the start. I did use Xplorer 360 to dump the data from my 20gb HDD to my computer on to the 250gb HDD which i think caused a lot of my problems. And gamesaves problems as well. More on that later. I decided to switch back to my 20gb HDD after problems with the 250gb HDD. I had already formatted my 20gb HDD so I used a Data Transfer cable i received from a buddy this time instead of dumping it on the computer, and had no problem updating but still had my gamesave problems.

    Could anyone help me or point me to a post about this kind of problem? I dont have time to look through 33 pages of posts...

    Also about the gamesaves, I seen the tutorial about gamesave fixes, but is Rock Band 2 on that list? I can't load or save anything for Rock Band 2 :( Luckily all my DLC is still there :)

    Ill check back daily.
     

Share This Page