Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I think Rock Band 2 does have problems.

    An easy fix would be to connect the old 20gig hard drive to the Xbox 360, copy your saves to a USB drive which has been formatted in the memory management section of the 360.

    Now re connect the new hard drive to the 360 and copy the saves back from USB drive to the hard drive.

    Some newer games have protection to stop people swapping saves to cheat there gamerscore and stuff like that.
     
  2. AcexDestroyer

    AcexDestroyer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing is though, I don't have the original data from my 20gb. Its just the dump from Xplorer 360 so essentially its the same thing as my 250gb. Just for some reason updates don't work on my 250gb but work fine with the dump from my computer I put on the 20gb. Weird.

    EDIT: It allowed me to update my game today but It wouldn't let me last night. Not sure whats going on.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  3. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway to get explorer 360 to work in ubuntu with usb support? want to add xbox 1 emulator but can't have both harddrives connected without buying another hd chasis for my laptop
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Maybe install USB support for Wine and try it? USB - The Official Wine Wiki

    Honestly couldn't say as i'm not really a Linux user, A Virtual Machine with USB support might work.
     
  5. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    does xplorer360 work with usb?
     
  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It will work with an Xbox 360 hard drive connected to the computer with the USB data transfer kit, it will not however work with a USB flash drive.

    You want Xtaf v32 Beta 2 for USB drives.
     
  7. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    so that will let me back up partition 2 from a 20gb harddrive that i put in a usb enclosure?
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Nope you need Xplorer 360 for that, install windows on an old hard drive if you have one about, it should save you a lot of trouble.

    Xfat is only any good for copying saves to and from a usb drive, nothing more.
     
  9. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    dang thanks but i only have a lapotp and it can use a second harddrive but i don't want to buy another one. guess i'll just live without xbox 1 emulation. not that i really used it anyway
     
  10. sboneill

    sboneill New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the guide.

    I just did everything and I plug the HDD into my xbox and I get an E68 error code. It says System error contact Xbox Customer Support. What could the problem be?

    Thanks.
     
  11. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Just Awesome

    Your guide helped me alot and it took less than 5 minutes for hddhackr to do its thing.Its updating on live right now. To restore partition 2 i used a transfer cable from ebay it was only $1 and it only works with windows.Thanks InsaneNutter.
     
  12. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can use the official xbox transfer cable to transfer partition 2 over to new harddrive? can anyone else confirm this? if you call microsoft and told them you bought a used harddrive on ebay or something they will send you a free one. i did that before when i bought a used 120 at gamestop. also anyone know of a way to remove firmware from official xbox 360 20gb so i can use it for something besides a paperweight? it's been sitting on my desk for a week. tried formatting it and it still won't be recognized by my computer
     
  13. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you can use the transfer cable to copy partition 2 over, just not to actually hack the drive.
     
  14. sammyjenkis

    sammyjenkis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edit:

    Figured it out - I was trying to do it with the DOS files on the flash drive - should have figured that out after I tried running the Creator Tool from the drive and being unable to do so.
    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I can't get past the first step - creating the bootable flash drive. I believe i have administrator privileges, but when i try to run the Bootable USB Drive Creator Tool by slelecting Run As and choosing my profile (the only one), I receive the following error message:

    Permission denied.
    The administrator rights are required.


    I tried booting to Safe Mode as administrator but could not run the program in Safe Mode.

    When I try to run the program by double-clicking it, it starts to format the drive but ends with error message:

    Failed to make the device DOS-bootable.


    Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  15. mamamamia88

    mamamamia88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    the bevt harddrive i ordered made a weird noise when i shut down my laptop and when i connected it to my 360 afterward it just started clicking then made no noise whatsoever. think i got a dud. newegg is replacing it.
     
  16. tooyoutoe

    tooyoutoe New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with my dlc... can anyone help? In fallout 3 I had copied all of the dlc onto my hard drive and it all worked fine. When I switched to my 250gb hard drive my dlc got deleted somehow and when I copied all of the dlc back onto my new hard drive it would show up in the dashboard under memory as The Pitt, Mothership Zeta and so on. The only problem is that when I go into Fallout 3 it doesn't recognize any of them. Can anyone help?
     
  17. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    458
    Two questions. First: Did you purchase the DLC? Second: (Assuming you purchased the DLC) Is that the original 360 you purchased the DLC on?
     
  18. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    go to disk management on windows and try to format it that way. if that doesnt work use gparted live GParted -- Live CD/USB/PXE/HD
     
  19. mrcow

    mrcow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So my hard drive is prepped, but I didn't get my shell in yet. I'm adding a hard drive to my arcade system, and I did the 250 BEVT. Now, in the guide, you have me backing up the stuff so I can keep the xbox emulator or whatever. Since I have no hard drive to back up, do I not get a xbox emulator? Thanks!
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I think you did, I have had a couple of old drives that failed just make a clicking sound when they failed.

    You can try doing a licence transfer on Xbox.com

    After you have done that re download the content and it should work. You shouldn't need to do this, however as you are having problems its worth trying.

    You can always download Hoffmans dump of partition 2 from here.
     

Share This Page