Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You could try using version 1.25, that's the version I used for 3 drives so far and had no problems.
     
  2. Hamajangs

    Hamajangs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try that, thanks man.
     
  3. wirelessroute

    wirelessroute New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it with an older laptop that had SATA from work Dell Latitude D630 and was able to get the firmware flashed. I will test it in the xbox when I get home. Will I need to format the hard drive ? The reason I ask is that the HD was pulled from my laptop which I'd like to keep around for backup emergencies. Only using 60gb of 320gb in windows.
     
  4. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,324
    Likes Received:
    3,745
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    If you have run hddhackr on the drive it will already have been formatted, as hddhackr creates partitions during the flashing process.
     
  5. wirelessroute

    wirelessroute New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I placed it in the Xbox and it showed up as unformatted drive with a Microsoft logo beside it. I went ahead and formatted it via Xbox and now it shows up 293GB
    I downloaded 3 demos and appears to be working ok. I played a little of the Star Wars Kinect game and appears to work without any issues. Thanks for saving me $90+
     
  6. me11ss

    me11ss New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought 360 GB hard drive and it isn't detected! HELP!!

    I am an extreme noob at this whole hacking thing. I just bought an aftermarket 320 GB Xbox 360 slim hard drive, inserted it, and it didn't even detect it!!! What gives? How exactly do I run the hack [don't even know where to begin to look for it!!!]

    DO I also have to patch it [???] Don't know how to do that either...
    thanks
     
  7. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You should get a replacement.
     
  8. DvlFig

    DvlFig New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did this to a WD3200BVPT and it worked flawlessly =D
    Thank you!
     
  9. Hamajangs

    Hamajangs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, got the new drive today and was able to flash and restore partition 2 without any issues. Thanks Rick for all the help and Insanenutter/Hoffman for the guides.

    WD3200BEKT Manufactured March 2012
    Used HDDHACKR v1.25
    Restored Partition 2 using Hoffman's file/guide with Xplorer360 Extreme

    My system: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/EVGA 750i Sli FTW Motherboard
     
  10. MCnDaHouse

    MCnDaHouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, great job with the tutorial and help.

    I ordered a generic 250gb drive off Ebay for my phat 360. I plugged it in and it recognized it and had 228gb free. I wanted to transfer my data from my 120gb to the new drive. I had the MS transfer disc that my friend gave me. He couldn't find the cable so I got a generic one from Ebay. I didn't realize till I read in here that the generic cable won't work. I clicked the prep the drive thing and now it thinks it's a 15.9gb USB memory stick when I try to transfer. The xbox won't recognize the drive when it's plugged in the hdd slot.

    When I bring the drive up in party buffalo it shows a 239gb hd and a 15.9gb usb drive. I guess those are the two partitions. I can choose one or the other.

    How do I recover from this? Do I take the drive out of the case and connect to the PC and run HDDHacker?

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
     
  11. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Without the undo file, i don't think you can do anything. I don't know of any fixes for this.
     
  12. MCnDaHouse

    MCnDaHouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I forgot one thing. Dissemble the hard drive case and find the hard drive model number it should say something like this wd2500----/

    Some people have uploaded their undo files. You could possibly undo the drive to make it show as a western digital and then use this guide to flash it again.
     
  14. MCnDaHouse

    MCnDaHouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thanks!
     
  15. Cravit8

    Cravit8 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fl
    Actually, I think this is WAY simpler than you think to get the drive back. especially if you can do this on a Mac (10.5+)
    Mac:
    1) Cmd-space "disk utility"
    2) click on parent drive
    3) cleck erase, format as Fat
    4) Done, it should automatically do one partition

    Windows 7:
    1) hit Win Key, type "diskmgmt.msc"
    2) look for the drive in the program bottom window
    3) delete the extra volume (15GB)
    4) extend the big volume
    5) erase/format the drive

    I am 100% on the Mac instructions, but please google some tutorial for the PC and always confirm 100% you are selecting the correct drive since the OS drive will always show as an option in these programs.
    There may be a more secure/stable way to re-partition in Windows.

    Additionally, using all the steps in the OP to backup/restore to your new hard drive will work flawlessly if you follow instructions, but you could go the more expensive right and buy all the OEM cables etc for an ON XBOX transfer.
     
  16. Chaosmountain

    Chaosmountain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all

    So I followed the tut using a scorpio blue 320gb.
    It hacked and said the partitions were created and everything was fine.

    But when I put it in my 360 fat it hangs on the startup screen for a minute or two then goes to the dash, then it takes longer than normal to access it in settings and when I try to format it, it fails after about 4-5 minutes ?
    :(
     
  17. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    1.Undo the drive with hddhackr, then format it using windows. You can use disk management.
    2.Move the undo file somewhere else and try using hddhackr again.
     
  18. choffman321

    choffman321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    HI,

    I just ordered a wd Scorpio Blue WD3200BPVT 320GB, and one of the reviews mentioned needing Western Digital's "WD Align" program for Win XP to be "compatible", I just wondered if that might be part of the issues some folks are seeing, do we need to use WD Align first for Hddhackr to work correctly under dos with these drives??? Just a thought... I've got about a week before i get the chance to find out. If i don't hear before then i'll post back.
     
  19. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    The Matrix
    That is only for 2tb & 3tb western digital drives.
     
  20. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bummer, wish this was caught on my original post.

    now this will work with the original xbox? This thing is like 10 years old. Probably bought at release day. I will google to see if this thing even has a hard drive at all and if it's SATA or not.

    I won't be going back up until next weekend, so I have the week to get this down so I can get it all done and working before I leave.

    Thanks
    -=Mark=-

    ps. it killed my message again. It does not like links at all. not even from their own site? very strange.

    pss. there is no captcha as I'm registred and shouldn't need to. I scrolled all the way to the very botton of this page and still no captcha.
     

Share This Page