Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    459
    If you mean boot in a PC, you should be able to without any hex editing of sectors, just put it in a sata port and format, if you mean 360 then pretty much any hard drive can be made to work in a 360 with hex editing sectors, provided there is enough memory and comply with the official Microsoft hard drive sectors (20gb, 60gb.etc).
     
  2. mjswooosh

    mjswooosh Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello guys (and gals),

    I'm new here, so thought I'd introduce myself real quick. I've been lurking here for a few days reading various threads & randomly reading up on various X360 hacks. The hard drive hack is particularly interesting to me. I love to tinker with stuff and the idea of getting a faster 7200rpm, 250GB HD inside this 360. :) So, thanks in advance for all of the info & help located here...it is genuinely appreciated!

    Now, having said that...I recently purchased 3 WD 500GB drives from Newegg since they just went on sale for a very good deal. The model is WD Scorpio Black WD5000BPKT, which is apparently the newer Advanced Format drive. I plan on using 1 of them in my PS3, 1 in my laptop, and was originally planning on keeping 1 as a "spare". But, when I chanced on this hack, it hit me that this drive might be similar enough to the BEKT series that the hack will work. After doing some reading, it appears the X360 natively uses 4K sectors, so I'm assuming that these drives won't run out of alignment? More importantly, does anyone have any info if the current version of Hddhackr (1.30) will work correctly with these newer drives? I understand that the X360 won't be able to utilize more than 250GB (for now?), but that's not really important. I'd be thrilled to get a hacked 250GB drive working in my X360! :) Thanks for any and all help guys!

    PS

    It looks like I'm not the only one in here who is curious about the BPKT drives...


     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,337
    Likes Received:
    3,391
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    The latest 1.30 version of Hddhackr now supports all sizes and versions of the Western Digital Scorpio Series, I don't see any reason why a 500gb BPKT Scorpio Black drive would not work with that in mind.

    I have not hacked one myself, however as you already have the drive try hacking it and see? If you can not hack the drive you have not lost anything, it should still work perfectly fine in a laptop or anything else you wish to use it with.

    If Microsoft ever released a 320gb drive or 500gb drive you could just flash the security sector from that and make use of the additional space.
     
  4. xXDestroyerGRXx

    xXDestroyerGRXx Inpolite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    Could a 500gb from my laptop work on xbox 360?
     
  5. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Depends on the model of the hard drive.I used the one from my laptop
     
  6. xXDestroyerGRXx

    xXDestroyerGRXx Inpolite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    I have this WDC WD5000BEVT-22ZAT0 ATA

    Will it work?
     
  7. terestron

    terestron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Really Need some help here guys...getting an error (see attached pics....)

    I am booting via USB stick...I just got my WD2500BEVT from new egg today...the drive was manufactured 16 FEB 2011

    I have read this thread among other and I have checked "IDE" and tried everything I can to get this drive to accept the xbox hack...I am using HDDHACKR V 1.30

    I did d/l someone's 250gb "undo.bin" and flash the drive back...but for some reason it just won't read sector 16....

    And YES..I am using a 250g.bin to flash

    Please...if anyone has a clue....I would so appreciate it....or if someone is south chicagoland that could flash it..that would be great....

    See pics and see if that helps....BTW...I am using a Biostar MB made circa 2007....

    Here is the error...

    [​IMG]

    Here is the drive as seen from HDDHACKR v1.30
    [​IMG]

    My Bios Settings...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. bluearix

    bluearix New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had buyied the
    Western Digital Scorpio Blue 250GB 5400RPM SATA WD2500BEVT

    Now , What shall i do first?
    I am having a 4GB Usb Drive , shall i create my 4gb drive to a Bootable Usb Drive using "Bootable USB Drive Creator"
    than after its complete , i shall shut down ma pc,
    than
    Shall i plug the WD Drive to my CPU ?
    and start the process ?
     
  9. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    I have changed your post look for changes in blue

    If you need more help read the first page again or comment here.
     
  10. bluearix

    bluearix New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rick,

    I will try it out , if anything Goes Wrong,
    Will Let you Know :)

    Peace
     
  11. AciDeX

    AciDeX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just registered to say thanks for the great guide! I just bought a 250gb BEVT Scorpio from Best Buy today for $53 dollars out the door!

    Hardest part of the guide was tracking down a laptop with a SATA chipset that would be recognized by hddhackr. My PC is back home in storage as I'm currently relocating from the Midwest to the Northwest. I'm staying with my uncle and we have a few laptops laying around but no PC's. There is actually four different laptops here since I'm fixing two netbooks for my cousins. I tried an older Sony VAIO, an Acer Netbook and a Gateway Netbook and all three would either not see the drive in the hddhackr menu or just blink at the command prompt. I finally got lucky with the last one which is a Dell Inspiron Mini 10, with a busted screen so I had to hook it up to a monitor. It worked like a charm though! Like someone also mentioned I also did not get the option to automatically "write partitions 1, 2, 3" and had to relaunch hddhackr and choose that option after flashing the firmware manually. It worked first try, east as pie! I've started installing my games and have moved everything off my 4gb Slim's internal memory onto the new harddrive no problem!

    Here is the link to the drive I got: Western Digital - Scorpio Blue 250GB Internal Serial ATA Hard Drive for Laptops - WDBABB2500ANC-NRSN

    Don't worry if the box says WDBABA on the outside label, the drive inside is definitely a BEVT. (H)
     
  12. area1509

    area1509 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am wondering where to copy a bunch of .wmv files to the xbox360 HD
    What would the path be on partition 3 ?
     
  13. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    the xbox 360 uses container files and nothing that has plain .wmv if you want to play wmv you could put these on a flash drive that is fat32,stream from computer or on a disk
     
  14. terestron

    terestron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL

    Anybody? Anybody? Really need some help here... :)
     
  15. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Try to get a new drive it seems like the drive is messed up. I don't recommend using anyones undo.bin btw,hddhackr creates it for you.
     
  16. terestron

    terestron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I got it to work on my laptop....however it did not prompt me for partitions...do I need partitions?
     
  17. terestron

    terestron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I don't know gentlemen....I am baffled....

    I finally got it to flash the 250gb bin but it never prompt me for partition...

    and what is weird... sometimes hddhackr sees it as a Hitachi, sometimes it just sees it as a no name drive...

    I do notice when I use WD Diagnostics (in dos) it now sees it as a Hitachi...and when i go back into HDDhackr it sees it right away as a Hitachi...so when it does... I am able to flash it or partition it...but...when i remove power for 10 sec or more and go back to HDDhackr it will see it as a no name drive until I run WD Diagnostics and select the drive....

    when I put it in my Xbox 360 4G Slim I get a E68 code....

    This is just way harder than it needs to be....
     
  18. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Usually it does the partitions right after the flashing,im not sure why its not asking you.I had no problems doing this btw.

    do this
    Undo the drive with the undo.bin
    then verify its a wd in the bios if so
    then move or rename your undo file(it wont create a new one if undo.bin is present)
    run hddhackr and let it flash and make the partitions
     
  19. AciDeX

    AciDeX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My guess is that your also having chipset issues. I had to try three different laptops before I got a fourth one to work properly. If you want a foolproof way you should look into getting a SATA PCI card with a VIA chipset since those seem to be the only 100% reliable device that can flash M$ hardware easily. A PCI card will set you back about $20 bucks, but if you can find one locally then you could always return it after using it. That is if you never plan on using it again.

    Like someone else suggested I say start over from scratch and try it again. If it doesn't prompt you to make partitions after flashing then launch the USB Boot again and manually select the option to create partitions. It's really pretty easy if you follow the steps and improvise if needed.
     
  20. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,337
    Likes Received:
    3,391
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes you do.

    If you create the partitions manually it should work fine, in Dos run the command "HDDHACKR C 0960 A0" where 0960 is the port the drive is on.

    This port can be seen when loading Hddhackr like so, in my photo its next to drive 5:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page