Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I've never got the method to work via hex, i'm pretty sure Hddhackr does something more than that.

    The only device I have that Hddhackr will work with these days is an MSI Wind U100 Netbook from 2008.
     
  2. Mastalock

    Mastalock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been thinking of trying this again on my drive, as I have a new PC to try it on. Any idea if it will work on an ASRock Z390 Gaming Motherboard? Chipset is Intel Z390.
     
  3. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    It's a pretty new motherboard, I wouldn't be hopeful based on my own experiences with newer hardware. The best thing you can do is try and hope the best.
     
  4. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    Hello, the Western Digital WD Black WD5000LPLX is not working.
    HDD Date: October 26th, 2015 is the HDD too new?
    It is not recognized by the xbox 360, but the flash was successful.
    LG Ivan
     
  5. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    Hi, help what am i doing wrong? AHCI is on and in the bios set to IDE only after the flash the hard drive is not recognized in the xbox 360 console.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Can you turn AHCI off? even though the Bios is set to IDE only? some newer PC's seem to suggest the drive is flashed ok then have issues sadly. The only device I have I know hddhackr still works with is an old Laptop from 2008.

    You can use up to a 2TB USB drive with the Xbox 360 now for game / save storage just so you know. I kinda think that's a more viable option these days vs 500gb internal, unless you really want nothing to be on an external drive.
     
  7. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    That was my mistake. I put it wrong. AHCI is set to IDE. The PC with which I made the flash last year performed a 250gb, 500gb and a 320gb hard disk from WD flash without any problems, but something is different this time or the WD5000LPLX is causing the problem. I don't have an Xbox 360 slim but the fat model. I don't want to use an external HDD. I don't know how it works with the 2 tb flash only the hddss.bin (500gb) Yesterday all data on the 500gb WD5000LPLX was completely deleted ( dariks boot and nuke) were still files from an old Windows system. (ebay) I will try to flash the WD5000LPLX back to the original state with the undo.bin in the hddhackr file and then flash the hddhackr again for the Xbox 360 to perform. After completely deleting yesterday, I still see the Hitachi disk in the bios so everything should have worked out. I will also try another hard drive case from the Xbox 360 fat model to rule out all errors.
     
  8. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    From what you have said it certainly seems like it could be an issue with the newer WD Black WD5000LPLX. I'd certainly be interested to know if you can flash another drive though.
     
  9. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    I just tried the WD Black WD5000LPLX again Flashing back to the original state without success the UNDO.BIN file was faulty. I'm not sure if I can set a drive back with Hddhackr, maybe I made a mistake. Now the renewed flash was also successful but in my Xbox 360 console I did not recognize several HDD-360 cases (Fat model) of the Xbox 360 and also two different Xbox 360 consoles without success. Will now get me a new WD BEVS or BEVT and flash it. I will report again.
     
  10. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    IDE on and second Flash.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Javier Hernandez Martinez

    Javier Hernandez Martinez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Practically the same happened to me. Tried the WD500LPLX, it seems to be flashed ok, but the Xbox Slim will not recognize it.

    By the way, I tried to create partitions 0/2/3, but after it finished, it gives me an error. Let me see if I can upload a picture of it.
     
  12. Javier Hernandez Martinez

    Javier Hernandez Martinez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the BIOS, I only get IDE or AHCI, so I select IDE. IMG_20200525_162118.jpg IMG_20200525_162113.jpg

    Flashing seems to ok.
    IMG_20200525_162440.jpg

    It doesnt ask me to create partitions 0/2/3, but if I try to manually partition them, I get this error.
    IMG_20200525_162306.jpg

    Do you guys know
    what could be happening?

    Its a WD500LPLX
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
  13. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    I assume that the WD5000LPLX is causing the problem. I ordered a WD3200 GB BEVT from eBay and will then test it, but it hasn't arrived yet.
     
  14. Javier Hernandez Martinez

    Javier Hernandez Martinez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, if thats the case, I will order an OEM hdd instead.
     
  15. carr

    carr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi mate!

    I'm starting to do it. will i be able to go back to windows on this drive which is waiting to be flashed?
    It is in a laptop, with hddhackr running... :)
    just curious.
    update:
    It works fine. Only 460Gig instead of 465 as formatted with usb on 360 slim. but thanks a lot! Now it says it have a Hitachi HDD.
    LMAO. :D
    Now i'm going to find how can i install the xkey, and put the 1TB HGST drive onto it. :D
    going to have a lot of space on that little guy. :)
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2020
    InsaneNutter likes this.
  16. Ivan007

    Ivan007 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Deutschland
    Have now received the WD3200BEVT and carried out the flash with the same PC. Date of the hdd 26 April 2010. As you can see in the pictures, it worked just fine. Then install the hard drive in the Xbox 360 and enter the formatted serial number. (See photos) I also installed a game to test everything goes, no problems. Will also test a WD5000BEVT if there is.
     

    Attached Files:

    InsaneNutter likes this.
  17. Javier Hernandez Martinez

    Javier Hernandez Martinez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1

    Then the problem lies with the WD5000LPLX.

    Can I just undo the whole process so I can use it as a laptop hdd?
     
  18. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Thanks for taking the time to test this out, i'll put a warning in the first post about newer versions of this drive.

    Do you have your undo.bin? if so you can do.
     
    carr likes this.
  19. LuizLuiz

    LuizLuiz New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good night. My name is Luiz, I'm Brazilian and I don't master English but Google has been helping me a lot.

    I registered to thank you for the excellent tutorial. I was wondering if you could solve a doubt and a problem I've been facing.
    I did in a WD5000LUCT manufactured in 2019, everything went well, however, I got a 320gb and wanted to return the 500gb to normal tin. When I try to restore the firmware from this size error, written in red (image 1).
    When I first did it, partitions 0.2 and 3 were not created... so I used the option [C]] and everything went well, works on Xbox but gave this error in green (image 2). Would that be a problem? The error appeared after I restored partition 2!!!
    Could someone help me restore this HD to re-use it on PC?

    ps. I have the backup of the original firmware of the hd WD5000LUCT made by HDDHACKR itself.

    ps2. HD WD5000LUCT converted always worked great on xbox 360!
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Javier Hernandez Martinez

    Javier Hernandez Martinez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do.

    Its basically the same process, but in reverse, right?
     

Share This Page